We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Elyse B

September long weekend

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 7, 2015via mobile
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the September long weekend and stayed in cabin 1. We both are so impressed with the hosts and the resort. We have stayed at many different cottage resorts and this is definitely one of the nicest, it is absolutely the cleanest. The cottage was spotless and even has fresh towels and sheets on the bed. There is no air conditioning so if you are visiting in the summer be sure to pack a fan. Our cabin did have a ceiling fan but it wasn't close enough to the bed for sleeping.

The resort provides firewood, canoes, paddle boat and even water floaties all at no cost. Beautiful spot we can't wait to go back.
Date of stay: September 2015
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review
Responded Sep 11, 2015
Thank you for your kind words.

It is very important to us that our guests enjoy there time away with us as every ones lives are so busy and stressful. Usually the cabins stay cool as most of them are shaded but the weekend was one of the hottest of the summer I think. I wish you had come to us in regards to a fan we certainly could have come up with one for you to use and make your evening a little more comfortable.

Thank you for leaving the cabin in the shape it was received we greatly appreciate it.

Hope to see you in the future

Heather & Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$312
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$296
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
17.6 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
C$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$189
  • Algotels
18.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of the motel
C$257
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    C$267
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$242
  • Expedia.com
    C$267
18.7 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Silver Maple
C$198
  • Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
20.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free parking
C$130
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$130
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
21.0 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$168
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    C$168
  • eDreams
    C$168
21.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dwight Bay Lak
C$262
  • Vio.com
    C$262
  • Agoda.com
    C$262
  • Expedia.com
30.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Algonquin Lakeside Inn
C$156
  • Expedia.com
    C$162
  • Vio.com
    C$140
  • Hotels.com
    C$162
31.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free parking
Restaurant
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
13.9 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Surround yourself with nature in the Haliburton Highlands, as part of the Canadian Shield there is many places to hike and explore!
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
13.2 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Halls Lake
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 67 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2015

Once again my family and I enjoyed the resort, our third visit. Lots to keep our child and us busy but relaxed. Bill and Heather are excellent hosts. Our child has come to really enjoy our trips to Loralea, she said thanks for the vacation Dad.
Thanks see you again. Pat Kelly Ash and Sunshine

Date of stay: August 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Pat R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 19, 2015

We had a lovely two weeks at their cottage by Lake Halls.

The views every morning were quite sublime and the hosts very supportive.

Our cottage roomy enough and reasonably equipped with chairs barbecue and firepit outside. The wi-fi was better than expected in most locations in the cottage.

The cottages do vary in size and view.

Nice little beach and dock with lovely grass sweeping down to it with volleyball and outdoor badminton courts

Definitely 4.5 stars really. No screen on door and a few minor points prevent me from giving the full 5* but this did not spoil our time there so I would recommend this to you.

Date of stay: August 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank SimonMWatts
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 25, 2015

Spent 4 nights at Loralea last week. This was our fourth time staying here. We have used Cabin 6, Cabin 4 and twice stayed in Cottage 7. Our favourite is cottage 7. Beautiful view of the lake, private dock and fire pit away from all the other cabins. Solitude at its best. The cottage is well equipped if you want to cook, has comfortable beds and Heather always has nice linens on the beds. Units are clean and comfortable and cozy. Hosts are great people, always friendly helpful should you require anything at all. So looking forward to our next stay in Sept. to see the fall colours.

Room tip: Cottage 7, private, overlooking lake, morning sunrises.
Date of stay: June 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Blitzen467
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2015

Thanks for the kind words Donna, Bill & I appreciate it.. It is a pleasure having you and Klause & Lexie here for your mini vacations away. Thank you for always leaving our cottage in such good shape it is greatly appreciated.

We look forward to your next visit in Sept.

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2015

We stayed at the Loralea Country Inn Resort last weekend while in the area to go dogsledding (with Winterdance Dogsledding - another great experience!). The cabin was cute and clean and had everything we needed while being the best value for money that we could find in the area. We also felt very welcomed despite our late Friday night check in (past 10pm, even later than we'd expected to arrive). I would definitely stay there again.

Date of stay: January 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iamalexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2014

Wonderful Quite Get a way

We had a wonderful time at Lauralea the view from the cabin was incredible your own little piece of paradise.
The water front was so clean and they have so many activities for you to do
The cabin was spotless and had everything you needed, we arrived late because I was not feeling well Heather was so helpful and caring, she helped us bring our entire luggage and made sure we were settled in before leaving.
Another remarkable part of staying at Lauralea, is that you are able to bring your pets. Which is just great and we are very thankful for this because our trip wouldn't have been complete without my dog.
I would highly recommend this place.

Can't wait to go back

Kate, Gloria and Andy

Date of stay: October 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KateGloria
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews