We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wes C
Tiny, Canada

An excellent place to spend a winter long weekend!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Mar 1, 2017
We spent 3 nights at Loralea for the Canadian Family Day long weekend in February, the cottage was right on the lake with a beautiful view. Heather and Bill were excellent hosts, the cottage was clean and all warmed up when we arrived and had everything we needed to have a wonderful long weekend, and they are pet friendly, so our boater collie was as welcome as we were!
Date of stay: February 2017
Room Tip: Cottage #7 is closest to the lake, but doesn't have an indoor wood fireplace, that being...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sept2052, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this review
Responded Mar 6, 2017
Hi Wes & Cindy

We are happy that you enjoyed your weekend away with us.

Thank you also for your kind works our guests are very important to us and we thrive to do our best to make sure everyone enjoys there time away.

Thank you for leaving the cottage as received it is greatly appreciated by us.

We do have your snowshoes safely put away and waiting on your next trip to pick them up or we can make arrangements to have them sent to you.

Thank again from myself and Bill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
C$118
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$118
  • Booking.com
  • Agoda.com
17.6 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
C$189
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    C$189
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$189
  • Algotels
18.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front view of the motel
C$244
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    C$234
  • Hotels.com
    C$244
  • Priceline
    C$234
18.7 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Silver Maple
C$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$189
  • Hotels.com
    C$189
  • Priceline
    C$199
20.8 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free parking
C$175
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    C$140
  • Expedia.com
    C$140
  • Priceline
    C$175
21.0 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$168
  • Priceline
    C$168
  • Agoda.com
    C$168
  • eDreams
    C$168
21.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$218
C$183
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$183
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$208
  • Prestigia.com
    C$218
22.0 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
C$139
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    C$139
  • Agoda.com
    C$139
  • eDreams
    C$139
28.6 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Dwight Bay Lak
C$206
  • Vio.com
    C$206
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    C$206
30.4 km from Loralea Country Inn Resort
View more hotels in Halls Lake
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
57
8
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 67 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2017

My wife, two kids (aged 4 and 2), and I spent 4 days at Loralea over the Family Day Long Weekend. Our goal was simple rest and relaxation away from our typically busy, hectic lives. We had a wonderful time thanks to the way Bill and Heather run this little gem of a resort. Bill builds a ~200ft toboggan run each winter and we had a blast on it. What's nice is that because the resort is small we had it to ourselves each day we went. The cabin we stayed in was very warm and cozy, well furnished and with lots of essentials included. They have a movie wall where you can borrow any number of kids' and regular movies which we enjoyed in the evenings. On Saturday night we wanted to get some ice cream so I called Heather to find out whether a store would be open in the area. She gave me the name of a place but also offered some that she had in her freezer if we weren't able to get any; ultimately I was able to buy some from a store but the fact that she offered some shows how much they care about their guests' experience. Overall, a wonderful little getaway and we hope to come back in the future perhaps in the summer!

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hshamshu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sept2052, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your weekend away with us. It was a pleasure meeting you and your family. As I said when you were here for such young children (4 & 2 yrs old) it was a pleasure to talk with them and there manners were so refreshing. You and your wife should be very proud of the parenting you have done. They are just so well behaved and so considerate of others for there young ages.

Thank you also for leaving our studio cabin #4 as received it is greatly appreciated by myself and Bill.

Take Care and please say hello to the children for us

We hope we get the opportunity to see you all again in the future

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 22, 2017 via mobile

Loralea resort owners Heather and Bill run one excellent relaxing resort. It was as if my wife and i owned our own little cottage at their resort. From Heather waiting up for us due to our late arrival to Bills knowledge of Halls lakes ice conditions, they made my wifes first time snowmobiling adventure one to remember and to repeat. The cottage was clean comfortable and stocked with needed supplies to be self sufficent. All that is asked of you is that you leave it as you found it and reporting any problems are addressed right away . Even our pup enjoyed her stay. We will be returning in the near future and have passed on the knowledge of this resort to friends and family. See you soon :)

Date of stay: February 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Gavin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
sept2052, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2017

Thank you for the kind words Gavin. It was a pleasure meeting you and your wife. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your wife had a great experience with snowmobiling for the first time. We would also like to thank you & your wife for leaving the cabin in such great shape, it is greatly appreciated.

Enjoy the rest of the winter and we hope to see you in the future

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 26, 2016

The Loralea Country Inn resort is a great place to get a total cottage experience for a very fair cost. The cabins are clean, include a stovetop, good sized mini fridge, sink and all your dishes etc. Halls lake is just a one minute walk down the hill of the property and it is clean and peaceful.

You have freedom to roam around the resort and borrow paddle boats, canoe, water toys and use the volleyball net, dock, and beach. The best part is each cabin has its own barbeque that is fully equipped and a fire pit. Heather and Bill even provide the firewood which makes it so convenient! Little details around this resort like the potted flowers and deck swing overlooking the lake really add to the experience as well.

The resort is also pet friendly with very reasonable guidelines around having pets in the cabins. It is hard to find resorts that accept pets as part of the family so this was greatly appreciated as well.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Thank you for your kind words Sara. It was wonderful to meet you and your mother. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We work very hard to try and make sure that our guests have the best possible experience they can with us on Halls Lake in the beautiful Algonquin Highlands. We would like to thank you both for the condition that you left our cabin in. It is greatly appreciated that you left it as received. We are happy that you & your mother & father and we can't forget the 2 pets are returning Aug. 7th to enjoy another stay with us.

See you soon
Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016

We had a very enjoyable and relaxing experience at the Loralea Country Inn Resort! We enjoyed it so much, that we are coming back less than 3 weeks later to stay at the resort again! We used to stay at my parents cottage before they sold it, and it is just as enjoyable staying at Loralea! Staying at Loralea is peaceful, and stress-free. I have my own business, and it is such a relief to spend time at the Inn!

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Margie116
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
loralearesort, Owner at Loralea Country Inn Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2016

Hi Margie

Thank you for your thoughtful review of our resort. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and are thrilled that you are returning on Aug. 7th. It is such a stressful life for everyone now adays it makes us happy to now that our guests have a peacefull and stress free getaway with us. Time away for people is very hard come by with such hectic lives with work and family, so it is important to us that all of our guests have a relaxing & stress freetime while staying with us.

We look forward to seeing you soon

Heather & Bill

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2016

A special thanks to owners, Heather and Bill for accommodating and welcoming our family despite our last minute plans. We were lucky enough to have stumbled upon Loralea at the same time they had a cancellation. We stayed in Cottage 5 - a large 4 bedroom spacious cottage. Although there were only four of us this cottage, it could easily accommodate up to 8 with a large living and eating area for all to enjoy. All rooms were clean and the kitchen was fully stocked with everything you could possibly need. Outside we had two BBQs, a picnic table, loads of Muskoka chairs surrounding our own fire pit and a plastic table and chair set. We were even supplied with a dining shelter to keep the mosquitoes out. Heather and Bill were extremely friendly and helpful...very easy going. The cottage is on a beautifully treed lot with a nice sandy beach area and new looking dock. Halls lake is gorgeous! There are paddle boats and a canoe which are FREE to use. Life jackets are supplied if needed. There are lots of inflatable beach toys, as well as sand toys which guests are welcome to use. Movies and family games are also available in the office. Other perks....free wifi (teens loved this), free boat docking, free fire wood and best of all....dog friendly! We had a great time and hope to be back soon for a longer stay!! Thanks so much Heather and Bill! Christine.

Date of stay: July 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews