We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The falls are superb”

Oxtongue River-Ragged Falls Provincial Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$143.39*
and up
Algonquin Provincial Park Day Tour from Toronto
Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Dwight
Attraction details
Reviewed July 22, 2018

This was my second visit to this park and the views are great. The trail is a little rugged but not hard and not long. Just watch your steps from a lot of tree roots and rocks.
Once at the top its quite relaxing just to sit by the river and take in the sights.
When there I did get a little worried as I saw some visitors climb rocks near the falls on the west side opposite the trail. I mean its quite a drop at the top and that water is moving pretty fast and its powerful.
Besides the majestic falls the forest is quite nice and the trail does continue beyond the falls but it is unmarked and not easy to navigate.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank grey0wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (91)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"short hike"
in 8 reviews
"on the rocks"
in 6 reviews
"hour pass"
in 3 reviews
"take your time"
in 2 reviews
"nice place to stop"
in 2 reviews
"fairly easy hike"
in 2 reviews
"provincial park"
in 2 reviews
"rapids"
in 9 reviews
"algonquin"
in 16 reviews
"paddle"
in 7 reviews
"nature"
in 7 reviews
"trail"
in 16 reviews
"roots"
in 3 reviews
"roaring"
in 3 reviews
"angle"
in 2 reviews
"footing"
in 2 reviews
"fencing"
in 2 reviews
Filter

7 - 11 of 91 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2018 via mobile

This is not strenuous at all but there us a climb involved but when you reach the top you are rewarded w a stunning view of these beautiful falls. Must do!

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank K S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 23, 2018

The winter had not yet left the park during our visit. A lot of snow and ice made this hike a little dangerous. If you took a wrong step it was into the freezing cold rapids for you because of the icy slopes. But we hiked with care and it was so worth it! Truly beautiful even while some of it was still frozen. I will be returning this summer with my boyfriend and can't wait to see how the falls and trail have changed throughout the spring. I know it will be breathtaking. 10/10 recommend

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank caeleyrobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 3, 2018

A short, sweet hike in (even if the gate's closed). It's a picturesque class 4-5 rapid, but the park authority has not troubled to make it readily accessible or viewed from a lookout. A best view would be by canoe from downstream - put in from a crossing at hwy 60 or at Oxtongue lake.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank Gary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2018

It's a great short and fairly easy hike to the falls and surrounding area - definitely worth checking out.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank BasVan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Oxtongue River-Ragged Falls Provincial Park also viewed

 
Huntsville, Muskoka District
Huntsville, Muskoka District
 

Been to Oxtongue River-Ragged Falls Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing