We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecinnamon bunsgreat hostscosta ricaown private patiowonderful couplefamily vacationbeach chairsevery morningsomanelsonsuiteoceanbeachespotreroflamingotrees
Filter
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 118 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Casa Melray was a wonderful experience. Mel and Ray were so amazing and warm. They made us feel like we were at home. Up in the penthouse we got to experience the wonderful view of the pool and the ocean because of the wrap around balcony. We enjoyed waking up to sunlight every morning and watching sunset on the beach. Mel and Ray were glad to tell us all the hot spots of costa rica. The trip would not have been the same without their advice. We really enjoyed hanging out by the pool and the bar at night. Best of all was experiencing sunset with Mel and Ray at their apartment. We were really happy to see that the house was really what is shown in the pictures, even better! It is beautiful. Mel, Ray, Steve, Luiga, Nelson, and all the people staying in the house made our trip.

Room Tip: The penthouse was big and private with a nice size kitchen!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bobby M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We had heard how great Casa Mel Ray was from other family members that had stayed there so were looking forward to our vacation. We weren’t disappointed! We just got back from two weeks there and it was the vacation of a life time! The accommodations surpassed our expectations. We stayed in the frog suite ocean front with our own private patio to watch sunrises and sunsets on. The air conditioned suite was spacious with a luxurious king size bed, sitting area, big screen TV, wifi so we could stay in touch with our kids at home, even a bar fridge, lots of cupboard and closet space, immaculate bathroom with walk in shower, a room safe to keep our valuables in. When we arrived, there was cold beer in the fridge and a bottle of wine awaiting us. We were able to do laundry right at Casa Mel Ray as well half way through our holiday which was a life saver.
We arrived late at night and were glad we had followed Mel and Ray’s advise to take Ecotrans from Liberia to their house – wouldn’t want to drive in the dark first thing . We arranged for a rental car after we arrived but should have followed Mel’s advise to arrange online in advance as we did not get as good a rate as some of their other guests that followed her advise.
Potrero is a small fishing village in the Guanacaste area and we were impressed with the number of beautiful beaches – we spent many morning walking the beach with Soma – Casa Mel Ray’s friendly watchdog and cattle herder, watching the fishermen, even doing Tai Chi to the sounds of the ocean - Steve Gertz (Mel and Ray’s son) took our group out sea kayaking from the beach in front of the house and we were surprised how easy and comfortable they were- you sit on top and pedal instead of only paddling and it was an easy pedal over to have lunch at Lola’s. It was so much fun we went again and tried our hand at fishing from the kayaks – Thanks Steve! We preferred the quiet beaches for swimming, snorkelling and boogie boarding but Casa Mel Ray is close to Flamingo Beach if you want jet skis etc and there were paddle board rentals close by , surfing beaches at Tamarindo. So much to do in the area! The weather is perfect – we are used to spending holidays with at least some cold and rainy weather so this was great – spent lots of time in bathing suits and flip flops! The beaches were fantastic but really appreciated Mel and Ray’s pristine pool to revive ourselves after a day of touring or being out at the beach – I was able to keep up my morning lane swimming as the pool is large enough for laps even while other guests swam .
Mel and Ray are great hosts and so knowledgeable and helpful they went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home– thanks for the recommendation to go on the catamaran – the Lazy Lizzard – they arranged the booking for us and we just had to show up and enjoy! The crew were excellent and the cruise included unlimited rum punch and beer, lunch, snorkelling we saw a puffer fish, octopus and many other varieties of fish during our stop at Honeymoon beach Saw manta rays jumping! During our stay Mel and Ray were an invaluable resource on where to go and where to eat and we made the most of our time there. The two weeks went by so fast and we feel like we have made many new friends in Portreo – Mel gave us a tour of the other rooms between guests and we are definitely going to go back and have already recommended the penthouse suite to an engaged couple for their honeymoon and would love to get friends from home share the two bedroom guest house with us for a month. The guest house has a full kitchen, living room and patio area with it’s own barbeque.

Costa Rica is a beautiful country and is so full of life! Casa Mel Ray was the perfect base to tour from. I really appreciated coming home to the luxury and security of Casa Mel Ray after a day of exploring. Now it back to work until next time! Thanks again Mel and Ray for a memorable holiday!

Room Tip: All rooms are luxurious - we were ocean side in the frog suite but if you were travelling with another couple - Mel showed us the guest house - and it has 2 bedrooms full kitchen and dining room, living room and out door patio area with BBQ with view overlooking pool and gardens.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

As we approached the gate to Casa Melray, we knew immediately that we had chosen the most exquisite place, a.k.a, paradise, to spend our vacation. Mel’s warm smile was there to greet us and is forever in our memory. Ray and Mel opened their home and made us feel like we were part of their family, welcoming us that evening for cocktails and view of the most spectacular sunset. Their broad knowledge of the area helped with our many day trips to secluded beaches, fishing, canopy tour, and of course, the afternoon on the catamaran.
I cannot say enough about our accommodations, as the pictures speak for themselves but do not give it justice. Our secluded patio overlooked an inviting swimming pool, where mornings and evenings can be spent discussing the days adventure. No matter which way you turn, you are sure to see a beautiful landscape filled with vegetation, and peaceful beachfront. Not a day went by where Mel and Ray did not check in to make sure that we were comfortable. And if ever in need of anything, rest assured, they have it or at least know where you can find it!
This was definitely one of our most memorable and spectacular trips. My only regret was that it ended too soon. Thank you Ray and Mel for your outstanding hospitality. Casa Melray is one of the best! We can’t wait to come back! Bethany & Vinny

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethanyandVinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

Thanks so much for the great review.
We really enjoyed your company - we will carry on when you return in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 28, 2012

Having spent 2 weeks of our oh so precious vacation days last year, we were impressed enough to come back this year for 2 more weeks. We were not disappointed and this may well be “our spot” for the foreseeable future. On that note this is a long review, The short version is : Words and pictures do not do this place justice , there is a definitive question “would you recommend this to a friend” – we have a definitive answer an emphatic Yes!!! It’s truly a bucket list place to visit.

The longer version starts with a few words about the accommodations themselves. Casa MelRay has a guest house, penthouse suite and 4 , 5 star bedrooms. Daily maid service AC, Wi-Fi and Television also included. There is a beautiful pool in between the quest house and main complex an enclosed outdoor washroom, lounge chairs, plenty of places to bask in the sun or rest in the shade. Out back 2 of the rooms have decks with comfortable rocking chairs overlooking the ocean and there is a common area for everyone right on the beach to watch the nightly majestic sunsets. There were no details overlooked in the facility right down to enough plugins everywhere.

The hosts are incredibly friendly and knowledgeable of the area. Casa MelRay is a relatively new complex however Mel and Ray have been going to Costa Rica since 1995 so they know the area and surrounding areas well. Playa Potrero is a beautiful small town that is unspoiled by the typical tropical tourist towns with vendors accosting you everywhere.

I would recommend renting a car. While there are plenty of places within walking distance and there are shuttle services available for some places – there is so much to see you will want to get out and experiences as much as you can. Mel and Ray can offer suggestions to meet everyone’s needs. On site they offer sea kayaks where you can go fishing, snorkelling or scenic trips. These are pedal Kayaks, very very stable and maneuver with very little effort almost anyone can enjoy this. If you want a leisurely boat ride through a national park, to amazing hikes right up to a thrilling zipline over the Primary forest canopy overlooking a Volcano and a lake and more are short drives away !

Ray and Mel make you feel like family – in fact there were several occasions while we were there that we went for dinner and drinks with some of the other quests. We meet people from Michigan, New York, Ontario and Germany. Everyone was great and we all exchanged Emails to keep in touch – it truly was like a large family atmosphere. Can’t say enough about the hosts and facilities you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The Penthouse suite and 2 of the rooms overlook the ocean
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daacon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The place -absolutely beautiful right on the beach, sunsets to live for! When you stay here you become part of the Mel and Ray family and they are so much fun. We dropped in on them out of nowhere and they were so wonderful and accomodating, we couldn't have been any luckier! It is obvious they truly love their visitors down to every last detail. The place was amazing, our room so sleek and comfy. Our hosts had great suggestions for area nightlife(which was awesome) and daytime activities as well. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kim f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
raymond G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2012

We had a great time on the Lazy Lizard sunset cruise with you guys. There are many other great activities in our area to enjoy when you come back. Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews