We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Villa Caletas
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Club del Mar(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Croc's Resort & Casino(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$153
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Copacabana Hotel & Suites(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mar de Luz(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Jaco Lodge(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aparthotel Vista Pacifico(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaco Laguna Resort & Beach Club(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartotel Flamboyant(Jaco)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,435)
Filter reviews
1,435 results
Traveller rating
1,006
239
97
65
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,006
239
97
65
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvilla caletascosta ricainfinity poolprivate beachzephyr palaceamazing viewswatch the sunsetjunior suiteour honeymoonsan josemy boyfriendthe pacific oceanbeautiful placerainy seasonscarlet macawslos suenospura vida
Filter
Updating list...
851 - 856 of 1,435 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed here for 6 nights from a deal we got on Groupon to stay in the Junior Superior Suites. We had room 86, these rooms are in a private building with 8 rooms, 4 floors with a pool at the lower level. The two lower rooms are right next to the pool so not much privacy there. The whole time we were there we never saw anyone else in the pool so it might as well have been our own private pool. It was very nice, but not an infinity pool. You can still go to the infinity pool if you stay in the junior superior suites tho. However, we found our pool to be much warmer. When we arrived to the hotel the check in process was a bit rushed. We were given cool towels and a drink but felt rushed to finish to get heading to our room. We did have a problem with the people in the room above us which were very rowdy and from a wedding party that was at Zephyr Palace. They were yelling off the balconies and we could hear them scooting patio furniture. We did notify the staff the next day of the problem and they said they would look into it. We didnt have any more problems after that.

We also did the transportation service through the hotel which was a hundred dollars each way. The driver was very nice on the way there and even made a couple extra stops for us.

The bellhops were amazing at the hotel, we delt with Randall, Henry and Giovanny. We couldnt have asked for better service. Giovanny even saved us from a large angry iguana we found outside our room next to the elevator one night. That was a startling experience. So be careful in the stairwell. Im just glad we found it on the last day of our trip and not the first. Laura the concerige was also a big help with booking tours. We booked the "Jumper" waterfall tour and the Poas Volcano and Doka Coffee tour, both of which were great. She gave us very helpful tips. Told us we needed water shoes for the waterfall tour, which is def neccessary. She told us to get them from a grocery store, so we had dinner in Jaco one night, which was a $40 ride round trip and we were able to find water shoes in a grocery store there. We had dinner at El Hicaco which the conceirge recommended. It was good, the prices were about the same as the Ampitheater Restaurant, it was on the beach so the view was nice.

The Ampitheater restaurant was hit or miss. Some nights we loved the food, other nights it was not great. Really enjoyed the Mahi Mahi special. For lunch the "Casado" Costarian Dish was very good. I also had the Banana Rum dessert for dinner one night and it was amazing. Also love the cream cheese spread that is served with the rolls. My boyfriend had the Chicken, Lamb, and shrimp special one night but didnt like it because the lamb was very rare. I suggest having dinner between 5 and 6 to see the sunset. We had dinner at 7 the first night and it was pitch black looking out. We didnt think there was anything out there until the next day we realized the jungle and ocean was right there but it was just too dark to realize it. The Mirador was closed the whole time we were there so we were not able to try it. I wished it would have been open because it looked more upscale where the other restaurant was more casual.

The food at the beach was not good. The chips were stale and the roastbeef sandwich was not good, Especially for the prices. The hammock area is great and we did get in the ocean but it is very rocky so I would only get in if you have water shoes. They also advertise to take the natural trail which is behind the spa area. We walked down but then took the shuttle back up. It was defintely a hike and a workout and you should use one of the walking sticks at the top of the trail to go down.

Our housekeeper Kelly was also very good. We did leave tips for her everyday and every day we had a different towel animal. Some were quite elaborate and it was fun to go back to our room to see what animal she made each day.

The mini bar was over stocked and over priced as most mini bars are, but there was so much stuff in the mini bar that it was hard to make room to put our items in the mini bar. About half of what was in there would have been sufficent. The complimentary coffee that was in the room each day, Britt Coffee brand was awesome! We loved the coffee and had never tried that brand until now.

We also toured Zephyr Palace. It was very nice but over the top. I think the views from the rooms are actually better from the Junior Superior Suites after touring two of the rooms. It was still very cool to go through them but we were very happy with staying in the Junior Superior Suites.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank wohdonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Friends, thank you very much for sharing your experience with us !! We are very happy to know that you had such a great time with us. It is great to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay and that our staff was able to give you the service you deserved. We hope to see you back soon , may be at The Zephyr Palace this time !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We spent three days at Villa Caletas as the first stop of our trip. We are on our way to Manuel Antonio today. I just hope that everything will be at the same level now !! The hotel is just fantastic, the view, the pool, the staff are second to none. We were in a junior suite superior, had a large room, i realy mean large. same for the terrace with our own jacuzzi. There was also a private pool for our building. They come to pick you up with a golf cart when you need to go the main hotel !! Bell boys are just great and friendly as all the staff from the restaurant. We will come back, maybe sooner than we thaught :) .

Room Tip: Junior Suite Superior ...we dont know the others, but you wont be dissepointed here.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
20  Thank betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your review. We hope that you will find the same great service during all you trip in Costa Rica. We hope to see you back soon, perhaps on your way back from Manuel Antonio !!. Best regards. mananager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 24, 2012

A breathtaking setting with views that go on forever. We stayed in one of the Master Suites and it was spectaular. We hardly ever left - with our own beautiful terrace overlooking the ocean and a private eternity pool, why would we want to leave? Room service was great, although the menu was a bit limited. Dinner in the main restaurant was very nice, service was adequate. Dinner in the amphetheatre restaurant wasn't so great. Same basic menu and same prices as the main dining room, but the service and ambiance don't compare. Concierge and Bellman were great, very friendly and helpful. The front desk service is awful - they need major customer service training. Terrible at check in, terrible at check out, and acted like they were really being bothered for any request made.

Room Tip: Master Suite was well worth the extra money and very private.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank Tvl4FunLakeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Friends, thank you very much for your nice words. We are gald to know that you enjoyed your Master Suite with private infinty pool. We are paying close attention to your comments on the front desk and taking action as we want our guest to have the best experience possible while being with us. Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed in the Zephyr Palace for 3 nights in the Real suite. This is a beautiful hotel above the Pacific ocean. The sunsets are amazing! The staff was very friendly and attentive. The restaurant was delicious. We had breakfasts and dinner there mostly, and drinks :) This was where I first had a Guaro Sour, basically. Best one I had in the whole country! The pool at the palace was great. We were pretty much the only ones in the palace those nights so we had it all to ourselves. There was supposed to be a bartender up there, but we never saw one, it would have been nice. The beach is a nice place to relax, not for swimming. We tried the spa while we were there, had the romance package, a little spendy but very relaxing. The concierge was very helpful and set up out ATV tour in Jaco for us, which was so much fun! This is out of town a ways so if you don't have a car you are spending $20 on a tax just to get into Jaco. You get a workout walking from the Palace to the restaurant, which I did not mind. We could have taken the gulf cart whenever, but I like to walk. We would definitely come back!

Room Tip: If you can try the Palace, it is amazing! I'm going to save up to go for an even more lavish room next time!
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank MCaughron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2012

Dear Friends , thank you very much for your nice words. We are very happy to know that you had a great time atb Villa Caletas and The Zephyr Palace. It is truely a unique place as you were able to see !! Best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed in the Zypher Palace and had a junior suite. It was really wonderful....with each room having its own heated jacuzzi. The sunset views were wonderful......and the private swimming pool for the Palace was really beautiful. Super restaurant and staff!

Room Tip: Book on Expedia for reduced rate.......and make sure and get rooms in the Zepher Palace.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank drlehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manager_Caletas, General Manager at Hotel Villa Caletas, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2012

Dear friends, thank you very much for your comments. We realy strive to give our guests the best rooms, views and service, Mother nature and the Sun give us these amazing grounds and sunset to remember !! best regards. manager@villacaletas.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews