We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to find but worth the visit ”

Venturi-Schulze Vineyards
Ranked #6 of 11 things to do in Cobble Hill
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Reviewed July 12, 2016 via mobile

This winery is hidden off the highway and nearly impossible to find if you don't have GPS. The tasting room is small to allow for more intimate tastings so we did have to wait but it was well worth it. The wines were delicious and the tasting included balsamic vinegars. They have some of the best reds on the island.

Thank 604bunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vsnaturally, Owner at Venturi-Schulze Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you for your patience when visiting and for the kind words. I have added the GPS coordinates to our website Contact Us page. Our house was built in 1893 and we are practically right on the highway (a frontage road), but for some reason, many GPS services send people way off track. If you enter our business name rather than our street address, you will have better success. I hope you can come by again this summer to taste the 2014 Pinot Noir. It is outstanding! Best regards, Marilyn Venturi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"balsamic vinegar"
in 7 reviews
"learning experience"
in 2 reviews
"small winery"
in 2 reviews
"great winery"
in 2 reviews
"tasting room"
in 2 reviews
"vinegars"
in 4 reviews
"michelle"
in 2 reviews
"jam"
in 2 reviews
Filter

10 - 14 of 17 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

Well worth coming here. Of all the wineries, down to earth. Fun and entertaining. As Gary said. You don't not like pino noir you just haven't liked all the ones you've tasted. Theirs was amazing! Everything about this place was fantastic and FUN!!

Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vsnaturally, Owner at Venturi-Schulze Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you James! I am glad you enjoyed Garry and our Pinot Noir :) Best regards, Marilyn Venturi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 23, 2016

A "unique" wine tasting experience followed by a sampling of their prized Balsamic Vinegar's. When we arrived, there was a walkie-talkie hanging on the door to call the guy out of the vineyards to open the tasting room. Our favorites were the 2012 Primavera white and the 2014 Brut Rose sparkler. After the wines, we got to sample their Balsamic Vinegar's which they prize (and price accordingly - $50 and up for a small bottle.) If you want to try them, you need to sample the wines first for the best taste.

Thank SeanFromKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vsnaturally, Owner at Venturi-Schulze Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you for the feedback. Yes - our classic and 1990 Legacy balsamic vinegars are different from any supermarket offering. We use a single ingredient: only our own grapes, sustainably estate-grown here without using irrigation, pesticides or herbicides, using a centuries-old method and aged for decades in series of barrels of different woods. If visitors wish to try our wines, they should definitely do so first. Non-drinkers can certainly skip the wine tasting and just sample the vinegars. If you return, call ahead and I'll arrange to show you the acetaia. Best regards, Marilyn Venturi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2016

This winery produces a small line of wines that are all of excellent quality. They also produce excellent balsalmic vinegar! The tasking is generous and casual. The host was very informed and provided us with a lot of information about not only wine but vinegar (we bought both). He was also pleasant and had a good sense of humor. When you go here be sure to check out the book written and privately publsihed by one of the originators of the winery. Its a bit pricey but well worth it. The history of the owner, his home village in Italy and the winery are fascinating and wonderfully written and the cookbook part of the book will change your entire way of approaching Italian cooking (unless of course you were lucky enough to learn it at your nana's knee)

Thank JimVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vsnaturally, Owner at Venturi-Schulze Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you, Jim. No matter how many times I read Giordano's book, I never tire of it - such great stories of growing up in Italy during and after the war, entertaining insights and great traditional family recipes. I'm married to him and I still discovered things I didn't know before :)
I also appreciate Garry's sense of humour ...
Best regards, Marilyn Venturi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

A friend and I stopped in yesterday and very much enjoyed chatting with Marilyn during the tasting. She is SO knowledgable and personable that we both really felt we left with a better understanding of some of the challenges facing producers here on the island. And of course we also came away with bottles of our favourite wines, balsamic vinegar and lovely jam.
All are to die for! Highly recommend the Brandenburg!

Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vsnaturally, Owner at Venturi-Schulze Vineyards, responded to this reviewResponded February 5, 2017

Thank you, Tracey. Yes - the Brandenburg No.3: nothing like it with cheeses, nuts and pâtés. Best regards, Marilyn Venturi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venturi-Schulze Vineyards also viewed

Mill Bay, Vancouver Island
Cowichan Bay, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Venturi-Schulze Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing