We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunprime Kamala Beach
Ranked #5 of 35 Hotels in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed 6 nights at this hotel, and we were very happy with the location. The hotel sits by the beach, and our room was virtually by one of the pools next to the beach. The room was clean and confortable, and had a decent size balcony. I particularly didn't like the door that connects different rooms, as it does reduce privacy quite a lot. I didn't try to change the room or complain about it, so I cannot comment about the staff potential reaction. Check in was fast and the staff helpful. Check out could be faster, but they had to send someone to check the mini-bar before we could leave.

If I ever go to Kammala beach again, I'll definitely stay at this resort.

Room Tip: Do rent a scooter at the hotel, and go to all the beaches along the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank airness1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,403)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

530 - 536 of 1,403 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

We spent two weeks at the Kamala beach resort in the Sunprime resort. We had a free room upgrade, service was fantastic and friendly across the board. The hotel restaurant is a bit pricey but there are loads of restaurants along the beach which made up for that. We had a tsunami evac due to the earthquakes recently and the staff were amazing throughout the whole episode. Five star quality, loved it and we will be back!

Stayed: April 2012
4  Thank Karin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed for 6 days at the Kamala Beach resort in April.

I was a little apprehensive staying here as I normally stay in 5 star hotels, but had to budget on this part of my trip around Thailand, as have other holidays planned this year.

We stayed in the Grand Deluxe Pool room and was pleasantly surprised. It was a nice big room. Nice and light. It had a flat screen tv. Big fridge, safe, plenty of clothe storage. Modern furnishings. Ok, it wasn't super stylish, it looked as if it had been kitted out at Ikea. But for the price we paid, I found it very comfortable. The bathroom was modern and clean. It had a nice big balcony with table and chairs. Nice views over the very large pool area.

The hotel is big.The grounds were nice. Lots of pools. Always plenty of sunloungers round the pool. We never had a problem finding one. We never went on the beach as they weren't free.

The breakfast was ok. There was a massive choice, but unfortunately cheap ingredients. I would have preferred less of better ingredients. The food at the hotel for lunch and dinner was suprisingly cheap for a hotel, and pretty good. We tried the food on the beach restaurants but found them poor. Maybe we chose badly. The main little street in Kamala has a reasonable selection of bars and restaurantts, but we didn't have great food to be honest. Have had much better in other areas of Thailand. So was dissappointing.

We really liked the hotel bar. It's open air, with a lovely breeze and had a nice feeling to it. We met lots of other guests at the end of the night.The bar overlooks the resteraunt which overlooks the beach, and this is a really nice area at night. Really nicely furnished. Tasteful.

I didn't like Kamala much if I'm honest. I found the beach really scruffy and alot of the restaurants too. I went there hoping to eat on the beach, (as I normally do in Thailand), but they were scruffy and the food was poor. The restaurants didn't seem to take any pride, ie they would be surrounded by rubbish and not bother to try and tidy there part up. I thought this was shabby. I also didn't find the people in Kamala that friendly either compared to where I have travelled in Thailand.

Overall, I would definately recommend this hotel. Its great value for money. Good location. Friendly staff. I just didn't like Kamala. I think there are better parts of Thailand.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank sweetpeakirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

we didnt stay at kamala beach hotel but had dinner one night at their hotel restaurant prime kitchen. seriously one of the most well priced hotel restaurants i have come across - we sat near the beach side of the rest and watched the sun go down as we ate great food and had really good staff. very clean and the resort looked pretty good - toilets were amazingly clean for such a big hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fritzcAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed here for a week with my boyfriend and it was such a nice hotel. Right on the beach. The food in the restaurant was good, the rooms were nice and clean. There are no children allowed to stay at the resort so it was quite which was good!! Overall I would recommend this place!!

Room Tip: Maybe pick one facing the pool or the beach because the other rooms face the car park but if you are...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank laceyhGoldCoast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at Kamala Beach resort for one week. This is a lovely resort, I would rate it 4 star. The rooms were clean and a good size. The hotel buffet breakfast was good although not as extensive as other resorts I have stayed at in the past, never the less it had a good varity of foods.
This resort is ideal for couples, 70% of the guests were over 40 years of age. Guests from Europeans, Scandinavians, Russians and Australians.

No children under 15 hrs in this resort, made for peace and quiet at breakfast and around the pools.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Location is ideal away from the hustle and bustle of Patong, but a close taxi ride if you wanted to go shopping.
The beach is lovely, very clean, with a few shops along the walkway.
Plenty of places for a one hour back massage, and cheap us$10.
This hotel price for the week was very reasonable, I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank inelew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

We didn't stay at this resort, so are only reviewing on the buffet restaurant really. Awful, noisy, crowded, hot, bland.
The 'entertainment' was entertaining, but for the wrong reasons.
Sorry, not our kind of thing at all.
Fino restuarant though - is fab! Can't find it on here to review separately. Delicious food, friendly and helpful staff. Worth going to.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank five5Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kamala
1.2 km away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
1.0 km away
Swissotel Resort Phuket Kamala Beach
15.6 km away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa
22.6 km away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.6 km away
Ayara Kamala Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunprime Kamala Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunprime Kamala Beach

Address: 96/42-3, Moo 3, Kamala, Kathu, Phuket 83150, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Kathu > Kamala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kamala
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kamala
#6 Family Hotel in Kamala
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kamala
Price Range: $90 - $1,868 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunprime Kamala Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 353
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunprime Kamala Beach is a place where life is calmer, where every day is a break from everyday life and where time for once is on your side. Children probably think that this is a totally boring place. Adults traveling without children describe this as simply wonderful. We have adjusted all our services according to your interests, especially those of you appreciating good food, wine, wellness and a calm relaxed atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunprime Kamala Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) Hotel Kamala
Kamala Beach Hotel
Sunprime Kamala Beach Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing