We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country pub setting a little north of the city”
Review of Panton Hill Hotel

Panton Hill Hotel
Restaurant details
Reviewed October 14, 2016

A picturesque drive along country country roads just past the fringe suburbs in the northeast of Melbourne leads to this small-town old-style pub. I went there to with a group of approximately 40 ppl to celebrate a friend's birthday.

There is a decent sized dining room, plus an enclosed balcony area which we had booked, and more tables in a terraced outdoor area which would have to count as one of the best beer gardens i have encountered. A converted shipping container at the far end of the outdoor area is presumably the stage used when they have bands playing.

While i was somewhat underwhelmed by the meal that i was served (the roast of the day) the other meals looked, and by all reports tasted, great. The servings, including from the children's menu, were large. Next time i'll skip the roast & try a parma

Date of visit: October 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gregs3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (40)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 40 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2016 via mobile

Was a little worried dining on Father's Day in a big group but needn't have been. Food and drinks are ordered at the bar which was well staffed. Importantly, all meals came at the same time and all were enjoyed. The meat patty in my Black Angus burger was too die for. A top lunch in a semi-rural pub.

Date of visit: September 2016
1  Thank Flatulator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 7, 2016

Been here lots of times over the years and the food is always nice. The only complaint is that no stout e.g. Coopers, Abbottsford, is available. Since changing hands a couple of years ago, things have changed. Guinness is on tap, but unless it's flowing, it can be sour. No VB on tap is also a disappointment. Want a ''black and tan'' or a portergaff. well you wont get it here. Don't be fooled by all of the ads on the walls advertising Stout, it's all bollocks, and we may be a minority, but it puts us off going to the PH, especially during the colder months.

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kevT4232UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2016

I joined a group of people for Christmas in July yesterday. As usual it was up to standard. The meal was great, the staff and atmosphere are wonderful. A lovely country pub.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank anneh860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Great Service. Great meals. Must book ahead however as it was very busy! Playground for kids in safe enclosed area.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Panton Hill Hotel also viewed

St Andrews, Yarra Valley

Been to Panton Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing