We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay and will definitely be back!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Maggies Cottage

7
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
7
1 4
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
7
1
4
2
3
5
6
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Blacklion, County Cavan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
jacquelin...
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay and will definitely be back!!”
Reviewed August 8, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed at Maggie's Cottage for just under a week, there was 6 adults, 1 child and 2 border collie dogs and we would definately recommend it to anyone. The owner Martin was a real pleasure to deal with, the cottage is done to a high standard and the minor detail applied is fantastic!! The grounds surrounding the cottage are spacious and beautiful plus very private. We will definitely be back again next year!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark M
1 review
“Lovely holiday cottage”
Reviewed May 12, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Excellent converted farm house. We had a lovely time in Maggies cottage and Martin ensured we had all we needed for our stay. 3 large Double bedrooms and sofa Bed, Meant there was plenty of room for the 7 of us. All mod cons included and easy access to Belcoo / Blacklion. Would stay again and recommend to friends and family

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolineR...
Athlone, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“wonderful house, exceeded our expectations!”
Reviewed March 11, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Just having spent the weekend with friends at Maggies Cottage I could not say anything negative about it. We enjoyed the house, warm, spotlessly clean and we brought with us some things like the basics but didn't need them as Martin (owner) has pretty much covered all necessities. Would love to return in the summer and enjoy the grounds and bbq.
Overall, I couldn't recommend it enough & everyone was so friendly in the area!
Caroline

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: beautifully decorated and clean
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mary L
Ballybay, County Monaghan, Ireland
1 review
“far better the a hotel”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in August 2014

so clean i wanted to live there beautiful area playground only up the road nice and peaceful
i could talk all day about this house

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
locheil
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastically upgraded former farmhouse in great location with modern amenities.”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

This is a well equipped and modernised farmhouse close to the border so a great base for the beautiful scenery of counties Fermanagh, Cavan, Sligo and Leitrim. Set just back from the main road to ensure that it is in a quiet but accessible location this former farmhouse and associated buildings set in the countryside was a great spot for a family holiday. Martin, the owner, couldn't be more helpful and he has made a grand job of renovating the house. Generously sized kitchen along with a well furnished living room (with tv, dvd, wifi etc) and 3 comfortable double bedrooms. So pleased to have discovered this gem that have booked again for next summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lauren_l...
Leeds
1 review
“Everything about it was perfect.”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We returned yesterday from our stay at Maggies cottage and what a wonderful stay it was. The cottage is beautiful and Martin has thought of everything, the kids loved the freedom of the outside and inside was perfect for a great relaxing stay even with the children.
Surrounding areas are stunning with so much to do for both adults and children of all ages. Park near by great for children, lots of lovely walks. Glenfarne nature trail nearby children loved catching frogs and a newt in the woods. Marble arch super walk, unfortunately couldn't go in as too busy but will do on next trip, I would advise you book before hand if wanting to do the cave. Fantastic beaches in co Sligo. Mullaghmore is beautiful.
Flynns the butcher in Blacklion have a great choice would recommend you use and the Customs house in Belcoo worth going to if you want a meal out. Clancys Glenfarne do a great full Irish.
So much to do we didn't get to do everything unfortunately in a week but I guess that just means we have to return and will definitely be staying at Maggies again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everthing
Liked least: Nothing all was perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brenda132...
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful and spacious cottage”
Reviewed July 9, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Maggies is a very clean spacious cottage with everything you could want. Lovely peaceful area to base your stay at. Martin was very helpful and friendly

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peace and quiet
Liked least: Having to leave
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing