We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveller rating
41
24
6
7
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
41
24
6
7
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews studio room wedding conference units accommodation school bunk bush shelf tournament facilities cottage milk
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 81 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2017 via mobile

The stay way good. I enjoyed the comforts of home the unit offered especially the heated floor in the bathroom. This was the second time we have stayed when we were down for Wearable Arts. The units cleanliness was okay but it looks like some of the higher windows and beams have not been cleaned for a while because there were cobwebs, dust and dead bugs. It was good to have the double glazed windows because it blocked out the noise coming from the highway. For the WiFi we were given 2GB of WiFi that lasts for 7days complementary which was a bonus. The car park is still the same as 2 years ago needing a lot of work because there are pot holes and dips everywhere but I believe they are in the process of doing the place up. Over all the stay was good for price.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Thank Alice Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

The room was lovely although they could do with a shelf in the bathroom to put things. Quite a lot of traffic noise, but this dies down at night. Staff were friendly and the breakfast brought to the room was very nice! Sadly there is nowhere to eat here, other than the breakfast to the room and it's quite a walk into Silverstream itself, so you end up having to take a taxi to eat. This is a big place - ideal for weddings etc and some quirky architecture.

Room Tip: River view studios were good, but with the doors to the deck open - quite noisy during the day.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaGuirey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 28, 2017

Beautiful peaceful location. We stayed in a 3 bedroom, beautifully renovated cottage. It was spacious and so cosy and warm. Just perfect for families, we will definitely stay again and highly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MariaB14757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S1lver5treamRetreat, Manager at Silverstream Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 4, 2017

My husband and I, my adult daughter and the 90year old Uncle all stayed in the Cottage on Saturday night and just loved it! It is extraordinarily beautiful in terms of decor and layout, in summer the deck would be fabulous. The beds were so comfy you just didn't want to get out of them- Uncle Bungo said he had the best nights sleep ever! They also supplied us with a gorgeous supply of top notch eggs, bread, cute little spreads, and Lewis Creamery butter and milk.Our teenage sons had a studio twin bed unit not far from us and it too was very nicely done-up and very comfortable, plus both areas were spotlessly clean. The Retreat area has a peaceful ambience and would be absolutely perfect for a large gathering of any kind. The staff were very nice, polite and helpful in true kiwi fashion. Really do hope we get to stay there again!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S1lver5treamRetreat, Front Office Manager at Silverstream Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2017

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017

Silverstream was awesome it had cooked meals for us and the bunk rooms were awesome because our teacher put us bunk rooms with our friends but anyway they had amazing rooms warm. It is only about 20 minutes out of the city when it's not busy so it's quite Ideal so I would Recommend this if you're looking for somewhere to stay in Upper Hut.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PippaR73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews