We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Nice but...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Waxers Cottage

Robertstown Holiday Village on The Grand canal
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Robertstown Holiday Village on The Grand canal
Double room with King-size bed
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Robertstown Holiday Village on The Grand canal
Double room with King-size bed
Kitchen and Dining area
Kitchen
Playground
Robertstown Village
Cottages are situated on the banks of the Grand Canal in Robertstown
Kitchen
Our Living room area
WC is handy if someone is in the shower
Refurbished Bathroom/wetroom suitable for wheelchair users
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Robertstown, County Kildare

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
mmthedwar...
Fribourg, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice but...”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Nice place and Karen is really helpful with her suggestions about the nearby sightseeing.
The only drawback to take into account, you're rather far from the highway and if you imagine (like we did) as a starting point to visit Dublin, Glendalough, etc...well, consider this extra 20 minutes you'll need to get to the highway...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2016
Thank you for your review. We are in rural Ireland and the highway of the M7 is approximately 10km from us however we always recommend a drive time from Robertstown to your destination and in this case Glendalough which would take on average about 1.5 hrs to travel non stop however most guests it takes longer as you are captivated by the scenery or attractions along the way and time does not matter then.
Glendalough is a wonderful location and on out doorstep as is Dublin and again getting to Dublin can be as easy or as difficult as travelling to any major city in the world. You can take the train from Sallins which is approx 10km from Robertstown, driving to Dublin via the M4 or the M7 is easy and again like its mentioned here on the review it will take between 10/20 minutes to get the the motorway depending on the time of the day of course.
I'm delighted that you pointed this out as we often have guests that travel to Cliffs of Moher, Giants Causeway and Blarney Stone in one day and I admire them. Hope to see you again here in Robertstown but for now thank you again for your review, I appreciate it.
Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny F
Griffith, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great spot beside the picturesque Grand Canal”
Reviewed 28 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We recently stayed for 10 days in Cottage 1 at Robertstown Holiday Cottages. My husband and I were accompanied on this trip by my mum so the cottage was perfect for us as we each had our own bedroom with the living room to share. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you need for an extended stay. There was all the cutlery, crockery and kitchen appliances that we needed.

The cottage was very clean, well furnished and the couches in the living room were very comfy. The view from the living room out to the canal was fabulous.

Our communication with owner, Karen was mainly by email and she was super friendly and helpful throughout. We especially enjoyed the scones and jam that were on the table when we arrived. Nice touch! Karen also provided heaps of brochures and discount vouchers for local attractions.

Only downside was the WiFi not working in our cottage but Karen arranged for us to be able to use the meeting room on site which had a good connection to their WiFi.

We would thoroughly recommend a stay here and hope to return in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: In a great spot right on the canal
Liked least: WiFi not working in our cottage
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Oct 2015
Thank you for your kind review, we very much appreciate it. As we are in a rural location yes sometimes the WIFI lets us down but glad that the meeting room worked out for you to keep in touch with family "down under". Hope to see you again soon, Karen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann M
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Well presented, fully equipped & ideal location”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed at Cottage No. 1 as a family of 5 (2 teenagers & 1 pre-schooler) in August '14. Prior to our arrival, the communication & ease of making arrangements by email with Karen was fantastic. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a lovely cottage, ideal for our needs. The cottage was clean, well maintained & fully equipped for us - including enough provisions for breakfast on our first morning.

Karen provided lots of literature on local attractions, vouchers & deals included so we were never short of things to do & see - a quiet country village retreat if you want to see what Ireland really has to offer..!!

The only shortfall was possibly lack of internet/wireless as the data signal is also poor in the area - not a problem for us as parents at all, but the teenagers were not too happy :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Layout of the cottage - much more spacious & comfortable than we expected for the price
Liked least: Proximity to the canal may be a concern with very young children - it is well fenced off however
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you for your review, I appreciate your kind comments. Yes WiFi can be an issue sometimes here in Rural Ireland I agree but we do have FREE Wifi at out office building and we can give you the key to our meeting room when it is available for you to check your emails and social media.....I had one guest say it was also a blessing not having Wifi as they all played board games and had some real family fun!
Hope to see you again soon, Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terence L
Dublin, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was an unexpected bonus to stay in this cottage after we (5) had walked 26klms on the Grand Canal”
Reviewed 28 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I always had a good feeling about this booking. I was the organizer of 5 of us who were going on a 3 day hike along the Grand Canal. The house was warm and we were greeted with scones and jam which Karen had left for us as a welcome surprise. The bed was comfortable after a tough hike in the snow. The fridge had been filled for an early breakfast Karen guided us well on where to eat and on a good taxi. Next day she dropped our surplus clothes to our next guest house. Boy were we grateful!!. It was a pleasure to stay in the cottages after a fantastic walk along the Grand Canal. Everything done with a smile and a "no problem" attitude.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We had a good feel about the place
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jul 2016
Thank you Terence for your kind comments. I remember that March so very well and the blizzards but I think the local hostelries here in the village warmed your spirits for the further journey. Glad you enjoyed your short stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Karen x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing