We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely surroundings and welcoming owners”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Average
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Sutton on the Forest, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SarahG733...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely appalling property”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Health and safety along with the council needs to investigate this property along with the owners.
Shockingly positioned between the owners property and their stables. No privacy whatsoever never mind the curfew times on a the hot tub.
Burnt out shower on arrival. No other washing facilities were available and the owner didn't see a problem with not informing us but waited till we arrived at the property and rang him to see what was going on!
No control over the heating in the property, all wires lead elsewhere!!!
Let's not forget to mention the adjoining door to their grooms flat! Locked from her side but nothing to be able to lock from the cottage side!
Very wierd set up! All this big brother is watching you is more like the stuff horror films are made of ... Adjoining door only to wake up to the owners standing over u watching u sleep .... And they're salivating with a sweaty brow!
Stay clear of this property, and don't let them rob you of your money like they did us.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonb1977
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Robbery”
Reviewed December 22, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Where do I start a joke charged £335 and could not stay on arrival there was a burnt out electric shower with no cover front on and the electric wires exposed.
The cottage stank of burning and this was our short 3 day break before Xmas for me my partner and my 5 year old son.
The owner refused to refund us so now passing to small claims, also dirty house really poor wouldn't put a dog in there.
There was a view of one of the bedrooms and dirty screwed up tissues all on the top of the wardrobe and the owners excuse was he wasn't tall enough to notice.
The most concerning issues are there is a joining door that's locked from the other side of the flat next door, this is where the horse groom lives but I'm sorry this day and age with child protection paramount this is a no no you can't have the possibility of a strange person entering your property in the night when you have children.
I think it needs to be made secure both sides at least and not been funny but how does any family know for a fact that the person next door is legally fine to be there.
The hot tub was disgusting dirty ripped top and bang in front of the owners home so they can see you trying to relax within the ridiculous times aloud to use the hot tub between 4-10am. The path around the hot tub was full of mud and leaves really dirty not the normal clean surroundings expected.
All in all please don't gamble with your money the guy who owns the place is very odd wanting to watch over you and thinks it is acceptable to keep our money, we are going to our local paper tomorrow and making it our personal mission to get this place shown for what it is as we don't want any more family breaks been like this as it's unfair on the children, but I don't think the owner gives a hoot about the effect on people as long as he's had his cash.
Don't put children in this position.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boyle88
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely disappointed”
Reviewed December 17, 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Not appropriate for 6 people and therefore shouldn't be advertised as a 6 person cottage.
Can't fit 6 people in the hot tub. Couldn't even fit 5 people into the hot tub - the hot tub was the only reason I booked this cottage.

The living room doesn't sit 6 people therefore should not be advertised as a 6 person cottage.

There was one bathroom - the shower was broken.

The kitchen was tiny and the fridge was broken.

The cottage was extremely dated and in need of some serious TLC.

Overall, completely disappointed and incorrectly advertised. Poor performance on behalf of Sykes and beck hill and therefore hugely over priced. Hugely!

Very very disappointing stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alison s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice place if you don't mind being overlooked!”
Reviewed August 4, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

The cottage is much smaller than it appears on the provided photos and to our disappointment was situated right between the main house and the stables. There is no privacy. You are overlooked from every angle. People even walk past the lounge window which was disconcerting. When my children were in the hot tub with me, people were pulling up in cars and looking at them. The garden is a mess of weeds and the family dog appears to prefer to do its 'business' in the cottage garden which I refused to pick up! There is a vast paddock which you are not allowed in. Onto the hot-tub - the owner insisted that the cover be propped up which dangerously kept falling on our heads.Be aware that you are only allowed to use it at certain times! Inside the cottage- nice upstairs. Be careful as the wooden stairs are lethal when wet. Bathroom was lovely but only one toilet was a problem for a family of five. Lounge area was fine. We had a nice stay in a beautiful area but it was too overlooked and not private for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Piers L
Reading
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings and welcoming owners”
Reviewed March 29, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

I always think that the best test comes when things go wrong and this was no exception- one of our daughters was ill and we needed fresh bedding, washing powder and use of a tumble dryer, all of which were readily supplied with good cheer by the owners who live next door. Then the drains blocked up but these were all sorted out the same morning - a bank holiday. The cottage is well equipped, in a beautiful setting near the village of Crayke with the excellent Durham Ox pub. We felt very well looked after and it is a great base for visiting York and surrounding areas. As someone else has said, an extra loo would be handy for a family of five but this is very good value for money. The hot tub is great but we haven't used it that much as the weather has been crazy - lightning and hail welcoming in the first day of Spring.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Apr 2016
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Beckhill Cottage with us all, we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time there. It is wonderful to hear that any obstacles that were sent your way were swiftly hurdled over and that you had a lovely time on your holiday, relaxing in the property and taking in all that the area had to offer! We certainly hope that you return again in the very near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gail L
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“a relaxing weekend break with stunning scenery”
Reviewed June 10, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The cottage was well equipped and had everything we needed for our mature girly weekend stay. The owners were very helpful and advised us on where to eat in the local village. Since the photo's have been published the hot tub has been moved between the patio door and garden furniture with a screen blocking views from the main house. On arrival we were greeted by 2 small dogs who were wery friendly and 2 cats that we were asked not to let into the cottage as they live outdoors. There are 2 bedrooms upstairs 1 twin (full size single beds) and one double with another double downstairs. Another bathroom or toilet would have been useful but for the few days we were their we coped. A very relaxing weekend we went to Scarborough on the Saturday just 1 hrs drive away and a car boot and garden centre on Sunday just 20 mins away. Would definitely go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mr”
Reviewed November 8, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
5
people found this review helpful

Well furniture was very poor an rundown scratched from cats being let in but overall disappointed with the cottage and the overall experience we were accused of damaging the hot tub which was already damaged when we arrived the handle was broken also there were a number of items damaged when we arrived a lamp an a clothes airer were broke very poor cottage for the price and in need of modernisation the owner is wanting compensation from the so called damage i am a honest person who paid for damage my stepdaughter did by accident to the carpet so i am so annoyed with the owner seeking compensation as he must have insurence also no slip mat in the shower causing my daughter to slip an bang her head this needs to be addressed and also there is no step to get into the hot tub will never be returning to this cottage again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing