We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,625)
Filter reviews
1,625 results
Traveller rating
811
541
176
73
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
811
541
176
73
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviews saga rep beach wing deluxe pool view room kamala beach beach front non smoking mini mart large hotel low season sister hotel thai massage pool restaurant swim up bar nice beach pool towels great resort thai food
Filter
Updating list...
233 - 238 of 1,625 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2016

This was our first trip to Thailand. We travelled with Saga and their reps, especially Tom, made all transfers, checking in, getting to know the hotel and exploration of the area very easy.
The complex is large with the reception / gym, / shop area, many accommodation blocks, 2 restaurants, 4 pools and gardens between the road and the beach. Apart from one gloomy corridor, however, moving between areas was pleasant enough.
Our room was nearer the beach end of the complex, with our own balcony terrace and a few steps down to the path. The room was not huge but pleasant, with air conditioning, a large bed, sofa, coffee table, dressing table and TV and a large fridge. The bathroom was small but adequate with shower over bath, toilet and wash basin. Sadly no hot water was connected to the basin but the shower was fine.
The pools were lovely and generally quiet, two with swim up bars. Sunbeds were available but could not be reserved with towels until after 9.30 a.m. so if you wanted a favourite spot, you had to sit on it until then. Thai massage was available in a thatched house and very nice - the same price as on the beach but much more comfortable and private. The grassed areas were attractive and well kept. Activities such as boules were available and there were sessions of aqua-aerobics in one pool.
The buffet breakfasts were excellent and available in both restaurants. Lunches could be ordered as "takeaway" from both restaurants. The pool restaurant in the middle of the complex did not serve lunch but offered a buffet style evening meal. This provided good choice and a nice setting, with a group often providing music. The beach-front restaurant offered a wide choice from the menu for both lunch and dinner. This restaurant had a lovely setting near to the beach and between pools. The staff were lovely and appreciated our attempts to speak Thai - "Sawadee". They looked after guests well and tried to meet special requests.
There were special events - we shared a Valentine's Day dinner and entertainment. This was a huge buffet dinner, followed by a show (lady-boys) and then music. A small group provided music in the bar on other evenings.
Sunprime was an adults only hotel. Guests could also access pools and the restaurant at the sister hotel, Sunwing - a family hotel - next door.
There was a lounge area near the beach-side restaurant and a bar just outside with seating on a terrace by the pool.
The hotel gate opened onto the beach-side path. In front and stretching to left and right was the wide sandy Kamala beach. A short stroll gave access to beach-side stalls and restaurants and over a bridge through an arcade brought us back to the town.
Buses regularly stopped outside the hotel so it was easy to travel to other towns in the area. Long tail boats could be hired to tour the coast. We took other excursions from the area, visiting temples, viewpoints and Phukhet town (lively with Chinese new year). We also took a speedboat day to the Phi Phi Islands.
This was a lovely holiday and we are more than satisfied. If you have never been to Thailand, this might be a good place to start.

Room Tip: Rooms nearer the beach were pleasant and gave good access to evenings in the restaurant and bar.
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank donaldsdaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunprime Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2016

Dear Donaldsdaughter,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a very detailed review of your first time holiday here in Phuket and in our resort! We are happy to read that you left satisfied!

Indeed, Phuket offers a wide range of excursions and it is good to know that you managed to experience some of them.

Similary, Sunwing Kamala Beach guests are also allowed to access the pools and restaurants here at our adult resort Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort) if they are 15 year old and above.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us! We hope that we could welcome you again should your travel plan brings you back here in Phuket.







Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2016

I just arrived home from 10 days at the Kamala Beach Resort and it was great. This is my 3rd time at this resort and the location is perfect. Kamala Beach is clean and not overly busy but the beach has great restaurants and a few market stalls along the way. The frozen fruit smoothies for sale along the beach front are amazing and my favourite little place to eat along the beach is called "The Corner." It is located right beside the little bridge. Kamala is a wonderful place to stay. Lots to do, suits any age group, and if you want to get some clothing made - go to Sonny who has a shop within the hotel, called Andy Tailor. He is a high quality tailor and very quick. I got a skirt made in 24 hours. Thanks Sonny it was a pleasure dealing with you. The junior suites are huge with 2 bathrooms, and the Friday night market across the road is fantastic. I will definitely be going back to The Kamala Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank di m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunprime Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Dear di M,

Thank you for sharing your "KAMALA BEACH RESORT THE PERFECT LOCATION" review!

Our location is something that we take a real great pride and we are glad that you appreciated it! Kamala is indeed a perfect place to be. Its tranquility brings out the best to all travelers that wish to have a quiet and peaceful holiday experience.
In addition to the Friday Night Market there is another local market (every Wednesday and Saturday afternoon) located just opposite Big C that you should also definitely try out next time.

It was indeed a pleasure to have you with us here!We look forward to seeing you again!







Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2016

My wife and I stayed here for about one week. A very nice place to have a holiday, without any kids. Very good breakfast and restaurants, enaugh big pools and sunbeds, short way to a beautiful beach, nice rooms, cheap massage and nice places to eat just around the hotel. Only one thing was unexpected. There was no free wifi in the rooms. It was free wifi in the lobby, quite well, but I wished we could have it also in the rooms. Will we go back? YEs, certainly. A hotell without noicy kids is a dream.

Stayed: February 2016
1  Thank Magne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunprime Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2016

Dear Magne H,

Thank you for sharing your "Happy holiday" review subsequent to your recent stay here at Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)!

We are glad to note that you appreciated everything that our resort has to offer and made you left satisfied. .

As we provide free wifi internet to all our returning guests, then yes, you will definitely have it on your not so soon return! We will see you again!







Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 13, 2016

Room, food (good variety of European and Thai menus) staff, amenities, pools, beach, all very good. Plenty to and some interesting excursions available. Massages on the beach get rid of those winter aches from the UK. All in all well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Poolside is best
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank christopher008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunprime Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear christopher008,

Thank you for providing us with a positive review of your recent stay here at Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)!

It was a pleasure to have you with us here and we are happy to note that you liked everything that our resort has to offer.

We hope we could welcome you back should you have plans of visiting Phuket again in the next coming season.






Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2016

This hotel is so big, this is the adult side of the two hotels Sunwing and Sunprime. They have so many swimming pools but it is quite a walk from the lobby building to the beach, so you need to be agile. They offer a lot of gym classes and so if your a keep fit lover this is a good hotel for you. The hotel and gardens are spotless,but the staff are not as friendly as other hotels we have stayed in. We paid for a pool view room but you would need to remove a couple of trees and shrubbery to see the pool, we asked to be changed but they would not move us. They have signs up saying no reservation of beds before 9.30 and they do implement this. Although more needs to be done as people were reserving beds most of the day and not using them. They have a restaurant that overlooks the beach which serves good food. Kamala is a lovely resort with a good selection of bars and restaurants on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue3033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Spokesperson, Customer Relations at Sunprime Kamala Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2016

Dear Sue3033,

Thank you for sharing your "Great Location" review subsequent to your recent stay here at Kamala Beach Resort (a Sunprime Resort)!

Kamala is indeed a perfect place to be. Its tranquility brings out the best to all travelers that wish to have a quiet and peaceful holiday experience.

Thank you again for your comments regarding the staff and the pool view which we have passed on to the respective departments. Also, we are sorry as due to our resort was fully booked during your stay, we were not able to move you to another room.

We hope that the positive views of your stay will encourage you to come back and share another rewarding holiday experience with us!






Kind regards,
Edissa C. Royo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews