We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Travelocity
eDreams
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Priceline
StayForLong
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveller rating
123
5
1
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
123
5
1
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast and dinner high standard course dinner world wine fireplace
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 131 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2019

We had been to San Martin before and knew it to be a special place. So, a special event at a special place. The proprietor, David Robinson, who is also a fantastic tour guide and historian was there to welcome us on arrival. David is a wizard of a host - there, but not there - if you know what I mean. He is very intuitive, respectful and knowledgeable.
The cuisine is excellent and varied and prepared with professionalism and flare by Andre.
The stunning house and grounds are full of surprises. The vistas incredible. The circular walks across the spectacularly rugged terrain surrounding San Martin are thrilling. You can often be accompanied by the house dogs on your walks. The whole experience is somewhat cathartic. What a place, what an area.
The only downside to San Martin is that we had to leave...

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRLeach59
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2019 via mobile

Firstly the location. The setting was utterly superb and impossible to replicate. The room was wonderful and very comfortable with two terraces for our own use. I could have sat there for the whole time we stayed and not got bored with the view. David and his team were great. Really helpful, interesting and attentive. Andreas, the chef was amazing. We are dinner each night and it was superb and brilliant quality and amazing value. Breakfast was also excellent. Can't fault it. Some people don't like the long track to get there I saw it as part of the adventure which made it the very special place it was. Thank you to all at Casa de San Martin - a wonderful stay and a great chance to recharge in such a beautiful setting. Hopefully we will be back.

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank soulmates63
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2019

Our daughter and son-in-law raved about their time at Casa de San Martin, so in planning a european trip, my husband and I included it in our itinerary. We are beyond happy we did!
When we turned off the main road onto the 5 km stretch of gravel, our anticipation spiked as we witnessed beauty at every turn - grazing cows with bells, ancient abandoned stone houses and magnificent hills and trees. When Casa de San Martin finally came into view, we were blown away. WOW!!
David and André came outside to welcome us. As we were escorted inside, our eyes took in the history, the attention to detail, the art and the love that obviously went into restoring this beautiful place. While WIFI is available and connections were very good, do yourself a favor and UNPLUG. Take a walk on the property with Ara, the dog. She is an awesome guide and very excited to show off her home. Or go look for cows by following the sound of their cowbells. Or walk the goat path and look for the hidden abandoned village of Puyuelo. Or chat with David and absorb the fascinating history of Casa de San Martin di Solano.
David was a superb host. We ate our evening meal every night in the beautiful dining room, each meal artfully prepared by André and served by David. The wine offered was the perfect accompaniment.
Throughout the property and literally from every room there were awesome vistas.
We loved this place and hope to return again in the future.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AnneMartorello
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2018

An amazing property with beautiful views and the service was second to none.

Our host David was so friendly and did all he could to make our stay as enjoyable as possible.

I highly recommend that you make this a stop if you are in the Pyrenees.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2018

Words really can't describe how incredible our time was at San Martin. My husband and I stayed for 3 nights during our honeymoon trip, and wished we had stayed longer. It is the most beautiful, unique and relaxing place we have ever stayed. David goes above and beyond to ensure you have everything needed during your stay (hikes to try out, areas to visit, or privacy just to relax). The 3-course dinner is better than most restaurants we ate at! Breakfast always had a variety of foods to choose from. We spoke with David before booking and he was happy to answer all of our questions regarding the area, as it was our first time visiting. We hope to return someday to Casa de San Martin, it really holds a special place in our hearts!

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jenna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews