We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, great food, great people”
Review of El Castillo

El Castillo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$15
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 27, 2016 via mobile

My kids loved them the ribs - they had two plates of ribs after having Christmas Eve dinner at our hotel. Great cinnamon rolls, burgers, creme brulee. Harlan knows his stuff. The staff were very friendly. We went to Castillo's for lunch and then several times for drinks and dessert including our last night here. Good times.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank elfreedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 306 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2016 via mobile

Want to know where the best places to eat are in town? Ask a local--El Castillo is hands down the best in Potrero! Owner Harlan is a genius in the kitchen. All of the regular menu items are consistently delicious, but I can eat there every night, because the daily specials are always amazing, too! Ari, Becca, Carlos, and the rest of the staff are friendly, perfessional, and just awesome people! You should definitely give it a try. You'll see!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Brooke C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 25, 2016

The food here is consistently fantastic at very reasonable prices. I had the fried steak with potatoes, veg and gravy. There was a generous portion of everything (loads of gravy, so so yummy!!) and the service was wonderful. Its a great spot not to be missed if you're visiting or living here.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank divechic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 22, 2016 via mobile

This restaurant was walking distance from our hotel. We asked for the special fried snapper and it was delicious and fairly priced.

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Sandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 20, 2016

We went for the Friday night ribs. Ribs were tasty and meaty. Wasn't crazy about the scalloped potatoes. They were out of pineapple so no Pina Colada (there's a mercado across the street.) Staff and service were very good.

Date of visit: December 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tracy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Castillo also viewed

Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Potrero, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to El Castillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing