We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1st Class Experience!”
Review of Casa Melray

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Playa Potrero
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Melray
Reviewed 23 January 2016

My parents came upon this boutique resort and wanted to have the entire family celebrate their 50th there - awesome decision! From start to finish, the Casa Melray "experience" was 1st class! Mel started it off with a welcome package email to all of us, along with booking our tours & airport transfers as well as arranging golf carts for all of us to get around the endless beaches.

The "resort" itself defined class in every sense with Mel greeting us at the front gate and getting us settled into our amazing suites & rooms - all the time with Soma the resort dog at her side. We had the Iguana room which faced the ocean & endless sunsets. My sister had a full suite with 2 bedrooms, living room, laundry & full kitchen. My parents lavished in their topside Penthouse room on the roof with endless views of the surrounding area and bay.

The 1st Class "experience" continued with Mel & Ray both inviting our entire family for Christmas dinner - and what a dinner it was! Held in their own personal home built right into the resort, the experience was unforgettable. Thanks again you two! The invites continued for all the guests at the resort to join them and their friends for a New Years party near the beach with endless food, drinks and live DJ - all supplied by Mel & Ray "WOW"!

Top this all off with baked goods & fresh fruit from Mel, free use of their boogie boards and paddle boards and awesome interactions with their staff onsite, we couldn't ask for more!

Thanks again you two & say hi to "Soma" for us!

Room Tip: Best views are from the penthouse, but be aware that is gets very warm on the deck.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank HallZee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2016

When we weren't lounging around next to the pool, Mel was also there to help us quickly arrange rides, tours and even pedicures. She baked goodies almost every day for us to enjoy. The shared kitchen was a great place for hanging out with the hosts and other guests, making the whole stay feel a lot like my girlfriend and I were staying at a good friend's place. The only gripe we had was that the wifi didn't work very well from inside the rooms, but maybe that just helped us hang out in the common areas more anyway.

Either way if we go to Costa Rica again any time soon, we're coming back here.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rowan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

We travelled to Costa Rica (first trip) for 3 weeks last April. Split our trip between 2 mountain locations and 2 ocean - one was Casa Melray in Portrero. Very luxurious beautiful house, pool, etc. - and being April we had the entire place to ourselves with the exception of the very friendly and helpful caretakers that were there for the "winter" season. We stayed in one of the main floor oceanfront suites - loved the view through to the ocean and our private little patio. Thoroughly enjoyed the pool and the outdoor kitchen. Even though we were the only guests, we were still supplied with Mel's famous cinnamon buns!, fresh fruit and other goodies. The staff were super friendly as well, and the security was great. All good! Yes we'd definitely go back!

Room Tip: View from top floor is amazing. But beachfront suite nicest! Poolside suites would be noisier if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mari W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

Perfect place to stay and relax ,Thx to Mel and Ray and the crew the hospitality is from an outstanding level ! with the beach on one side of the modern accommodation and a swimming pool and whirlpool at the other side i can't imagine a better place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2015 via mobile

It's been the third time i had the opportunity to stay at Casa Melray. As a fisherman i come here to fish for some of the coolest fish in the world. The place is amazing and it's owners are the best hosts a guest could ask for. And a nice staff to make your stay even more convenient. I feel very fortunate to have met these wonderful people. Mel, Ray, you are the best!

Cheers, Ronald

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Ronald T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015

BEAUTIFUL home on quiet beach....I don't even want to tell you about it, to keep it our own secret get-a-way :-) All the positive adjectives are true about Mel & Ray, Joan & Murray and Leigi & Nelson others have mentioned. They make you feel welcome and give you as much or little assistance as you'd like. We were greeted with a bottle of wine and fresh tropical fruit in our room. The facilities are 1st class, with tasteful Costa Rican art and great views of the mountains or ocean. There are many great restaurants and fun bars within walking distance. We were fine not having a car and felt safe and welcomed by the natives. A couple times we needed, Nelson helped arrange a taxi. Mel had arranged our EcoTrans shuttle from the airport and they were clean, only $50 for a couple one-way, and reliable. July is the "Green season"-which means many clouds and potential for rain. Due to this, we did not see any spectacular sunsets, so can only imagine how much more fantastic this place would be in a sunnier season. I'm sure I'm forgetting some more compliments...but an important one to mention is the beds & pillows are very comfy!! WE hope to be blessed to come back here <3

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LVioletD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2015 via mobile

We have stayed 7 nights with Mel and Ray, which is at least 4 more than planned. You simply do not want to leave!

Mel and Ray are wonderful hosts, helping out with whatever you need. Our room, the Monkey room sleeps four and is outstanding in terms of both design and comfort. Best beds we have tried in Costa Rica. Air conditioning is top performing and very quiet, which also helps you sleep well.

Pool and common areas are very clean and luxurious, and the friendly staff cleans rooms etc daily.

We had full access to full outdoor kitchen, pool toys, boogieboards and modern outdoor movie system with projector, which made for fun days and nights.

We strongly recommend Casa Melray to anyone visiting this area!

Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
Thank Flinkster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa Potrero
2.4 km away
Sugar Beach Hotel
Sugar Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Playa Potrero
414 reviews
0.9 km away
Bahia del Sol Beach Front Boutique Hotel
0.4 km away
Bahia Esmeralda
Bahia Esmeralda
#4 of 5 in Playa Potrero
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 km away
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
Flamingo Beach Resort And Spa
#1 of 7 in Playa Flamingo
2,151 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Isolina Beach
Hotel Isolina Beach
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
51 reviews
0.3 km away
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
Villaggio Flor de Pacifico
#3 of 5 in Playa Potrero
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Melray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Melray

Address: 1km north of La Perla's Bar | Playa Flamingo, Playa Potrero, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Playa Potrero
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Playa Potrero
Price Range: $128 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to paradise at Casa Melray, a sensational beach front accommodation only steps to Potrero Beach, Costa Rica. Located in the stunning province of Guanacaste, Canadian operated Casa Melray has every amenity you can think of. Enjoy our contemporary boutique guest house or take a dip in our sparkling pool. Feeling adventurous? Try some kayaking, surfing, or nearby fishing. Hungry? You have to try the mind blowing restaurants in the area. Wander down the marina or hop in the car. You're only a five minute drive from the breathtaking tourist destination, Flamingo Beach. You're not dreaming. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Melray Costa Rica/Playa Potrero

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing