We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Chateau Juvenal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Chateau Juvenal
Reviewed 22 July 2011

It has taken me a year to write this review, but felt I ought to as the Chateau was simply stunning and our time there was so lovely.
A family run Chateau with so much charm and character. Your hosts as other reviews have said are very welcoming and helpful.
We arrived at very late hour with very little notice in booking (stayed 2 nights on a Wednesday and Thursday)Anne-Marie and Bernard actually got their niece to wait up with the keys as they had planned a trip to the local Opera with other guests. We stayed up with her niece sampling the produce of their vineyard until the early hours.
All in all we couldn’t fault this place, the swimming pool was set nicely away from the house and caught most of the sun all day. You can rate a place generally by the type of people who return, there were lovely other couples and families staying who had stayed at Chateau Juvenal for many years. One chap even used it as a base to follow the tour de france which goes nearby some years.
Anne-Marie recommended such a super special restaurant in a nearby hilltop village that we’ll never forget. Ask her for the recommendation if you stay, cannot remember the name annoyingly but it had a huge view across to the south east of Provence.
We also went in toad mating season, mid July 2010, some people might not like the noise for an hour or so in the evening, but to be honest it is France, the country of ‘love’, if the toads are doing it nightly, it reminds you you should be too!
Thank you Anne-Marie and Bernard – Apologies for the delay in review.

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William_Ings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Chateau Juvenal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2010

That someone would probably be charming Anne-Marie and her husband Bernard. The perfect hosts have given loving thought to any detail here. The spacious rooms are very pleasant, clean and comfortable.

The surrounding garden with the swimming pool and jacuzzi tempted us to stay at the chateau and give up some of our other plans. The breakfast served outside was a very pleasant experience as was dinner.

We had a great time and could not have wished for a better place.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Chateau Juvenal was one of the best experiences I have ever had. I recently took my girlfriend there and when we left she was my fiancee. Anne-Marie and Bernard are excellent hosts and so kind, warm and welcoming in their beautiful home. The style of the rooms were unique and comfortable, the garden and pool were pristine and the breakfast was delicious topped off with the jams and french bread made by Anne-Marie and Bernard themselves. And as you're on a vineyard I highly recommend trying their wine as well. I would recommend Chateau Juvenal to anyone who is interested in a relaxing vacation or just a romantic getaway. It's perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottsr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We visited Chateau Juvenal in September 2009 and found it to be wonderful. We stayed in the Lilac Room, which was cozy and very pleasant. It overlooks the pond, where tiny frogs leap in as you walk past, and you can see the Chateau's vineyard as well. Breakfast is served at a long table next to the pond. It was excellent -- a variety of cheeses, fruit, cereal, and pastries, and you can request eggs, which are cheerfully served.

Anne-Marie and Bernard, the chateau's owners, are welcoming, kind, knowledgeable, proficient in English, and very helpful. We had let it be known that I would be celebrating my birthday while on vacation, and there was a bouquet of red roses awaiting me in the room. Marie made dinner reservations for us at two other local places, both of which were fabulous.

We are dinner at the chateau. Bernard is an excellent chef, the company was international (they all spoke in English, probably for our benefit), intelligent and lively, and the wine was free-flowing. Do not miss this opportunity.

This area of Provence is particularly lovely and classic -- not much of the industrial stuff you run into elsewhere.

As if the stay was not perfect enough already, as we left Marie presented us with a bottle of their excellent house wine. I can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank h_bombshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed at Chateau Juvenal for 8 nights of our 33 day vacation. I can say unequivocally that our time there was the highlight of our trip.
The chateau is a grand building with 16 ft (I estimate) ceilings on both floors. The main house contains the B&B guest rooms and the attached farm house contains two self-serve apartments for larger family groups. Our room (Grape) was enormous and contained a large bathroom and an enormous shower with thermostatic rain head, hand-held nozzle and five body jets. The room is air conditioned but, despite the 35 degree C weather, we didn't need it on all the time because the thick stone walls and wonderful old shutters helped keep the room cool naturally.
High speed WIFI internet is available. When I couldn't connect with my PDA, I was offered the use of a laptop in the lounge.
Anne Marie and Bernard have lovingly restored the chateau, retaining as closely as possible its original character, and reusing as many of the original materials as possible. It is a remarkable place.
The grounds surrounding the house offer a swimming pool, summer kitchen, ping pong table, hammock, lawns, a patio and outdoor breakfast tables, a pond with singing frogs, and trees full of chirping cigales. There is also a hot tub and a separate room with washer and dryer adjacent to the apartments, a washing line by the pool, tree-shaded parking at the rear of the house, and bike storage in the barn..
The buildings and grounds are surrounded by vineyards and olive groves. Chateau Juvenal produces its own AOC wine (delicious!) and a variety of olive-based products. Anne Marie also makes her own jams and bread.
All this is enough to make anyone want to return to Chateau Juvenal, but what makes it so very special are the hosts, Anne Marie and Bernard. They welcomed us with a glass of their amazing red wine and invited us to join them, friends and a guest family on an outing the next day. The men were to go on a road bike ride and the women and girls were to hike in (not beside, but in) a river. We would meet at the end of our adventures to share lunch at a restaurant surrounded by vineyards. It was the most perfect day imaginable. Not everyone who stays at Chateau Juvenal will be this lucky (our timing just worked out perfectly), but it is typical of the friendly hospitality that Anne Marie and Bernard extend to their guests.
I highly recommend Chateau Juvenal to anyone who wants a base from which to explore the many villages and wineries of the Cote de Rhone. It is only 10 to 15 minutes by car away from a dozen lovely villages in Vaucluse. Anne Marie and Bernard have a binder full of restaurant recommendations in the surrounding villages and will make reservations for you.
If you are a cyclist, Bernard can recommend or, if possible, guide you on a cycling tour of what in my opinion is cycling heaven. Interested in climbing Mont Ventoux? This is the place to do it from. I did.
We enjoyed the optional and deliciouus Table d'Hote on our last evening with Anne Marie and Bernard and got to know them even better. It was very difficult to say good bye the next day. They had become more than our hosts. They had become more like friends. We hope to be able to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2008

Chateau Juvenal is one of the nicest spots in Provence. This is a place that was renovated with great care for every detail, with love and taste. Anne Marie and Bertrand know the region well and their suggestions for daily trips were better than Michelin's and Eyewitness put together. The house with its lovely garden is situated close to most Provence attraction. A small pavilion with a fully equipped kitchen and laundry machine is a nice surprise.
This is a place that you keep in your heart and dream about in wintertime when all vacations seem so far

Stayed: August 2008
3  Thank girgi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

Ann Marie and Bernard are the most gracious and kindest hosts I have seen in a very long time. The Chateau is set in amazing gardens surrounded by vines and tall trees. The service and cleanliness I rate at close to 100%. More amazingly was the genuine kindness and friendliness of Ann Marie and Bernard. Amazing hosts in an amazing Chateau. We stayed 5 days but wished we had stayed much much longer. Thanks Chateau Juvenal and Ann Marie and Bernard for a fantastic time. Hope to see you again in the not too distant future

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dezonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
5.3 km away
La Maison de Crillon
La Maison de Crillon
#2 of 2 in Crillon-le-Brave
51 reviews
4.0 km away
Le Relais des Dentelles
Le Relais des Dentelles
#2 of 2 in Beaumes-de-Venise
22 reviews
6.5 km away
Hotel Restaurant Montmirail
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 km away
Le Mas d'Helene
Le Mas d'Helene
#4 of 8 in Vaison-la-Romaine
135 reviews
1.9 km away
Les Geraniums
Les Geraniums
#2 of 2 in Le Barroux
109 reviews
10.2 km away
La Bastide Bleue
La Bastide Bleue
#2 of 2 in Seguret
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Juvenal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Juvenal

Address: 120 Chemin du Long Serre, 84330 Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron, Beaumes-de-Venise, France
Region: France > Provence-Alpes-Cote d'Azur > Vaucluse > Beaumes-de-Venise > Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Hippolyte-le-Graveyron
Price Range: $174 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A backdrop of ancient trees, a stone and lime sunny facade, a romantic park, a magnificent panorama, comfort, silence, attentive home owners: Welcome to Chateau Juvenal.In guest room, you sleep in an authentic master bedroom and have a generous and varied breakfast in the park or in the dining room.In furnished flat: you live in the farm, with everything needed to be independent.For all, pool, park, spa and welcome to our hosts' table on Tuesday and Friday evenings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Chateau Juvenal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing