We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The perfect adventure playground for a family...”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room with open fire
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Blue Flag Beach Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Living room with open fire
Carrickfinn Blue Flag Beach
Carrickfinn Holiday Cottage 4* Failte Ireland approved
Dining area
One of the 3 Ensuite Bedrooms in the cottage
The sauna in Carrickfinn Cottage
Mt. Errigal visible from Carrickfinn
The Boat Strand Beach Carrickfinn
View from the top of Mt. Errigal, just a short drive from the cottage.
Boat trips to Aranmore, Gola and Tory Islands
Cruit Island Golf Club
Carrickfinn Cottage is fringed by  golden sandy beaches
Dunlewey Church with Mt. Errigal in the background
Glenveagh Castle & National Park
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Annagry, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
AlanaKirk
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The perfect adventure playground for a family holiday”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

The area around this cottage is one big nature playground - you couldn't bring your children to a better place to explore their world. The mountains are high, rugged and spectacular,, the beaches are expansive, stunning and uncrowded. There are coves to explore, harbours to potter around, rocks to clamber, sand dunes to run down, rock pools to hunt, safe sea to swim, forests to forage in, Irish music to dance to, crab to die for, and a sky so large you think you're at the end of the world. The cottage is a little piece of history, and perfect for a family. We stayed there for three summers in a row, and my three girls love it. It's clean and so well stocked, and when you sit on the decking with a glass of wine to watch the sun settle behind Mount Errigle, life just slows down around you. The owners are wonderful, always there with a smile and a helping hand. This isn't a holiday cottage, it's a home from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, owners and view
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leftypark...
Middletown, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“wonderful cottage!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2013
3
people found this review helpful

Carrickfinn cottage is very comfortable, and in a lovely setting. Everything one would need is provided, including a large sauna. The area is convenient to beautiful beaches, pubs and all kinds of places to explore.
Elma and Cahal are so hospitable and friendly, we felt at home.
We highly recommend this beautiful cottage, and plan to visit again, soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gogocon
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little Piece of Heaven”
Reviewed 25 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
4
people found this review helpful

An amazing time was had by my husband, my 21/2 yr old and myself at this wonderful cottage. Blue flag beaches, ship wrecks, sand dunes, donkeys, ponies, goatsand much much more - plenty to keep our daugther entertained. Fabulous cottage fully equiped with everything you could think of for a break away. I took advantage of nap times by running alongside the airport and back over home via the sand dunes - meeting our good friends Cathal and Elma along the way. It sounds silly but we were very sad to leave this 'Little Piece of Heaven'........... Cathal and Elma went above and beyond the call of duty for us.... provided useful visitor attraction suggestions daily and were great craic - after having met them for 5 minutes I felt I had known them years!!!!!!!!!! Everything about the cottage was perfect - very clean and easy to keep clean - I would certainly recommend Carrickfinn to anyone looking a break away with small children - private beaches on your door step - what more could you ask for? Cathal and Elma you will certainly be seeing much more of us!!! I have no doubt Charlotte will want to take her friends or future family there in years to come!!!! HIGHLY RECOMMEND Carrickfinn xxx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Turf Fire and Cathals comfy outdoor seats!!!!
Liked least: There is nothing we could say we didnt like
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 14 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
19 Jun 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. We were very glad that your partners sickness was short lived and that you both enjoyed your holiday in Donegal. We send our best wishes, and would be delighted to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
The_Lough
Belfast
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pure Bliss”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013
6
people found this review helpful

We originally stayed in Carrickfinn cottages with our 10 month old daughter in 2011. What a find! We have been back 4 times since and are booked in again for this summer and just can't wait.

The 'cottage' is so much more with the en suites making room for the in-laws to do a bit of baby sitting and the Sauna for the winter stays (plus the glorious turf fires). We have stayed in February during half term and in the summer and this is just a little piece of heaven on earth.

The location of the cottage is such that it is pure relaxation, but most of all from a parents point of view, safe. This is because it is near the end of a road (maybe only only 4/5 more houses beyond) at end of pennisula, so padding traffic is practically non existent. The pennisula location also means that whilst other beaches in Donegal may get busy, you feel as if you have your very own private beach.

The cottages are run by Cathal and Elma, and we feel like they have become part of the family. They cannot do enough for you, give good pointers on local eateries etc and always good for a chat.

I had to think twice before writing this review, for purely selfish reasons(!), as we know we have discovered a real gem in Carrickfinn Cottages but ultimately feel that it's just too good to keep to ourselves.

Cathal / Elma, thanks for giving us such special family memories and look forward to seeing you in August. C, L & N.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for choosing our cottage for your "family get togethers" and for writing such a nice review. We always look forward to welcoming you back to Carrickfinn. It's been lovely for us welcoming your little girl as a baby and watching her grow over the years into a lovely girl. Hopefully there will be plenty sunshine this summer for her to enjoy our fabulous beaches.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buster_37
Northern Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little piece of heaven”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in February 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A beautiful cottage in an idyllic location, the perfect base for exploring west Donegal.
Spotless cottage is equipped with everything imaginable, and large garden outside makes it an ideal place for families with children to stay.
The owners of this cottage are an added attraction. Elma and Cathal do everything they can to personalise your visit. Their warmth, friendliness and helpfulness will make you want to return again and you can rest assured that "you'll always find a welcome in the homes of Donegal".

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Dear Guest, thank you for staying in our cottage and for taking the time to write such a nice review. Thank you also for the nice card and chocolates you left for us. We look forward to welcoming you back in July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dan G
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home only with better views, food, weather and moods.”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 for a stay in July 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We found the cottages on the internet about six years ago and have been going every summer since (as well as halloween, easters, big birthdays and the odd weekends when we can sneak away). The cottages are beautifully finished, very comfortable, roomy and family friendly. The setting is glorious and the coves and beaches feel like your personal piece of coastline. The wildlife is astounding - pheasants - hares - badgers - foxes - even corncrakes - its always a thrill to spot something. It is a great base to explore the rest of Donegal from or just stay put and relax. Cathal and Elma who own the cottages are a delight and become your friends as well as your hosts - yet they are careful never to intrude. (If you really have to have it there's even wi-fi (and coffee) in the little airport which is very exciting - sometimes there's as many as three planes in the one day!)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: How quickly we relaxed into our holidays
Liked least: having to go home
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$80
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing