We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
SimonMWatts
Baldock, United Kingdom

Lovely traditional cottage experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 19, 2015
We had a lovely two weeks at their cottage by Lake Halls.

The views every morning were quite sublime and the hosts very supportive.

Our cottage roomy enough and reasonably equipped with chairs barbecue and firepit outside. The wi-fi was better than expected in most locations in the cottage.

The cottages do vary in size and view.

Nice little beach and dock with lovely grass sweeping down to it with volleyball and outdoor badminton courts

Definitely 4.5 stars really. No screen on door and a few minor points prevent me from giving the full 5* but this did not spoil our time there so I would recommend this to you.
Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$312
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$290
  • Vio.com
    C$262
  • Agoda.com
    C$275
17.6 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
C$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$189
  • Algotels
18.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of the motel
C$268
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$268
  • Booking.com
    C$257
  • Priceline
    C$257
18.7 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Silver Maple
C$198
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$198
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$188
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$207
20.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free parking
C$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$130
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
21.0 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$168
  • Priceline
    C$168
  • Agoda.com
    C$168
  • eDreams
    C$168
21.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dwight Bay Lak
C$292
  • Vio.com
    C$292
  • Agoda.com
    C$292
  • Expedia.com
30.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Le camere del motel...
C$292
  • Agoda.com
    C$292
  • Vio.com
    C$292
  • eDreams
    C$292
31.3 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$156
  • Priceline
    C$162
  • Vio.com
    C$131
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
31.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
C$236
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    C$235
  • Hotels.com
    C$236
  • Priceline
    C$236
37.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Halls Lake
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 67 reviews
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Spent 4 nights at Loralea last week. This was our fourth time staying here. We have used Cabin 6, Cabin 4 and twice stayed in Cottage 7. Our favourite is cottage 7. Beautiful view of the lake, private dock and fire pit away from all the other cabins. Solitude at its best. The cottage is well equipped if you want to cook, has comfortable beds and Heather always has nice linens on the beds. Units are clean and comfortable and cozy. Hosts are great people, always friendly helpful should you require anything at all. So looking forward to our next stay in Sept. to see the fall colours.

Room tip: Cottage 7, private, overlooking lake, morning sunrises.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Blitzen467
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

Thanks for the kind words Donna, Bill & I appreciate it.. It is a pleasure having you and Klause & Lexie here for your mini vacations away. Thank you for always leaving our cottage in such good shape it is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit in Sept.

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed at the Loralea Country Inn Resort last weekend while in the area to go dogsledding (with Winterdance Dogsledding - another great experience!). The cabin was cute and clean and had everything we needed while being the best value for money that we could find in the area. We also felt very welcomed despite our late Friday night check in (past 10pm, even later than we'd expected to arrive). I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iamalexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Wonderful Quite Get a way

We had a wonderful time at Lauralea the view from the cabin was incredible your own little piece of paradise.
The water front was so clean and they have so many activities for you to do
The cabin was spotless and had everything you needed, we arrived late because I was not feeling well Heather was so helpful and caring, she helped us bring our entire luggage and made sure we were settled in before leaving.
Another remarkable part of staying at Lauralea, is that you are able to bring your pets. Which is just great and we are very thankful for this because our trip wouldn't have been complete without my dog.
I would highly recommend this place.

Can't wait to go back

Kate, Gloria and Andy

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This was our third trip to the Loralea Country Inn and certainly won't be the last! We had the pleasure of staying a full week in cabin 6 which fully met the needs of our family of 3. The resort is full of peace and nature. I was joined at the lake early one morning by a thirsty buck, and managed to catch many fish off the dock. At least twice a day we were joined in the swimming area by 2 rafts of ducklings and their moms. The beach proved to be a great place to play with our daughter. Bill and Heather stop it nothing to see that their guests have everything they need to have a great vacation. I recommend the Loralea to anyone I know traveling north.

Room tip: Studio Cabin 6 has a beautiful view of the beach/lake.
Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rhiannon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2014

Thank you for your review. It's always a pleasure when quests return to watch their young ones growing up into teenagers. That buck you saw is still returning occasionally enjoying a drink and unwelcome treat from the neighbours garden, even the duck family returns daily, now mostly all the same size as their mom.

Enjoy the rest of the summer
Bill and Heather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an amazing time at the Loralea Country Inn. Very relaxing. Scenery was awe inspiring and the lake was beautiful. Well taken care of resort with lots of activities included (badminton, volleyball, canoe, paddleboats). Everything you need is right there to enjoy.

Very quiet which was also appreciated as we needed time to get away and relax. At night we were able to enjoy a quiet bonfire (firewood supplied!).

We cannot wait to return again. Hopefully even this summer. Since the Resort is open year long, may even go back in the winter :)

Joanna and Kris

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joanna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews