We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 a.m. - 4:00 p.m.
Review Highlights
Friendly restaurant

The restaurant in the golf club is a nice place to hangout for lunch or a drink. During my recent... read more

Reviewed October 10, 2018
Ram V
,
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Great Track!

Great track. Greens were a little hard but ran true. This course is a thinking man's track that... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2020
Tim R
,
Kamloops, Canada
Read all 71 reviews
  
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
37
17
8
6
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
37
17
8
6
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
39 - 44 of 71 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2015

our first time here and came as had met family in cowichan bay for lunch. the clubs were in the trunk so we thought let's try it out. a bit surprised at how narrow the course was. the sand traps looked like that hadn't been raked in months, very poor state. all was going along o.k. when we ground to a halt around hole 10, due to the threesome ahead of us and those ahead of them. sitting there waiting i got cold and the waiting added at least 30 minutes onto our game. not sure i'd go back, there are better courses on the island.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank jarmwr40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jace75, General Manager at Arbutus Ridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2015

Hi Judy and Michael, thank you very much for taking the time to provide feedback. I regret that we did not meet or exceed your expectations. It is true, this year we fell behind getting our bunkers into proper condition. We were distracted with several projects including a new tee box for hole #11. That doesn't excuse the fact that we should have prioritized the bunkers, please accept our apologies. I also regret your pace of play issue. This is normally a strength of ours compared to other local courses but we had not yet established daily Player Assistant coverage during your visit in shoulder season. It's true, the golf course is narrow in spots. It's not difficult in length with a maximum 6,200 yards. Many of the holes are meant to be thoughtful and strategic in nature, but I can understand how that may be more of a reality during a 2nd visit, etc.

We hope you will give us another chance. We are confident you will see great value in your next visit.

Sincerely,
Jason Lowe
General Manager
250.743.5100 (34)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2015

Played here for the first time in November 2015, Using borrowed sticks and a new driver played a round in 4 hours, in the sun and fresh air. Saw 5 deer on the course, two of which walked up to us to see the funny bipeds. Hit a frightfully high score, but didn't much care because I was having fun: the fairways are narrow in many places, the greens terraced, out-of-bounds are often precipitiously steep; and, the course requires good legs to manage the uphill/down walks. I lost more than a few balls, but "Hey, you can walk off the course at many points and pick up a new ball" from the substantial inventory other golfers have left n the gulleys before you. How thoughtful! The course was rubble clean and well maintained. Not a bare or dry patch to be found. In short, an attractive place, and player friendly, too. Members treated us very well and that was before we got to the restaurant in the club house where we had an excellent meal. Cudos to the management and staff for making our day fine. I'll return and play/socialize there again, in a New York minute.

Date of experience: November 2014
Thank rayporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 18, 2015

My wife and I go here fairly frequently and find the food reliably good and the prices reasonable. The views across the landscape to Saltspring Island are wonderful.

Date of experience: December 2014
Thank petriekw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2014

Bought two groupons for $30 each(one for me one for a friend) , thought it was a good deal until I arrived at the course and in the fine print it stated must come with another person, had to pay full rate for second person( $57)Disappointed at myself and the the way the groupon was placed. Not really that good of a deal.I might think twice about playing there again. To bad its a nice course.

Date of experience: October 2014
Thank Marty T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
jace75, General Manager at Arbutus Ridge Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2014

Thank you for the feedback! We regret that you did not see the groupon details prior to arriving. We tried hard to make sure this was clear when guests purchased them but will endeavour to do an even better job next time. Fortunately we aren't in a position where offering an aggressive groupon offer is needed, hence the restrictions. Thank you for any understanding. We hope you will see great value in our regular rate and many different golf programs, and will visit us again! We apologize again, we can always do a better job communicating.
Jason Lowe, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2014

We have been here twice. Really enjoy the grounds and the views. The food is good too. Nice quiet dining room. There is an interesting garden patio behind the club house where it looks like they have BBQ events. Really unusual trees and shrubs.
Handy to the Damali Lavender farm, B&B, and winery across the intersection.

Date of experience: August 2014
Thank 998marilynm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews