We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
49
15
8
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
15
8
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews unpowered site general store friendly owners full kitchen tablelands cabin birds laundry rates queensland
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 78 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

Lots to do. Falls cct. Mongali cheese & . Crater lakes. Local towns, history. Short hop to Cairns. Herberton historical village. Tinaroo lake, , , kayaking. Battle Free, Queenslands highest mountain.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Ivan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017

Very nice self-sufficient lodges with well-equipped kitchenette, even runs to a drying rack for laundry and a hairdryer in the bathroom. Rustic but clean, with the necessary amenities including TV. Clean comfortable beds and linen. Free parking. Helpful owner who supplies complimentary milk and also sells snacks and petrol at the general store. Wifi only available at the store and immediate vicinity. We woke up to bird song and got a visit from a plump little hen before breakfast. Pity she didn't bring any eggs for us! Would love to come again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schehezerade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 3, 2017

Very good campground, great campkitchen, very friendly owners! Great setting and full of nature! Birds, possums, butterflys etc!!! Great rates aswell! Good for kids too! Great mix of Aussies and tourists!

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank xxx187323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 24, 2017 via mobile

My partner and I have been here many times and fell in love with the lake , this nearby camping spot use to be perfect until the owner start worrying about his electricity bill , it started at $8 a person a year and a half ago it is now $24 per couple insane just a tent not even a powered site , when we asked if he had a better price for locals he laughed at us ,

the next day my partner approached him about it and told him that we weren't even on a campsite we where at the back of the property he was basically fully booked and took our money regardless , why not say sorry we are full instead of putting us away from everything

it's not even about the money it's about loyalty we have recommended him to so many people , to charge that kinda money for one night for a bit of grass is outrageous , very disappointed and unfortunately we won't be rushing back.

We both work in tourism and this is not how you go about it , he is an absolute rip off and hope for him and his family that they will take the price down ,how can you charge per person how about you charge per tent at a reasonable price , but no he was going on and on about his electricity bill and that he has to survive, we don't even use his electricity at an unpowered site ,

I wish them good luck but we won't be recommending this anymore , families could not afford camping at this rate camping is suppose to be affordable you might as well pay a little extra and stay elsewhere

On top of that the place was not clean at all this time

Such a shame!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nathalie & Ricc... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethYungaburra, Owner at Lake Eacham Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2017

We were expecting to hear from you after our discussion about the increase in our rates which rose from $22 to $24 for an unpowered site. (We can't remember how long ago they were $16). Our powered sites increased from $27 to $29. We hated doing it and it was the first increase for many years. You arrived after dark and we advised that the camping sites under the bamboo were filled but you were welcome to camp over near the camp fire. This is a very popular area and we often get requests for people who prefer it, rather than camping in the row of other tents. I did explain that our costs had risen, particularly power costs which heat our showers, our park lights and camp kitchen facilities. One guest commented this week that our showers were the best! Our camp kitchen has a gas bbq, gas burners for pots, microwave, kettle, toaster, big fridge/freezer, hot water and free firewood. The open fire is very popular with campers every night and we buy the wood from the local Mill. We think that's pretty good value. By the way, at no time was I laughing at your partner, I was smiling in an attempt to lighten the mood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

Loved our stay. We found the green cottage had a certain ambience and loved its simplicity. The information packs in the tourist hut park covered anything you needed to know about the surrounding area. Also loved the pleasant walk through the bushland to Lake Eacham. Would certainly return.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussietraveller1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ElizabethYungaburra, Owner at Lake Eacham Tourist Park, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2017

Thanks for sharing your good experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews