We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (881)
Filter reviews
881 results
Traveller rating
388
304
94
43
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
388
304
94
43
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviews carriage hills full kitchen horseshoe valley the indoor outdoor pool on site hot tub living room minute drive grocery store get away carriage house golf course washer and dryer one bedroom unit off season games room georgian bay
Filter
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 881 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2018

First of all I must add a caveat to this review. I arrived at the resort with a broken ankle in early spring. You would think coming in on crutches would be a dead giveaway that I was not that mobile. However we were originally put on the top level of a three-story walk-up, which I corrected right off the bat. I was obliged with a ground-level sweet. That being said we were on the farthest outskirts from the main facility. The staff was friendly, when we arrived everything was neat and tidy. We were Disturbed a couple of times by people ringing our doorbell which was directly next to our neighbor's doorbell with a shared entrance you could hear people coming and going. The TVs were satellite and unfortunately the weather we had which was raining hurt the signal. Being in the beautiful region of the Horseshoe Valley we were quite secluded. We did not take advantage of the amenities do to my broken ankle however they looked very inviting the indoor pool and hot tub. You could rent movies and there was an arcade and exercise room. There were really no restaurants close at hand the only one being a steakhouse off the resort at a ski hill. We spent time doing day trips the closest Village is being 30 minutes in every direction. Like I said, we were secluded. We were however disappointed when every 3 days you were to get a room cleaning which included taking out the garbage sweeping the surfaces recycling and changing the towels. The dishwasher was left full. The garbage was not emptied and the floors were not vacuumed. We saw a lot of youth running around in service vehicles we were almost hit by one. We did not finish the holidays we left 3 days easily.

Room Tip: Our rooms view was a maintenance yard. I suggest the top level the only problem is it is a three-story walk-up.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. The place is clean and quiet. Rooms have most of the basics but a stove & dishwasher would be a nice addition. We straggled a lot with the room key. The consantly demagnitizing key is an issue when you have to run to the clubhouse to fix it several times per day. On one occasion, we were asked to go back and forth 4 times with a brocken key in order to get back to the room. We were told that the place is currently transitioning to a new system. Hope it will get fixed soon.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled on business
Thank 970nf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Dear n f,

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you found the resort clean and quiet.

I was sorry to read about the troubles you had with your keys demagnetizing.

You are correct in your comment that we are transitioning the resort to a new RFID key lock system that does not de-magnetize.
We have completed all interior doors at both Carriage Hills Resort as well as at our sister property Carriage Ridge Resort as of June 3rd.
The exterior doors will be replaced at both resorts with the new key locks by July 15th.

The room in which you stayed is the second bedroom of a two bedroom suite which we call a studio room and does not come equipped with a dishwasher or a stove a the space does not allow for it in these rooms.
The main one bedroom suite comes complete with full appliances.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again at our resorts.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 8, 2018

Excellent getaway, quiet and serene my unit was clean and staff eager to please.grouds are well maintained. Bed is a king and linens are high quality. My mini kitchen had a microwave, flatware and silverware . There is a grill just outside my unit to grill steaks. Convieniet to recreational activities

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank R R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2018

Dear R R,

Thank you for your trip advisor review following your recent stay at our report.
I was delighted to read your synopsis and pleased to see that the resort seems to have met your expectation in all aspects of your stay.
We appreciate you for your feedback and business and .
hope to see you back soon at the Carriage Hills Resort.

Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2018

We found our studio to be well equipped, clean and well laid out. There were gas grills and picnic tables for outside grilling. It is about 1 1/2 hours to Toronto and 3 hours to Niagara Falls. Very nice museum in Toronto and Niagara Falls were beautiful. The town of Niagara was VERY touristy. We visited several nice surrounding towns: we really liked Orillia (nice shops and restaurants, Collingwood (beautiful rocky coastline with lots of green space) and Niagara on the Lake (lots of flowers and shops).

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with RCI
Thank Dottie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2018

Dear Dottie D,

Thank you for your positive comments about our resort following your recent stay with us.
we hope to have the chance to bring you back for a repeat visit.
Best EJP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2018 via mobile

Second year in a row we had a three night stay at carriage hills. Resort is getting a bit older but they are trying to keep it up to date. Resort staff from check in to cleaning staff to maintenance staff to Robyn in the swim area were awesome and go above and beyond. Staff makes this place so good.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank chrispV8930KH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Esa P, General Manager at Carriage Hills Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2018

Dear Chris P

Thank you for filling out a comment following your long weekend stay with us.
I was delighted to read that you had a great experience second year in a row at our resort and that the interaction with our staff continues to be a positive one.

We have a a lot of renovations in store this year for the resort including exterior painting of balconies and stairwell railings , 350 new recycled plastic sturdy upright patio chairs to 4 of the 8 buildings, the other 4 were done in 2015.

Our white bed conversion will be completed at the end of May in all rooms.
All of our exterior doors will also be replaced by the end of June and 52 suites are receiving new HVAC air handlers an AC units.
The gardens will also see a boost by the end of June with an elevated herb garden at each of our 6 BBQ pavillions and we will be replacing our existing 14 BBQs with Napoleon stainless steel BBQs built right next door to us here in Oro-Medonte.

Chris we appreciate your feedback and continued support.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews