We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Yes, we will be back!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Colyton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pennywage...
Gosport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Yes, we will be back!”
Reviewed June 17, 2018 for a stay in June 2018

Small, but perfectly formed.
This cabin was so welcoming that we didn't venture out for the first three days (helped by good weather).
The welcoming pack of fresh groceries (milk, bread, real butter and double yolked eggs!) was boosted by the inclusion of goodies in the cupboards - salt, pepper, sugar, kitchen roll, coffee and tea. Also there you'll find all you need for washing up, and in the bathroom shower gel, washing tabs, loo rolls and shampoo.
This cabin is really secluded with wide vistas. Make sure you orientate yourselves the first day or you'll wonder why the sun rises where it does!
Your only company is the two horses in the adjacent field (fed twice daily) , endless flights of chattering swallows from the nearby stable block, little bunnies, the pheasant and his lady friend, and numerous other birds including a buzzard which gets noisily chased off by the crows.
As said, we will go back to the cabin to do the things we didn't manage to do, like trying the tramway to Seaton.
Oh, and save up your £1 coins for coastal parking!
Don't hesitate booking the Swallows cabin.........

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2018
We're really pleased that you and your family had such a good stay with us. Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you again. All the best. Have a lovely summer.
Liz and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ken P
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely small cottage”
Reviewed May 9, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Ideal for myself and partner and our two dogs. Facilities are good and the welcome pack left by the owner was most welcome as it's a proper country location with only one other house opposite in the stretch of lane where it located.

The farmhouse has three cottages close to it as well as ours, which had a massive garden, but was at the back of the property near the standing for the owners horses.

Although the property is in a remote location the nearest town is a relatively short drive away thorough the lanes and, in fact only just over a mile from the nearest village which my partner walked to alongside a brook.

A great weekend was spent there massively assisted by the fantastic weather for May Bank Holiday.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 May 2018
Thank you. It was lovely to have you stay and I'm glad you enjoyed your weekend in Swallows cabin. Hope to see you again.

Liz and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phil S
Frome, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful Retreat”
Reviewed February 23, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Spent 3 nights at Swallows Cabin & enjoyed the whole experience. Ideal for couples with dogs looking for peaceful walks and comfortable accommodation. Plenty of cabin space, all facilities provided, comfortable double bed & hot shower. Very good WiFi & freeview TV. Safe & secure site with friendly horses in adjacent field to enjoy. Need transport to get to local amenities and to coastal walks.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely comments. I 'm glad you enjoyed yourselves and hope to see you back in the future.
Best wishes
Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connector...
1 review
“Tranquil surroundings,1st class accommodation,lovely welcoming food pack”
Reviewed December 28, 2017 for a stay in December 2017

Fabulous cabin in tranquil surroundings,lovely rural views..First class ,quality accommodation.Extremeley clean.Very comfortable bed.Nice touches : welcome food pack,toiletries. Well equipped.
If you want to get away from it all and yet still be near the Jurassic coast great base.Lovely walks on the doorstep.
Liz and Gordon lovely hosts.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you so much. We hope to see you again - in Seaton maybe!
All the best for 2018.
Liz and Gordon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyh2612
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed July 14, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cabin in a separate area to the other holiday cottages. If you want peace and quiet, this is perfect. We were out and about as it was an area we had never been to before and there are many lovely villages nearby such as Beer. I would certainly return to this cabin. The welcome pack was also a nice touch on arrival. We never used the swimming pool but this area did look very nice. We did use the tennis court.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2016
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope the refurbishment works are going well. Look forward to seeing you again. Liz
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola R
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delightful relaxing get away”
Reviewed August 29, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We arrived here on a last minute booking and wow did we stike lucky! Our host was very accommodating with our dates and was happy to accept full payment on arrival due to lateness of booking, which I found trusting and helpful. We were warmly received, Liz and Gordon were there to help, but not intrusive. The accommodation was delightful, clean, well equipped, beautifully located .....just perfect. We appreciated the food welcome pack, such a nice touch. My partner and I used the pool every morning which was so convenient and a great bonus.....Gordon even came out one morning with orange juice for us , how thoughtful. We would definitely visit again and don't hesitate in recommending it for a tranquil and relaxing break. Thankyou to both Liz and Gordon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It did what it said on the tin!
Liked least: Very long narrow lane to property from colyton
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing