We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andara Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Andara Resort and Villas
Ranked #1 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2012

Fabulous. Really.
A gorgeous property...each villa has an infinity pool, gazebo, fab rooms, a dining and drawing room, open kitchen, and Games rooms in the basement. You need nothing more from your acco on a beach holiday.
We were a group of 22 people and had three villas next to each other. We had to force ourselves to leave the hotel, there was really no need... we could have spent the entire trip there.
The service was excellent...each villa had a butler, cleaning staff and chef. And they really did churn out the most amazing eggs benedict in the mornings...and a lunch pomello salad to die for.
The hotel has an amazing Thai restaurant that served up the best soft shell crab with crispy thai basil leaves...that I have ever eaten.
The Spa at Andara is also excellent. I recommend the Javanese massage, the therapists know what they are doing. In fact, at the tail-end of our Phuket trip we were at another hotel, but we came back here for the fab spa treatments.
Andara is a bit far from Patong and some other 'central' areas in Phuket but you have to decide what your holiday is about. In any case it's a longish taxi ride away.
The cherry on the icing? My husband left his jacket behind in the hotel room...we called the Manager (Grace) and she was gracious enough to locate it, deliver it to an address an hour away from her hotel, and call to tell us it was done.
These things make all the difference...we would definitely go back.

Room Tip: The Villas are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank AartiSethiKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you very much for your comments from your stay at Andara. We are pleased to hear that for such a large group, split into 3 villas, that all your needs were met. We do hope you will consider us again for any future visits to Phuket. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    49
    16
    4
    2
See reviews for
196
165
16
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

What I am comparing isn't, "Was it absolutely good or not?" - in fact it was absolutely very good - but, "How does it rate given the price?" In other words, how did it measure up to the promise of a US$700 per night hotel?

The best-built resort hotel I have ever stayed in. The quality of the design and construction is superb. Especially in remote tropical locations, typically the construction is a bit rough and relies somewhat on rustic charm to overlay what is actually poor work or lack of quality material supply. However, not here. The quality would be on par with ANY luxury hotel in any major city. For Phuket, this is a triumph.

In addition, all the rooms have all the bells and whistles - electric curtains, top-notch appliances, TV's, iPod capability, digital a/c control, different nifty LED lighting schemes, etc. The full kitchen is totally stacked out with all modern appliances, including a huge USA-size stainless fridge, 2 ovens, dishwasher, garbage disposal, etc. Bose sound everywhere. Lovely Gaggia one-touch grind and brew coffeemaker (bring your own beans!). Abundant tableware, including different glassware for 3 types of wine plus even pilsener glasses. Rice cooker and blender. It all works perfectly. Nothing is missing.

Wifi works great in the rooms and common areas of the resort. They even have it in the car on the way from the airport. Great.

Hands down the largest hotel room I have ever stayed in. The 1-bedroom suite is easily 2500 sq ft, not including terrace or pool. It's giant. The dining room table would seat 12 (and has place settings for it too!).

So, 10+/10 for hardware. We also didn't have the mosquito problems some others spoke of.

OK, so where were the flat spots that left me with an average experience?

Kamala itself is pretty horrible. Kudos to the resort for providing a nifty free open-air shuttle car to take you there and back at whim, but there's nothing there. A small collection of the usual basic split-bamboo joints with red tablecloths serving generic Euro-fare with a Thai menu thrown in - like any beach town in Thailand. A giant open-air drain full of trash and brackish water separates the town from the beach. And, it's deserted. We saw maybe 20 people total in the whole town. Half the shops and all were closed.

VERY contrary to what you may have read , Silk restaurant is not good. Maybe others that praised it have little experience of Thai food. Silk is average, at best. Also the most expensive Thai meal I have ever eaten @ US$150 for 2 people without wine. The "charcoal grilled" dishes had no blackening and no grill marks, no smoke or charcoal flavor. The grilled pork neck - a staple - was astonishingly served cut into chunks instead of the de rigeur thin cross-grain slices, making it more or less inedible. The red curry of blue crab - which sounds great - had TONS of crab in it (lovely) but was so spicy as to be inedible. This isn't 60 Baht street food. It's in theory a Michelin experience selling US$2,000 bottles of wine, which would be ruined after such a dish. (The hotel BTW only has this one one restaurant, so you are eating ALL your meals there - we sat in the same table for dinner at night then breakfast the next morning. I guess like holiday camp, or the army.)

Breakfast has no buffet. It's a la carte and the selection is extremely limited. There are NO creative or different items on the menu. Usual breakfast fare of various eggs, sides, etc. Utterly mundane.

There was NO ONE else at the resort. We saw exactly 4 other guests in 3 days. We never saw anyone at the pool, or walking around. 2 at dinner and 2 at breakfast. That's it. There is no hotel bar or any conviviality of any kind. You are utterly on your own.

The "Beach Club" and the "Beach Lounge" are nowhere near the resort - the resort isn't anywhere near a beach so be clear on this - and they are pretty average for $700 per night - the wifi was "broken" when we were there. Also, deserted.

Housekeeping showed up to do turn down service at 4:30 pm on the first day - when there was still about 3 hours of daylight left - and then doggedly did so for the next 3 days even though we repeatedly told them not till dark, please. Our private pool was on our roof - up a steep spiral staircase - and they did not go up there to tidy the pool area even once in the 4 days we stayed. So, the collected detritus of 4 days poolside accumulated.

The private pool itself was lovely, although it must be pointed out that the resort is built in blocks marching down a hill-slope, so everyone higher up can see everyone lower down. You can swim or sunbathe nude, but a keen observer up above would indeed be able to see you, if only from afar. It isn't completely private, in other words. Oddly, the garden surrounding our pool wasn't particularly well-kept - the grass needed cutting and the flower beds were overgrown with weeds. Of 4 spotlights that picked out statuary for mood lighting 2 were burned out. This is out of character with the rest of the resort, but along with the lack of housekeeping attention, suggests that they forget about these rooftop spaces. Even the wifi didn't work up there.

MY CONCLUSION after all this is that Andara would be a great place to have a family reunion, or a wedding, or any sort of convivial family or group event where you bring your own people and party. The rooms appear to be designed for you to cook yourself - there is a good Big C supermarket in town and a nice Italian deli over in Surin, so you could stock up, and in the process avoid both Kamala and Silk - both good things. The 3-6 bedroom villas would be ideal for a big group and with the large living rooms I think would be excellent. Provided you have the budget of course, and you don't really want to go to the beach or interact with the town, it's perfect. For sociable couples or people wanting exposure to Thailand, there are certainly better options.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank HKguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for all your comments regarding your Andara stay. We have certainly noted the areas which proved less then satisfactory during your stay, and every effort will be made to improve (from Silk Restaurant, to HK services). We are sorry that Kamala village did not appeal and we are constantly working with locals to improve this area overall which may take a little time being Thailand. Although our beach club is amidst the busier part of Kamala beach, our beach lounge is a nice alternative option at the Northern end, which both by shuttle or walking are no more then 10 minutes to access; we are sorry you felt they were farther away then this (even via complimentary shuttle). Again thank you for your comments, and we hope you would consider visiting us again. Best regard, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, Connecticut
Level Contributor
130 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

“An absolutely gorgeous place! We stayed in one of the villas, which we highly recommend — we had a private chef who would whip up anything we liked, our own private infinity pool as well as enough room for the kids. The villas are fabulous. We had everything we needed right there but didn’t let that stop us from visiting the private beach club and eating at Silk Restaurant, the absolute best Thai food around. ”

Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Consigliera-S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you very much for your most positive comments; we truly appreciate to know and hear that your stay was everything and more you could have wanted for. We very much look forward to your return visit. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2012

LIfe is short, and it's worth spending the extra $ on this resort in Phuket. We also stayed at the Amanpuri during this trip, (which has impeccable service), and we felt the service at Andara was very comparable. We stayed in block 4 in the penthouse, (based on recommendations from reviews on tripadvisor). It was a great choice for the location - close to restaurant, spa etc. Beautiful view. We felt we were in a good spot. Our Villa was gorgeous...actually, literally breathtaking when we entered the room. We loved the design and sophistication of the Thai accents chosen. I'm a fussy traveler, and usually quick to identify flaws...but I really can't find anything I would improve on. The service was excellent. We were there on April 11th, the day of a Tsunami scare...and we felt very protected and safe. We were on our way to the Beach in the hotel vehicle, when an earthquake had just happened and word was just out about a Tsunami possibly coming. The staff (one female employee in particular...I wish I had her name) was pro-active in getting us immediately to high ground with the utmost professionalism, and in a very caring and calm manner. Overall - we sensed the team at Andara was a sophisticated group and we felt well taken care of for our 2 day getaway. Will definately return.

Room Tip: Block 4 penthouse was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveler352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We appreciate greatly your comments regarding your Andara stay. Yes certainly the Tsunami warning took us all by surprise, but I am pleased to know our guests safety were of the utmost important, and everything was handled extremely well by all staff concerned. We do hope we will have the pleasure of you company again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hongkong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed at the Andara last week (April 2012), and would encourage anyone wanting some pampering in luxurious surroundings!
From the greeting with cold towels and refreshing cool drinks to being blown away by the beautiful Pool Villa ( we had booked 412 on the basis of a Trip Advisor review and the villa and view exceeded our expectations), to the always friendly and very professional staff constantly offering a warm heart felt smiley greeting, we thoroughly enjoyed our time at Andara.
We have traveled extensively around Asia and have not found the level of service we experienced here.
The food at Silk was awesome, we had planned to spread the dining experience around a few restaurants as we had a car, but decided to keep going back to Silk due to the excellent food and service.
The Beach club is a very short walk away and we found the concierge was always ready to take you down to the beach in the open car any time we wanted to. Once at the beach, people watch in envy as the Andara chaps prepare a huge lounge/bed on the beach with large pillows towels and a chilly bin with ice cold water. Fantastic!
We would highly recommend a stay at Andara, villa 412 pool suite has a beaut view across the bay and down to the beach and is very close to reception.
It is a pricey vacation, but you absolutely are getting the best of everything here so if you only do it once it's fantastic.

Room Tip: Go for 412 pool suite, great view and close to reception. Although I think any of the units would of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
We thank you for your comments and feedback, and are so pleased to hear that your Andara stay was an unforgetable experience, from the beach lounge, to SILK restaurant and beyond, we are glad to know Andara was part of your holiday choice. We do hope you will visit with us again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2012

We spent one week in 5 bedroom villa with my family: my husband and his 3 daughters with their spouses. The villa was amazing.... there was a lot of space and privacy to everyone, nice decor and everything was very clean and stylish. Facilities can easily be rated to be 5 star facilities. All the staff was professional, nice and they really gave a feeling their first priority is to ensure their customers are in good hands and happy! We really do not have nothing to complain.

I had my 50-year anniversary party in the villa - we had a cheaf making enormously tasty barbeque for us. I could not wish to have anything more - it was amazing.

Me and my husband have visited in many 5 start residencies - and we can truly recomment Andara villas to to be the one of the most highly rated ones!

Everything was perfect - during the whole vacation. Could not expect it been any better anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJN578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you for you comments and feedback. We are extremely pleased to hear that your 50th birthday celebrations went very well, and glad to know that Andara was part of this and helped to make it what you wanted and more. We very much hope you will visit us again soon. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Stayed in a penthouse pool suite, with roof top pool. Rooms very spacious, hardware and finisihing of the highest quality. Well maintained and clean. No complaints here. I would recommend to stay either in the Villas (if large group) or the penthouse pool suites. The other suites lack a view and seem rather dark/not very private due to proximity to the common areas/walkways.

The biggest compliment goes to Silk Resturant. Superb. I would say its the best Thai food I have had anywhere counting top restaurants in Bangkok. Service was very good. Eating there was a highlight of each day. And on top, the prices were very reasonable. Worth coming back for the food alone.

However the general service levels at the resort is immature. Staff were friendly and sincere, but the general processes, supervision and efficiency needs improvement. Eg, housekeeping was rather slow, rubbish that other 'considerate' guests had left outside their room adjoining ours took a long time to be collected, checkout contained various billing mistakes, etc etc. The Spa was not that good, esp compared with other top tier spa/resorts.

One significant complaint was the use of out-sourced Vans to/from Airport. The resort charges a very expensive fee for this (over 100 USD one way) which is very expensive by local standards (and compared to other 5 star hotels). Yet they use local hire vans which one can prob hire for 1/4 the price if not less. They not punctual, no seatbelts on some, not particularly friendly drivers, no refreshments etc. Not a great first impression on arrival at the airport. Surely a hotel pickup from this level of resort at this price should be with in-house cars/drivers (eg like Banyan Tree).

Overall it was a very good trip but the service improvements would make it even more distinctive.

Room Tip: Top floor for the suites are worth it as more airy and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NGG-22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel M, General Manager at Andara Resort and Villas, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Thank you kindly for your feedback regarding your April stay. We have noted the areas requiring improvement, and will certainly aim to ensure the necessary head of departments are briefed to ensure only the best service or options are what is delivered to our guests (from spa, to transportation). On a positive note we are thrilled to hear your comments for SILK restaurant. We do hope we get the opportunity to see you visit us again. Best regards, Daniel Meury, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
3.2 km away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 35 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
16.6 km away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
23.1 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#1 of 93 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
16.5 km away
The Shore at Katathani
The Shore at Katathani
#1 of 57 in Kata Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,086 reviews
7.1 km away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 309 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andara Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andara Resort and Villas

Property: Andara Resort and Villas
Address: 15 Moo 6 | Kamala Beach, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kamala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#1 Spa Hotel in Kamala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kamala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Andara Resort and Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Andara is an ultra-deluxe villa and residences resort at Kamala Beach (Phuket) set on a hill rising gentle from the Andaman Sea offering stunning ocean views. Minutes away are Phuket’s best restaurants, boutiques, world-class golf resorts and other attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca and Priceline so you can book your Andara Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andara Resort And Villas Hotel Kamala
Andara Resort And Villas Kamala, Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing