We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (118)
Filter reviews
118 results
Traveller rating
117
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsguest housecinnamon bunsgreat hostscosta ricaown private patiowonderful couplefamily vacationbeach chairsevery morningsomanelsonsuiteoceanbeachespotreroflamingotrees
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 118 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2016

When we weren't lounging around next to the pool, Mel was also there to help us quickly arrange rides, tours and even pedicures. She baked goodies almost every day for us to enjoy. The shared kitchen was a great place for hanging out with the hosts and other guests, making the whole stay feel a lot like my girlfriend and I were staying at a good friend's place. The only gripe we had was that the wifi didn't work very well from inside the rooms, but maybe that just helped us hang out in the common areas more anyway.

Either way if we go to Costa Rica again any time soon, we're coming back here.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 21, 2015

We travelled to Costa Rica (first trip) for 3 weeks last April. Split our trip between 2 mountain locations and 2 ocean - one was Casa Melray in Portrero. Very luxurious beautiful house, pool, etc. - and being April we had the entire place to ourselves with the exception of the very friendly and helpful caretakers that were there for the "winter" season. We stayed in one of the main floor oceanfront suites - loved the view through to the ocean and our private little patio. Thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the outdoor kitchen. Even though we were the only guests, we were still supplied with Mel's famous cinnamon buns!, fresh fruit and other goodies. The staff were super friendly as well, and the security was great. All good! Yes we'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: View from top floor is amazing. But beachfront suite nicest! Poolside suites would be noisier if there were other guests.
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank ChiChi1335
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2015

Perfect place to stay and relax ,Thx to Mel and Ray and the crew the hospitality is from an outstanding level ! with the beach on one side of the modern accommodation and a swimming pool and whirlpool at the other side i can't imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 9, 2015 via mobile

It's been the third time i had the opportunity to stay at Casa Melray. As a fisherman i come here to fish for some of the coolest fish in the world. The place is amazing and it's owners are the best hosts a guest could ask for. And a nice staff to make your stay even more convenient. I feel very fortunate to have met these wonderful people. Mel, Ray, you are the best!

Cheers, Ronald

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2015

BEAUTIFUL home on quiet beach....I don't even want to tell you about it, to keep it our own secret get-a-way :-) All the positive adjectives are true about Mel & Ray, Joan & Murray and Leigi & Nelson others have mentioned. They make you feel welcome and give you as much or little assistance as you'd like. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and fresh tropical fruit in our room. The facilities are 1st class, with tasteful Costa Rican art and great views of the mountains or ocean. There are many great restaurants and fun bars within walking distance. We were fine not having a car and felt safe and welcomed by the natives. A couple times we needed, Nelson helped arrange a taxi. Mel had arranged our EcoTrans shuttle from the airport and they were clean, only $50 for a couple one-way, and reliable. July is the "Green season"-which means many clouds and potential for rain. Due to this, we did not see any spectacular sunsets, so can only imagine how much more fantastic this place would be in a sunnier season. I'm sure I'm forgetting some more compliments...but an important one to mention is the beds & pillows are very comfy!! WE hope to be blessed to come back here <3

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVioletD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews