We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (66)
Filter reviews
66 results
Traveller rating
51
9
4
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
51
9
4
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine menu yogurt pots decoration atmosphere lake terrace denmark building
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 66 reviews
Reviewed August 22, 2018

We stayed in the Hotel Bretagne with our children for 2 days in August, booking a standard room and a superior room. The hotel is located a few minutes walk from the centre of Hornbaek and the beach, overlooking a small scenic lake. There is plenty of parking on site. The building is attractive, nicely decorated and well maintained with a small lift. Staff are very friendly although there is not a permanent presence at reception so you sometimes need to wait to be served. The standard room was quite small while the superior room was spacious. Both had good views over the lake. However, there was very limited storage, with the standard room having hanging space but no drawers and the superior room having drawers with no hanging space. There is no air conditioning in the hotel which is probably not usually a problem but was for us due to the extreme hot weather. Disappointingly there are no in-room safes which is unusual in modern hotels, particularly those by the beach. We were on a bead and breakfast package and the breakfast was very good. There was a choice of mueslis (although no other cereals), various nicely presented pots of fruit/yoghurt/savoury items, home made bread and jams, and a selection of hot drinks. You can either sit inside in the bright conservatory or outside on the terrace.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RIchard035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasper H, Ejer at Hotel Bretagne, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2018

Thank you very much for your review! We will adress your comments regarding storage space, and see how we can adjust our rooms to be more accomodating.

We have also noted your comment regarding in-room safe.

Best regards
Hotel Bretagne

Anne & Kasper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 13, 2018 via mobile

Outstanding experience in a cute and very comfortable hotel. Staff is very friendly and the food of the restaurant, both at diner and breakfast, is worth the trip: delicate, creative and delicious. Definitely a hotel to be recommended with great quality price ratio in a nice area of Denmark.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Arnaud g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 8, 2018

We stayed here for 5 days in July 2018. Throughout the stay (with the exception of one grumpy member of the breakfast team), the staff were friendly, helpful and very competent.
The breakfasts were a feast for the eyes as well as the taste buds. There were beautiful, tiny pots of all things: black rice, chai with pomegranate; smoked salmon with thinly-sliced cucumber; tiny cubes of various melons; yoghurt with fruits - amongst others. Warm food was served in small individual Le Creuset pots with lids: omelettes with small sausages. A large variety of bread, bread rolls, croissants, pastries made sure that you went away completely stuffed! Good coffee, freshly served in thermos containers was available, but one could opt for Italian coffee from the machine. You could have breakfast on the terrace overlooking the lake if the weather was fine.
The room was small, very clean but adequate. It had a lovely view over the lake. There was a lift, as well as stairs for the 3 floors of rooms.
Lunches and evening meals were superb, if a little pricey. The owners were hands-on and ensured that everything ran smoothly.
The hotel’s location is excellent. It has a large car park. There is a path to the lake from the hotel and a running/walking route around the lake. The beach (very good and family-friendly) is 10 mins’ walk across the small town. The forested areas are close and great for walking/jogging, especially on a hot day. The railway station is 5 minutes’ walk away and wonderfully convenient. Buy a ticket from the machine on the train; Helsingør is only 30 minutes away.
This is an upmarket hotel, and the prices reflect this. B&B prices are approx. £159 per night in the high season. We enjoyed our stay and would return.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carol I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 25, 2017 via mobile

The food was ok but the service we got was very bad . We waited with our dirty plates on the table for ages whilst the other guests got their food. The cheese platter ordered didn’t come. We left early without our cheese. I was given the credit card machine without being shown the bill first.
There was a running argument with another couple next table about the wine where the waitress disagreed with the customer.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank pennyleese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasper H, Ejer at Hotel Bretagne, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2017

Dear Pennyleese,

Thank you very much for your review, and we are very sorry that we did not live up to your expectations!

We have to accept that we did not do our job right, and we have learned from the experience, and will make the needed changes, so this do not happen in the future!

Once again thank you!

Best regards
Anne & kasper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 16, 2017

Over the past 3 years I have stay in more than 100 hotels worldwide. Hotel Bretagne is the best hotel I ever stay at, so far. The balance between the design of the hotel, the service level, the quality of the food, the wine menu, the design of the room gave an atmosphere, which I never saw before. I meet extremely friendly and serviceminded people, who were well educated and knew how to run a hotel. I would go back anytime I could.

Room Tip: Best boutique hotel in Scandinavia
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesper N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasper H, Ejer at Hotel Bretagne, responded to this reviewResponded May 24, 2018

Thank you very much!

You are always welcome back!

Hope to see you soon!

Sincerely yours,
Anne & Kasper

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews