We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (76)
Filter reviews
76 results
Traveller rating
75
1
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
75
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great holiday lovely pool long ride des ormes great cycle routes kate cycling cols accommodation ideas retreat mtb region summer alps
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 76 reviews
Reviewed August 20, 2020

We returned again to Serre des Ormes this summer because we had had such a brilliant time last year and we can confirm that it is still just as good as ever. Kate and Paul’s retreat is ideally situated for a very wide range of great cycle routes – lovely quiet roads with some cols that are not quite as daunting as the massive climbs elsewhere in the Alps but which in many ways are much more scenic and varied. Kate and Paul are very welcoming with loads of good ideas for rides, walks, MTB routes and other activities – this means that you can immediately access the best the region has to offer. They helped us enormously when one of our group was injured meaning that the others could continue to enjoy their holiday. The food is very good; fresh, healthy, local, generous but also slightly indulgent! The accommodation was perfect for us and the lovely pool a great place to relax in the sun after a long ride.
Highly recommended, Serre des Ormes is a find! If you are able to travel within the current Covid restrictions, this is definitely worth considering.

Date of stay: August 2020
Thank mmottzx
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paul West-Watson, Owner at Serre Des Ormes, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2020

Thankyou Ann, it was lovely to see you all again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 20, 2019

Kate and Paul are excellent hosts who go that extra mile for you.
Meals and accommodation were outstanding.
Garage was well stocked with tools and for secure storage of bikes.
Highly recommended and would not hesitate to visit again.

Room tip: South facing rooms get the sun in the morning just as it appears over the adjacent hill.
Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AntsPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2019

Just spent an absolutely amazing week. The scenery is stunning, the rides amazing and Kate and Paul cannot help out enough. Our room was immaculate with large soft towels. I'm allergic to feathers so non feather pillows and duvet were supplied. The pool is divine to jump into after a hard days cycle and Kate's cooking (and cakes) were locally sourced and scrumptious and loads of it to fuel you up for another day of cycling. We truly have just had our best holiday EVER! We're booking for next year without a doubt.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank trishthefish2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2019

We’ve just had a marvellous week at Serre des Ormes. Kate and Paul are wonderful hosts : they are so accommodating in every respect ... From the delicious, gourmet meals to going the extra mile helping us with our personal cycling challenge. The location is perfect and we really enjoyed exploring such a scenic, unspoilt and interesting region of France. Highly recommended. Thanks so much again, Judy and Neil.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank judy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2019

There are already so many great reviews it is hard to know where to start.
We had a great time; the area is superb for road cycling and also has some good trail running and mountain bike routes which Kate and Paul were able to point us towards – you would have struggled to have found these for yourself. The mountain biking is old school natural paths which can be quite challenging but by the same token, really rewarding.
The food was a real highlight and far exceeded our expectations. All of the meals I would have happily eaten again. Lots of lovely fresh produce that was both healthy, tasty, authentic and filling – absolutely perfect, if you are doing lots of exercise!
We had our 14 yr old son with us; he is a keen cyclist (road and mountain) and Kate helped us with some great ideas for rides that we could all do together, and she was very kind and thoughtful to include him. We had the linked pair of rooms which was also perfect for the 3 of us.
In summary we had a great week at Serre des Ormes and would highly recommend it to any cyclists that want to explore a slightly quieter area of France.

Date of stay: August 2019
Thank michaeldevoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SerreDesOrmes, Owner at Serre Des Ormes, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2019

So pleased you all enjoyed your stay with us. Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews