We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecinnamon bunsgreat hostscosta ricaown private patiowonderful couplefamily vacationbeach chairsevery morningsomanelsonsuiteoceanbeachespotreroflamingotrees
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 118 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The place -absolutely beautiful right on the beach, sunsets to live for! When you stay here you become part of the Mel and Ray family and they are so much fun. We dropped in on them out of nowhere and they were so wonderful and accomodating, we couldn't have been any luckier! It is obvious they truly love their visitors down to every last detail. The place was amazing, our room so sleek and comfy. Our hosts had great suggestions for area nightlife(which was awesome) and daytime activities as well. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

We had a great time on the Lazy Lizard sunset cruise with you guys. There are many other great activities in our area to enjoy when you come back. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Wow, what a place! Casa Melray is a beautiful place to stay in Playa Portrero, in fact it's the only place we'd stay at. The pristine beaches and heartstopping sunsets. We stayed in the Penthouse at Casa Melray, its gorgeous, fully loaded, immacutely clean and top notch. There is tons of space with a wraparound balcony that gives you a view on three sides. Mel and Ray, our hosts were so hospitable, gracious, knowledable and fun that you felt like your with family. My husband went on the Kayak Tour that they have available and he loved it. We loved laying by the perfect pool or sitting at the bar or just walking down the beach. There is so much to do and see in Costa Rica that we will have to come back and we highly recommend Casa Melray it's a 5+ star. Thanks Mel and Ray

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Thank you so much for a wonderful start to our trip. Mel & Ray couldn't have been more wonderful. We arrived late at night and they welcomed us in with beers and told us to stop by a blues fest up the street. Next thing we knew we were surrounded by our new Canadian friends. One of our bags was lost by the airport. They were unbelievably helpful. Take the Lazy Lizard boat ride, relax in the hammock, play with Soma the dog. It really is heaven. Will recommend everyone go visit Casa Melray. Don't be scared of the gravel roads. It's all part of the slowing down process.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

We are blessed with many great music events in the our area such as live bands and Karaoke. I hope the rest of your travels in Costa Rica were memorable as well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Where do you start to describe the perfect vacation? My husband and I went to Costa Rica to attend a family wedding. We arrived at Casa Melray very late in the evening, but even then we could tell that we had happened upon a beautiful thing.... and were greeted by both Mel and Ray....our most perfect hosts. They made sure that were were comfortable in our beautiful, clean, modern room and that we wanted for nothing. When we awoke the next morning (after a wonderful night sleeping on the most comfortable mattress ever!) we opened our patio doors and to our amazement....we were right there on the beautiful, white, clean, sandy beach! We were in heaven!! The beautiful plants and grounds of Casa Melray were kept by Ricardo, who kept us informed of any wildlife (monkeys, raccoons, parrots, frogs, etc.) and opened fresh coconuts with his machete for us. You have never tasted a better drink than fresh coconut milk, right out of the coconut!! We stayed at Casa Melray for 1 week and really hated to leave. However, we are already planning our trip for next year....and for sure, we wouldn't stay anywhere other than Casa Melray. Mel and Ray made our visit something extraordinary. Love you guys!!! 5 stars ++++

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suecerullo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2011

Mel and I really appreciate your review. We really enjoyed meeting you and sharing a few laughs and experiences. We look forward to seeing you next year. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 8, 2011

Highly recommended. My wife and I went in February for a couple of weeks and had a great time. Beautiful place, great sunsets and great people. The hosts Mel and Ray went out of their way to ensure you were always looked after. Everything was top notch, it was like paradise. Rooms were clean, spacious and very comfortable. If your looking for a place to go and relax and take your mind off the hectic pace of everyday life this is the place to go. We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded November 12, 2011

Costa Rica offers many great quiet beaches in close vicinity. You often have the beach to your self and no one will be trying to sell you necklaces or pottery.
The climate is perfect with little chance of any rain from December until May.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews