We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave ...”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is my second trip to Costa Rica and have been so fortunate to stay at Casa Melray each time. Never have I enjoyed a holiday more. In fact, I asked Mel and Ray if they ever had a guest that never left. They are the most gracious hosts and make you feel like you are part of the family. Each morning you are greeted with fresh fruit in the communal kitchen and more often than not, the fruit is accompanied by fresh baked goodies compliments of Mel. There are so many amazing restaurants nearby, and tons of activities available without ever leaving home or within the surrounding area, from horseback riiding, to white water tubbing or, my personal favourite ... relaxing poolside. Thank you Mel & Ray for making my second trip to Costa Rica as memorable as the first.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

We really appreciate your review. We are blessed with many good local restaraunts in the area, Several are beach side restaraunts, close by, which you can safely walk to. Hope you can visit us again next year.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014

We only stayed one night here, but it was a definite highlight of our 8 days in CR. I actually found this place when trying to book a kayak fishing trip. Turned out, the guy i booked the fishing trip was busy that day (Valentines Day) , but our hosts made it happen for us!! One of their friends took us out instead and we departed right from the back yard (beach). My hunny loved the guy, they were able to chat it up about all sorts of things. I hooked a humongous fish, and although it got away, we had such a blast.
We returned to shore with Mel waiting for us with our shoes in hand, and once in our room we found she had left us some incredible brownies and heart shaped cookies. They were also so accommodating to let us keep our things in our room while we went to see Tamarindo, so as to not worry about leaving our stuff in the vehicle. Luckily nobody was in our room the following night, so they had no problem with us pushing back our check out time.
We wish we could have stayed here longer - without a doubt the most personable accommodations. The guests were all super friendly too. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Iguana room, it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BerBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

Thanks for the great review. This is a great area for Kayak fishing as the bay is sheltered from the open oceon by several islands. Rooster fishing is especially popular here in this area. Hope you can return and land the big one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Ending my trip here was the the icing on the cake with a cherry.The rooms are comfortable, Their staff of two are very congenial and Mel and Ray are 6+ stars. It is conveniently located within walking distance of stores and restaurants. I have never been made to feel so welcome and included. I'll certainly go back. Costa Rica is a wonderful inviting country.
Costa Rica is an amazing country.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dorothy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

We also enjoyed your visit here with us, and are happy to hear that you loved Costa RIca. Hope to see you again next year. Thanks for the great review.
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have just returned from Costa Rica and we were so fortunate that our son hooked us up for our stay at Casa MelRay. The owners Mel and Ray welcomed us into their home as if they had know us all of their lives. The fresh fruit and special home baked goods daily were a hit. Whether you want to relax by the pool or stroll on the beach Casa Melray is top notch. The spacious well appointed rooms combined with the comfortable atmosphere makes this an excellent location. We look forward to our next stay at Casa Melray. Mel Ray and Soma thanks for your hospitality.
Joe and Sherry

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

So glad you had a great stay here at our Casa. Thanks for posting sush a great review. Looking forward to your next visit.
M&R and Soma.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

There is not one thing disappointing about this place.The owners are caring wonderful people .Very clean ,very safe ,very comfortable. Mel and Ray are great ! Cinnamon Rolls in AM cookies! I would go back again and will!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank dottiob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

It was great having you here, and so glad you enjoyed your visit. Hope to see you again.Thanks for your nice review.
Cheers

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I just returned from a month in beautiful Costa Rica and stayed at Casa Melray, on two separate occasions. I can't say enough good things about the accommodations and the owners - Mel and Ray.

All the guest rooms are beautiful, clean and very comfortable and the outdoor space is lovely! The outdoor space includes a well-equipped shared kitchen and pool. Don't let "shared" scare you. You can definitely have privacy here, if you wish or you can certainly enjoy a drink with a new friend. The house also includes a sitting area with perfect views of Playa Potrero.

The staff at the house is top-notch as well as the service/hospitality that you get from Mel and Ray. They are so so kind and go above and beyond in providing you all you need - from airport pickup to recommendations for weekend trips, they are the best!

A must stay!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2015

Thank you for the great review. We try to make our guests visit to Costa Rica as positive as we can. This is a great country to vist and we really like sharing our experiences.
So glad you enjoyed your visits.
Pura Vida

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Just got done with a week in the guest house at Casa Melray, we fell in love with the place and location right away. Mel and Ray are the ultimate in hosts, but in a very unobtrusive manner. From the welcome bottle of wine, fresh cookies and milk to the fully furnished, very comfortable guest house to all of the little things that make this a great place to be housed while exploring the Guanacaste area. They are well equipped with boogie boards, noodles, paddleboards, beach chairs, coolers, beach towels etc. We enjoyed having use of these items as we checked out the numerous awesome beaches in the area. Mel and Ray have also put together a nice summary of beaches, places to eat and things to do in the area which we found very helpful.
Casa Melray is a smaller, intimate, quiet boutique hotel and you do see the other guests in the shared spaces by the pool and outdoor kitchen. All of the guests were great when we were there and we could be social when we wanted but also had our guest house patio so we could have some privacy too.
It's located in an area with a nice array of beach bars and restaurants to choose from if you feel like eating out. We also enjoyed being able to use the well appointed kitchen when we felt like eating in. There are several mercados within walking distance to make that a very viable option. We plan to venture back to Casa Melray again next year!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank cmboese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ray G, Owner at Casa Melray, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Were appreciate the great review and are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our Casa. Looking forward to your return visit to Costa Rica.
Pura Vida
M&R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.4 km away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
414 reviews
0.9 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Bahia Esmeralda
Bahia Esmeralda
#4 of 5 in Playa Potrero
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 km away
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel
2.9 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,151 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Isolina Beach
Hotel Isolina Beach
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $128 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing