We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Swiio Hotel(Wanhua)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$59
US$55
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$70
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
amba Taipei Ximending(Wanhua)
US$108
US$89
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$76
US$60
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$56
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$41
US$36
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Next Stop Taipei(Wanhua)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 22/07
US$22
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$32/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Meander Taipei Hostel(Wanhua)(Great Value!)
US$46
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
WESTGATE Hotel(Wanhua)
US$148
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveller rating
27
43
20
7
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
27
43
20
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsevery morningother hotelsconvenient locationtea and coffeequeen bedyour luggagebathtublobbycondimentstaipeigelsshoppingdrawersinitiativetoiletclothinghousekeeping
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 14, 2010

Firstly want to compliment this hotel on its name Wonstar or more accurate would be ONE star or even nostars . Stayed here for one night on the 11th of August. Price was way too high for standard of room, about 70 euros for the night. For 70 euros you can get a so much better room than this in Taiwan. Ok the good points first, location excellent, close to the MRT and loads of shops. Room size is fine and free internet( this is standard in most hotels in Taiwan) Bad points, check in girl was rude, didn't seem to care about whether we stayed or not, got to room and it smelled of rotten wood, We were meeting friends that night and returned at about midnight and to our horror we discovered that the walls between rooms were paper thin. We could here everything that was going on next door, talking music a complete nightmare. Also the plumbing in the place is noisy as hell. Neighbors flush the toilet and we can here the aftermath of this for 10 mins. The same can be said after a shower pipes banging loudly, unbelievable stuff. In all the hotels i have stayed in over the years have never heard anything like it. Do yourself a favor and avoid this awful hotel. There is so much better out there in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickopla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Just came back from Taiwan and stay a day at the Wonstar Hotel at the cost of about SG107 (short stay is ok). The lobby is small. The bed is big enough to sleep in with 2 adults and 1 6yr old (average size). The toilet is clean and have a enclose bath tub which my child enjoyed without making the floor all wet. Bonus is that it is less then 10 mins walk to the Ximen MRT. I would recommend this hotel to families of 2adults + 1 child. Comfortable, no need extra bed. They have hair dyer, Refrigerator and In-room coffee, tea and hot water facility. Room internet access free but have to deposit 100NT for the cable (refundable). I think they have a Safety Box. One thing to note is that the air con is "non adjustable" although there is a control panel. I feel that it is fix at 22 to 23 C.
. And the RA channel is not restricted ..so parents ... don't leave the TV remote control to your kids! The Resturant is small size not too fancy ..did not try the food (except the free breakfast) as they are too many food to choose from out there. :P

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Libramouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Stay away! Phoned the hotel to make booking. Was quoted NTD 2280 for deluxe double room and was told standard double room not available. Was sent an email later, with the rate changed to NTD 2880. Personnel adamant that it was the rate. Later found out there is an English language online booking engine with NTD 2280 room still available online. I am glad to bring business somewhere else!

Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
4  Thank kenyalang69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2010

Heard from the locals here is that this is a new hotel. Very poor customer service and quality. Front desk check us in upon arrival and gave us a room key that is belonging to another guest which havent checked out at all. And the next room that given to us is only twin bed. Left a note to the guest in that room just in case to avoid misunderstanding.
Front desk staff even said sorry but never show sincerity to people! Real bad luck to get this kind of hotel. Wanted us to wait for 5 min for another room then wait another 5 min then wait another 5 min...almost 30min gone..

Not worth the money spent or the time and quality rushing..
Terrible + Horrible!
Never will ever check into this hotel when I am coming to taiwan for holiday again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tandavid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Fantastic location. Room was great, small but had just abt everything. (no full length mirror though) toilet even had a jacuzzzi jet lookalike shower. Location cannot be faulted, right in smack of ximending. Great value. Only complaints: toilet had a indestructible wierd smell somewhat like body odour. We didn't think much of it thinking it would dissipate but it lingered for the whole trip. Wasn't unbearable just wierd and slightly unpleasent. Didn't affect the room though. Maybe air freshener will help. Highly recommend the hotel, tv had endless channels, all these for a low price!

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackpig81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews