We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views at The Deck”
Review of THE DECK

THE DECK
Reserve with Chope
THE DECK is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #17 of 153 Restaurants in Kamala
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$45
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: *Just Opened in December 2014* Situated on the Andaman water at Kamala Beach, THE DECK restaurant embraces expansive views across the water spanning from the southern point of Kamala Beach to the Northern point of Kamala Beach let's not forget also the mountain views. THE DECK features a stylish bar and variety of dining options including banquette lounges, traditional seating, communal tables and dining on the outdoor terrace. The venue is perfect for sharing small plates with friends, celebrating special occasions and group functions. THE DECK Restaurant menu is designed by Kevin B Jamieson GM & EC as a range of dishes for individuals or as a shared selection. Executive chef Kevin B Jamieson has been with The Deck since it opened. Previously working as head chef at the decadent Le Meridien, Movenpick and many more around the world his vast knowledge and experience ensures THE DECK is at the forefront of Phuket dining. THE DECK Restaurant is 'the new hot spot' on the Kamala Beach Phuket scene. Bienvenue au Deck Restaurant nous parlons Francais juste a demander pour Kevin! Notre cuisine consiste de poisson locale et viande avec une fusion Asiatique et Thai. Merci
Reviewed September 1, 2018 via mobile

The view is beautiful at The Deck. In the evening the lights of Kamala are a beautiful backdrop to the clean and fresh decor.
Staff dress in white sailor uniforms and the blue tablecloths are inviting.
The menu is Thai fusion so if you strictly want Thai food then perhaps this is not the place for you.
We ordered the deep fried vermicelli and coconut prawn entree to share followed by duck and scallop mains. Presentation was beautiful and the flavours were lovely. My duck was very tough unfortunately but the meal was beautiful to look at and the flavours were good.
Service was attentive and helpful. Prices were reasonable being higher than average around Kamala but the stunning location and presentation was very nice as well as being conveniently located to our hotel.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank coralhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 362 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2018 via mobile

We didn’t finish the satay skewers, they were dry and either old or undercooked - we couldn’t tell. The fish was mostly batter (think Dagwood dog at the show) and the sandwich was barely passable I’m afraid.

I hesitated in writing this, however for the Aussie price that was paid it should have been a lot better, if the price was 1/3-1/2 lower it would have been acceptable food.

There are a lot of positive reviews so hopefully we just got it at a bad time.

*edit*

After two deleted posts from the establishment and the owner - it appears the price is for the apparently amazing view.

If you’re not interested in paying a premium for a view, best avoid this place.

Furthermore if you’re staying up the hill (Cape Sienna etc), not only is the view better but the food and service is better again - the price being fairly similar for the items we ordered.

I’m sorry that the owner took my comments personally rather than considering them as constructive.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Aaron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018

perfect place with atmosphere and unique sea view. international kitchen offers experience as not usual in this area

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank Marcel6565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

This place is beautiful, and the food is excellent. I had the pleasure of meeting the chef who is quite well known in Thailand and around the world.
I highly recommend a visit.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Virlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018 via mobile

On our last evening in Kamala we were looking for something special and found it by deciding to dine at The Deck. We thoroughly enjoyed our prawn dishes and the seafood platter. Attentive service and reasonably priced wine. Only suggestion if ordering the seafood plate, consider an entree or a side dish to go with it. Given the standard and quality it was well worth what we paid.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Ljrc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to THE DECK? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing