We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Silks Place Taroko
Nearby Hotels
Liwu Hotel Taroko(Xiulin)(Great Value!)
US$45
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Starry Inn(Xincheng)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Keton Motel Hualien(Hualien City)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,428)
Filter reviews
1,429 results
Traveller rating
1,044
280
77
17
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,044
280
77
17
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschinese restaurantgorge viewwestern buffetretreat floorrooftop pooltaroko national parkhalf day tourset menubreakfast and dinnerginger teaamazing locationset dinnerhotel shuttleping pongkids clubluxury hoteltable tennis
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,429 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel was part of our 5 day tour. It was my least favorite of all our hotels we stayed in. The room was just ok. Did not have a view except of the court yard. The bed was very hard. We ate at their buffet dinner. The dinner was over priced and was not very good. When we left the buffet the lady that took our payment wanted to know why we were leaving so early. It just was not very good. The next morning some of the people working at the breakfast buffet were so rude to the guests it was very uncomfortable. Someone had left the tongs in the noodles and an employee reach over the table and grabbed the tongs and threw them on the plate and then stormed off. A group of people wanted to sit outside for breakfast and finally were able to eat outside after much discussion, but then a worker was so upset with them, she went around talking to other employees about the people that wanted to eat outside. The employee that was upset with them grabbed the place mats and silverware off the inside table and took it outside to them in a very gruff manner. It was not a pleasent feeling to witness these employees and their actions with their guests. Would I stay at this hotel again? Not if I had a choice.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank seethworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy C, Digital Marketing at Silks Place Taroko, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Seethworld,

Thank you for the valued comments and sharing your accommodation experience with us. We regret to learn that your stay at the gorge was not pleasant.

First of all, hotel offers different room types which favored by different guests. If you prefer room types with gorge view, please feel free to contact front desk. We could help with changing other rooms upon requests.

Our staff will put the tongs back on the plate on the station, but we are regret to learn that they provide the service in a rush and not gently. Furthermore, since the outdoor dining seats of the Wellesley restaurant is very limited, it would take some time for our staff to best arrange the seats for a group of guests. We sincerely apologize for the unpleasant dining experience, and we have already forwarded your suggestions to associated department in order to provide the best dining quality.

Last but not the least, located in the Taroko National Park, we are dedicated to provide the warmest and most thoughtful service for travelers. Thank you for the valued comment and we wish to see you again in the nearest future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights in a gorge view room. Our package included dinner, 2 way transfer from Hualien railway station and Old Zhuilu trail hiking.
First, the room: we were not happy with our original allocated room on level 1 (little view of the gorge) and were upgraded to level 2 room for additional SGD30 per night. The additional cost is worth it as the view is much better and we took full advantage by reading on our balcony in the late afternoon.
Rooftop: was our fave place of the whole hotel as the cozy large outdoor sitting surrounded by the mountains were just beautiful. We were able to order a glass of wine and watched the sunset on our 1st day.
Pool and poolside: never swarm in a pool with such a gorgeous setting. The water temperature was 19 celcius on the 2nd day and it was so cold that the hotel was serving hot ginger tea instead of water but I had to swim in the fabulous pool. The nightly singing performance conducted outdoor around a fireplace was great to wind down the evening.
The food: we had both the Chinese set dinner, buffet dinner and breakfast. All delicious with good service. The hostess even remembered we asked for outdoor sitting for dinner (no outdoor sitting at night) and ensured she gave us an outdoor seat at the following breakfast.
Hiking: the arrangement, the picnic lunch provided and the in-house guide were good. Our guide took lots of pictures for us at great photo spots and gave some entertaining history along the hike. She even brought us to see Swallow grotto and the narrowest part of the gorge after our hike. Very good day out.
Surrounding: we bough beers and snacks at the small shops across the car park, and also walked to the top of the temple nearby.
Cons: although our package included return transfer to Hualien railway, our train at 0915am was too early and the hotel had to arrange a cab instead. So we had to pay NTD 1800 for cab fare.
Small hiccups but we had a wonderful stay.
Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Leong48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Silks Place excelled across almost everything - what a well-designed, planned, and beautifully managed hotel.

We were a couple and enjoyed our experience immensely, while also admiring the high-quality care the hotel takes for families with small children.

Fantastic location with beautiful views, emphasised to max effect with a brilliant, open rooftop 25meter swimming pool (lap swimmers - hurray!) combined with hot tubs and a smaller heated pool. Perfect observatory for mountainscape and stars. Adults and kids loved it, day and evening. Complemented by high quality live entertainment and open air cinema most nights.

Food was excellent - in particular the Mei Yuan fixed menu dinner. Book the evening 7:30 session in advance. Beautifully prepared and presented. Buffet breakfast was both copious and of good quality - Chinese and western - with excellent coffee.

We were picked up/dropped off at the Hualien train station - on-time efficient shuttle working perfectly with the schedule of the “Taroko Express” train from Taipei.

We highly recommend taking the short hikes up to the Chinese temple - easy with great views. Also, the Baiyang trail is a short walk up the road (limited sidewalks, requires a bit of care), accessible, flat, and very beautiful.

Note to the management - could do with more outside chairs scattered around property.

Expensive - yes, but worth the price.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is a pretty secluded hotel that is mostly 5 Star. I would give it 5 stars, except for the backwards dinner policy for the buffet restaurant. It’s another place that has 2 time slots, and you have to know when you want to eat, when you check into the hotel. Makes no sense that a hotel of this caliber does this. If the restaurant is open from 5 to 9pm then serve food between 5 and 9 pm. If you show up at 6:30 pm you will be asked to leave by 7. Huh??? Anyway the rest of the experience is good. Love the views from the mountain facing rooms. The infinity pool is on the roof and has spectacular views also.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Travelots61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

It is located in the center of Taroko, exactly what we wanted to relax in a natural . Great and friendly service with the fine breakfast. In addition to the outdoor speactlar swimming pool, it offers different tours to join or just simply walk up to the Buuyoung trails within 20 mins . We had a fantastic time to stay.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Patricia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews