We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing holiday and fantastic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Santa's Hotel Aurora
Ranked #1 of 1 Luosto B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing holiday and fantastic hotel”
Reviewed 13 March 2012

We had an amazing holiday in Luosto organised by Activities Abroad. Aurora Chalet is one of two hotels in Luosto and definitely the better of the two. The Tunturi is much larger with a huge dining room and feels less cosy and inpersonal The Auroa Chalet staff are lovely, the food was plentiful and amazing every night (especially the reindeer steak!) and the rooms warm, cosy with lots of storage space for all those winter clothes. The sauna in each room is a real treat after a day out in the cold. The reception also has a lovely cosy area with a fire which was nice to chill in with a glass of mulled wine every evening. One thing I would say is that the mattresses are really soft - I had really broken sleep the whole week which is very unlike me and the only reason I can think of is because of the mattress but the rooms are still lovely. Also, the hotel says it has open fireplaces in some of the rooms - this isnt actually the case - they are wood burners and you have to keep them closed but still a lovely thing to have in the room.

The hotel also has a changing room for storing your snowsuits and boots which is great as you dont have to put them in your room everyday.

We were lucky enough to see the Northern lights 4 times in a week, one of which lasted an hour and was stunning. If the alarm had not gone off that time we would have missed it as they came out very early - 7:30pm so most people were having dinner. On another two occasions the alarm didnt go off but we saw the lights from our window (you can see them if you have the lights in your room off) but by the time we put on all our layers and ran outside they had disappeared! Tip for photographing the lights - take a tripod!

The hotel is in a great location - 2 mins walk from an ideal place to see the lights and 5 min walk to the ski slopes and the frozen lake. The whole trip was really well organised and we loved all the activities, especially the snowmobiling and husky sledging.

Luosto itself is very small and quiet and although its mainly geared towards tourists, it never felt touristy and often we hardly saw anyone else whilst out looking for the lights or having a romantic stroll around the lake everynight. The ski slopes were also really quiet so an ideal place to learn to ski.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NB796
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    40
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
103
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2012

We have just returned from 5 nights at the Aurora Chalet where we found the staff always cheerful, friendly and helpful. The rooms were very warm and comfortable, we had a suana in our bathroom and a wood burning fire in our room. The food was very good, all home cooked and tasty. I am coeliac which was not a problem here as the food was mostly naturally gluten free and what wasn't they adapted for me. There was also gluten free bread available every morning for me at breakfast.
The alarm system they have to alert you when the Aurora is in the sky works very well and we were lucky to see them 4 nights in a row.
We also did some activities with Snow Games across the road from the hotel which were really enjoyable and they will lend you boots, snow suits and anything else you may need to carry out these activities...we went husky dog slieghing, ski-doing and on an evening snow shoe safari to see the northern lights.
I would highly recommend the Aurora Chalet and Lusto has a winter break destination

Room Tip: all rooms are facing north so that you can watch the Aurora from your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank norah53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

My wife and I have just arrived home to Sydney, Australia from a week at the Aurora Chalet- WOW!
I have never experienced such frindly, courteous and helpful staff in such a small hotel. The food was truly world class- every evening , their menu of the day was a delight! The location is totally perfect and their Aurora alert system worked a treat- we were lucky enough to see a wonderful display of the northern lights ! Luosto is so beautifully pristine and unspoilt- its very small- only 60 full time residents!.
We could not possibly recommend this wonderful establishment more highly - a truly memorable holiday- THANK YOU Aurora Chalet team!

Room Tip: All roooms have the same wonderful Northern veiw, comfy beds, private sauna's and are very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penrith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2012

stayed here for six nights in February 2012 via Activities abroad. Such a quiet, beautiful country. We were lucky enough to a have a two hour show of the lights on the one night it wasn't cloudy. Other activities arranged through snow games jsut over the road from the hotel. The guides there are very knowledgeable and more than happy to talk about Finland and the artic north. We arranged for an extra nordic skiing lesson which was worth doing - not quite as scary as downhill! Snow games were also happy to loan us snow shoes so that we could do some exploring on our own. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful from re-opening the bar at 12:30 am so that we could all have a celebratory drink after seeing the lights to translating the Finnair on-line check in for us when it would only come up in Finnish.

Room Tip: We had a room with a log burner which gave an nice atmosphere but you didn't need this to heat t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Astridthegoat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

This hotel must be our top choice.
Everything was great; from the welcoming check-in[even tho we were late],all the staff,the food, and large bedroom with sauna, all helped to make a fantastic holiday.
This was all booked thru Activies Abroad who were so very helpfull right from our first enquirery.They will advise what activities they feel are suitable[we are two 70 year olds] and organise them thru Snow Games Yo including all equipment ,protective clothing and friendly tuition.
Aurora Chalet is not a large modern complex, but if want to be made- to -feel you are among friends and not just a room number, this is for you. Some bedrooms have wood-[supplied]burning fires. Ours did not, but we were warm enough without.
The aurora borealis even made several appearances.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NorfolkBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the aurora chalet for 7 nights in February 2012. The alarm system is great, as we would have missed the northern lights each of the three times we saw them if it wasn't for the alarm making sure we woke up! The food in the hotel is incredible, couldn't fault a single meal we had for the whole stay. Staff are very friendly and helpful at the hotel and also at Snow Games across the road who we went on three activities with. All activities are very well organised and great fun and the clothes provided by them are excellent.
Overall I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to see the northern lights, enjoy amazing food, stay in comfortable accommodation and enjoy some exciting activities while they are there.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ema251990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teddington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

The hotel was warm and comfortable, food excellent and Snow Games activities varied and thrilling. Lucky to see the Northern Lights for an hour one evening, as it was a warmer winter than usual for them which meant frequent cloud cover. Alcoholic drinks are very expensive in Finland so it's a good idea to stock up in duty free on the way over. I would thoroughly recommended both the hotel and Activities Abroad, who arranged the holiday. Staff are very helpful and speak good English. The lighting in the bedroom is a bit low, but there was enough light to read by in bed. I also booked some beginner's downhill skiing lessons in addition to the arranged activities, and can now ski! Even though I was the only single traveller, I had a great time as everyone in the group was very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MusicianTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Luosto
0.3 km away
Lapland Hotel Luostotunturi
20.6 km away
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
Ski-Inn Hotel Pyhatunturi
#1 of 1 in Pyhatunturi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
33.1 km away
Holiday Village Kuukiuru
Holiday Village Kuukiuru
#4 of 4 in Kemijarvi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.2 km away
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
Holiday Village Pyhan Asteli
#2 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 15 reviews
20.5 km away
Ski-Inn PyhaSuites Apartments
Ski-Inn PyhaSuites Apartments
#1 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
26.4 km away
No photo provided
Holiday Center Luppo
#3 of 5 in Pyhatunturi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa's Hotel Aurora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa's Hotel Aurora

Property: Santa's Hotel Aurora
Address: Luppokeino 1, Luosto 99555, Finland (Formerly Aurora Chalet)
Region: Finland > Lapland > Luosto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Luosto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Santa's Hotel Aurora 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Arctic Glass Igloos with glass ceiling and walls anta's Hotels has built 10 entirely new kind, lavishly appointed glass igloos in Luosto by Santa's Hotel Aurora. Rooms have been introduced in February 2015. Santa's Hotels' glass igloos are intended for year-round use. The new glass-roofed, arctic view rooms offer a whole new opportunity to experience Lapland, the ever-changing nature by bringing it closer than ever. Staying in these rooms a unique landscape of Luosto presents itself outside the windows every day in a new way. Northern lights, midnight sun, autumn colors and winter polar night are nearby and you can experience them while enjoying the comforts of a hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Santa's Hotel Aurora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aurora Chalet Hotel Luosto

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing