We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sugar Beach Hotel(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
US$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Spa
Bahia Esmeralda(Playa Potrero)
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Christina's Bar & Grill, Hideaway(Playa Potrero)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Isolina Beach(Playa Potrero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Casa del Sol Resort(Playa Potrero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cabinas Windsong(Playa Potrero)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Beach front villas(Playa Potrero)
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmel rayguest housecinnamon bunsgreat hostscommunal kitchencosta ricaown private patiowonderful couplefamily vacationbeach chairsboutique hotelevery morningsomanelsonsuiteoceanbeaches
Filter
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 118 reviews
Reviewed February 24, 2014

We only stayed one night here, but it was a definite highlight of our 8 days in CR. I actually found this place when trying to book a kayak fishing trip. Turned out, the guy i booked the fishing trip was busy that day (Valentines Day) , but our hosts made it happen for us!! One of their friends took us out instead and we departed right from the back yard (beach). My hunny loved the guy, they were able to chat it up about all sorts of things. I hooked a humongous fish, and although it got away, we had such a blast.
We returned to shore with Mel waiting for us with our shoes in hand, and once in our room we found she had left us some incredible brownies and heart shaped cookies. They were also so accommodating to let us keep our things in our room while we went to see Tamarindo, so as to not worry about leaving our stuff in the vehicle. Luckily nobody was in our room the following night, so they had no problem with us pushing back our check out time.
We wish we could have stayed here longer - without a doubt the most personable accommodations. The guests were all super friendly too. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Iguana room, it was very nice
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2015

Thanks for the great review. This is a great area for Kayak fishing as the bay is sheltered from the open oceon by several islands. Rooster fishing is especially popular here in this area. Hope you can return and land the big one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Ending my trip here was the the icing on the cake with a cherry.The rooms are comfortable, Their staff of two are very congenial and Mel and Ray are 6+ stars. It is conveniently located within walking distance of stores and restaurants. I have never been made to feel so welcome and included. I'll certainly go back. Costa Rica is a wonderful inviting country.
Costa Rica is an amazing country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

We also enjoyed your visit here with us, and are happy to hear that you loved Costa RIca. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks for the great review.
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We have just returned from Costa Rica and we were so fortunate that our son hooked us up for our stay at Casa MelRay. The owners Mel and Ray welcomed us into their home as if they had know us all of their lives. The fresh fruit and special home baked goods daily were a hit. Whether you want to relax by the pool or stroll on the beach Casa Melray is top notch. The spacious well appointed rooms combined with the comfortable atmosphere makes this an excellent location. We look forward to our next stay at Casa Melray. Mel Ray and Soma thanks for your hospitality.
Joe and Sherry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2014

So glad you had a great stay here at our Casa. Thanks for posting sush a great review. Looking forward to your next visit.
M&R and Soma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

There is not one thing disappointing about this place.The owners are caring wonderful people .Very clean ,very safe ,very comfortable. Mel and Ray are great ! Cinnamon Rolls in AM cookies! I would go back again and will!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank dottiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2015

It was great having you here, and so glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again.Thanks for your nice review.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I just returned from a month in beautiful Costa Rica and stayed at Casa Melray, on two separate occasions. I can't say enough good things about the accommodations and the owners - Mel and Ray.

All the guest rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable and the outdoor space is lovely! The outdoor space includes a well-equipped shared kitchen and pool. Don't let "shared" scare you. You can definitely have privacy here, if you wish or you can certainly enjoy a drink with a new friend. The house also includes a sitting area with perfect views of Playa Potrero.

The staff at the house is top-notch as well as the service/hospitality that you get from Mel and Ray. They are so so kind and go above and beyond in providing you all you need - from airport pickup to recommendations for weekend trips, they are the best!

A must stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2015

Thank you for the great review. We try to make our guests visit to Costa Rica as positive as we can. This is a great country to vist and we really like sharing our experiences.
So glad you enjoyed your visits.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews