We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Secret Ivory Farm & Guest House
Nearby Hotels
Misty Wood Resorts & Restaurants(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Deep Woods(Masinagudi)
US$127
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Glen View Resort(Masinagudi)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
De Rock Jungle Living(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Safari Land Farm & Guest House(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Bear Mountain Jungle Resort(Masinagudi)(Great Value!)
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Jungle Paradise(Masinagudi)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
InnTheWild(Masinagudi)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
82
44
9
4
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
44
9
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewselectric fenceadequate spacenight safariroom facingwild animalsmr omleft turnstaff courtesyduring weekendsclouds passingreasonable ratesperfect combinationworth every penny spentvery pleasant stayvisit this placethrilling experienceflip side
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed at The Secret Ivory for 1 night. We had actually planned a Ooty trip from 24th, but then the whole family got another bonus holiday on 23rd. So we wanted to do something light, and I chose Secret Ivory for a Tree House Stay. The booking experience was very easy and quick with Ms.Manis help.

TREE HOUSE: When we arrived at the Secret Ivory they had heavy rain and storm just couple of days earlier, so we were given the option to stay in a suite. My family readily accepted the offer.

ANIMALS: I must say that this was one of the places thats very close to the nature with several birds and animals visiting the resort. We spotted Deers, Peacocks and Langurs in the campus. The sight of a weaver bird building its nest in the tree right outside our cottage was feast to our eyes. In the early morning, just sit at the portico and close your eyes; you could hear several birds chirping in the woods - peacocks, myna, weaver bird, little egret, ibis, gheese and ducks.

SAFARI EXPERIENCE: We went for the lake and the jungle safari in the road that leads to the Moyar Shutter Dam. We were advised by Ms.Mani to do this at 5pm as that was the right timing based on their experience. We spotted a couple of elephants near the bamboo plants, and the driver stopped our jeep. We waited patiently for about 15 minutes and saw a group of about 13 elephants crossing the road. This was the best part of our visit! The pricing for Safari was 100% expensive than what was offered in the road side; but thats the cost of convenience when you get picked up and dropped right at the place of your stay :)

FOOD: We predominantly had South Indian food at Secret Ivory, and I should say that the food was very homely and the kids liked the rice, rasam, potato curry for the dinner; and the dosa, cocount chutney and the sambar for the breakfast. I must mention that the Tea was very good and blended well with the atmosphere. Me and my wife especially enjoyed the tea at the portico of our room by watching the Deers and the Peacocks across the fence. The food was very aptly priced. No complaints.

CLEANLINESS: The suite that was offered to our family of 4 was clean, bathrooms were tidy. I liked the sense of cleanliness when the hostess removed her slippers outside when she entered the room to help us have a look at the same.

I had the opportunity to have a brief chat with Mr.Om Balan who is the owner of the place. Glad to know that a localite is trying to develop this place in a very eco friendly manner.

Room Tip: Choose the Suite or the Elephant Room
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SivaBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ombalan s, Manager at Secret Ivory Farm & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Siva sir,
Thank you very much for taking out time from your busy schedule to write such an awesome wonderful and elaborate review for us. You have so wonderfully highlighted each and every factor and we are obliged for that.
It was great having you and family and your two adorable daughters who enjoyed their stay. We are happy that you preferred to chose the brand new suite room and enjoyed the forest and closeness to the forest right from the verandah. Yes sir, your video of a herd of 13 elephants crossing the road is so lively and a guideline for our other guests how to enjoy the forest with patience peacefully and calmly without disturbing the jungle life.
The safari which we offer is totally different from the on-road safari and you have experienced this too, our driver has lots of patience and knows the forest and animal movement so well.
Thanx sir we always remove our footwear before we enter the rooms which we offer to our guests, to maintain cleanliness and hygiene.
We are extremely happy that you liked the very homely food we offer and nice to know the kids enjoyed the food too.
Once again thanx for the wonderful heart warming review and we hope and look forward to stay of you all once again sometime in near future.
Warm regards
Ms.Mani
(On behalf of Mr.Ombalan(owner)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

When our team decided for outing after heavy workload at office,we planned for Masingudi outing and called "Secret Ivory Resort".Got a good deal from them and finalized the place.We team of 21 were welcomed by Ms Mani care taker of Secret ivory with mouth watering lunch.Peacock and Deer also joined to greet us.They have arranged night safari in Jeep and we returned back around 8 and then joined Fire Camp followed by spicy dinner (perfect combination for Masingudi's chill weather).Next day early morning we headed to mountain visit through jungle and then returned resort for breakfast.
Overall we all were extremely happy with the location of the resort and beyond expectation service.Worth visit place with group.
Thank you very much Ms Mani for your caring hospitality :)

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adarsh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ombalan s, Manager at Secret Ivory Farm & Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 5 days ago

Dear Adarsh sir
Though a bit late for responding due to technical reasons, we are extremely thankful to you for the wonderful review. We love the caption "Secretly lost in jungle" very thoughtful of you.
Let us thank you again for chosing to come to our resort the second time, it is an honour to have guests like you and it was wonderful having your team, each and every member of your team were so sportive, lively, adventrous and mingled so well with us staff. It was a pleasure serving you. It makes us happy that our guests leave happy fully satisfied and we look forward to have you, family and group once again sometimes in near future.
Thanx for mentioning the hospitality and its our duty as well as responsibility to cater to your comfort.
Best regards
Ms.Mani

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We were a family of 5. We spent two nights at the resort. We stayed at the Tree House and a Double Bed Cottage. The place is at the edge of the jungle...very peaceful and serene. You could hear the birds chirping, saw a malabar squirrel eating fruits from the tree, the peacocks joined us while having breakfast..they were wild peacocks that came in from the jungle. The place was very calm and peaceful. The stay at the Tree House was a beautiful experience. It had toilet facilities too. The cottage room was clean. Solar hot water was available round the clock. The food was good. The people were very helpful. Enjoyed some fishing by a stream and the children were delighted to catch some small fish. Its a simple place with all amenities. No luxuries. Overall we enjoyed our stay at the resort and would gladly recommend it to those who enjoy being with nature and like some peace and quiet.
Manmohan

Room Tip: If you are a couple u would enjoy staying at the Tree House.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Manmohan1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

My second visit to Masinagudi and my first stay at Secret Ivory. Well i can safe that this is nothing short of a splendid view close to nature and nature everywhere. Rooms sport a good modern look with plenty of place to rest around. Right from the booking till the see off, whole hearted thanks to Ms. Mani who displayed exemplary commitment, follow up and communication with guests. Mine and my friend s family were overwhelmed with the hospitality . A must visit place to have a complete relaxed holiday for 2 days.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank Blenbond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

I am with my wife had a trip to masanagudi last week. We called and booked Secret Ivory as my friend suggested. It was worth a visit. Very good place to relax. We could see the deers and peacocks behind the room from balcony. Food is also good. Mani mam helped us and so kind. We regret only thing that we couldn't extend our stay for a day. Definitely i will visit and will recommend for my friends too.

Thanks,
Jomson.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jomson G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews