We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic local restaurant”
Review of Le Chapeau Rouge

Le Chapeau Rouge
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$41
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 7, 2017

We have just returned from a week in Provence and visited this restaurant twice. What a treat: wonderful food and excellent service from Christian. Maybe a little off the beaten track but well worth a try and great value for money. We hope to be back soon. Kristen and Luca from Siena.

Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATHERINE L, Directeur général at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2017
Google Translation

MERCI pour votre commentaire. Nous sommes heureux de voir que vous avez apprécié notre établissement. En espérant vous revoir cette année, nous vous adressons nos meilleurs vœux pour 2017.
Cathy et Christian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (162)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 162 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2016

We stopped along the route in what looked like a very ordinary restaurant. What followed was the most enjoyable meal of our week in the area. We chose a Domain Les Davids Les Dernières Terres, 2014: truly excellent. There's nothing better than a fresh French salad when the vinaigrette is well made! My cuisse de canard was excellent, especially the very creamy accompanying polenta and my spouse revelled in his brochettes de bœuf Limosin with rice and vegetable timbale gratiné. Deserts: yummy Baba au rhum for me, plat de fromage for my spouse. He is still savouring the wonderful experience of the Banon chèvre! The owner/host was charmingly hospitable, stopping to chat with each course but keeping all of his guests well served. Coffee was excellent. Ah, if only we could return at least once a month!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATHERINE L, Propriétaire at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2016

Thank you very much...We are OK, if you want to come every month !!!
May be , we see you again in 2017 ?
Sincerely,
Cathy and Christian.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2016 via mobile

Lovely atmosphere, great service. Good aperitifs and amazing food. Lovely breeze kept us cool under the umbrellas while we ate outside.

Thank Andrea E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATHERINE L, Propriétaire at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2016

Thank you Andrea... We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Went with three friends for a long Sunday lunch. Started off with excellent aperitifs including a Cava Cassis, a type of Kir Royale made with top quality Cassis de Bourgogne . One friend opted for pastis. My starter was brandade de morue, delicious and generous. A friend had the carpaccio of beef and declared it one of the best she had experienced.
The choice of mains was good and we were tempted by the fish but ultimately three of us chose entrecôte de boeuf and one had the canard bourguignon. The beef was excellent quality with great flavour and texture. We thought the supplier must be good and the menu does credit the restaurant's suppliers. My friend also sang the praises of the duck. The potato accompaniment to the beef was very good and made with mushrooms.
Moving on leisurely to the desserts I had a splendid tarte Tatin with glace and my friends indulged in the clafoutis of raspberry with a liguidy strawberry mousse on the side which one drank through the straw provided. All voted delicious.
Our wine was a Cahors Malbec recommended by the owner and living up to high expectations- fantastic with our main course.
The restaurant was full and clearly popular with families and locals as well as those touring. We took a leisurely pace and finished about 3 pm. Very helpful and friendly service.
Price about 40 euros per head covering everything .

Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CATHERINE L, Propriétaire at Le Chapeau Rouge, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2016

I remember your table et I remember people happy... Our greatest reward is to read a comment like yours. That really touched us.
Thank you so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

We stopped for lunch and had an excellent meal and first rate local red wine, the seating outside was very shaded and pleasant with beautiful views. The whole meal was finished off with a lovely deserts (Strawberry Melba and Pear and Almond Tart)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MalcolmandDelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Chapeau Rouge also viewed

Simiane-la-Rotonde, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Simiane-la-Rotonde, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Lagarde-d'Apt, Vaucluse
Banon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 
Banon, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
Revest-des-Brousses, Alpes-de-Haute-Provence
 

Been to Le Chapeau Rouge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;