We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$61
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 28/07
US$54
US$31
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mango Lodge(Brufut)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (33)
Filter reviews
33 results
Traveller rating
23
7
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
7
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschicken and chipshuge variety of birdscold drinksviewing areastayed two nightsadamobirderswetlandskingfisheraccommodationgarden
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 33 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We stayed at Marakissa for 2 nights and we had a great time. This place is off the beaten track and it is not easy to get there but if you enjoy bird watching it's definitely worth a visit. You can rent canoes and go for walks around the area, you'll see loads of birds even if you just sit for a coffee or beer. The owners are quite nice and food was good and plenty. The rooms are quite basic and there is no electricity but it's a relaxed place with few tourists.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RasaSarquem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 11, 2011

We only stayed one night here, but we wished that we could have stayed longer. What a fantastic spot near a small river. Here you can sit in a low covered hut to watch the birds. We will never forget the sound of the birds, what a good experience!

This camp had several spimple round huts. Inside are the beds with musquito-nets (which are absolutely a must in this area!). There is an attatched bathroom with running cold water, a shower and a toilet. Towels and toilet paper are provided.
The price is 425 dalassi for the room and the breakfast. The breakfast is very good, with products like peanutbutter, chocolate paste, and a wide choice of jams. Eggs can be ordered as well.

So, the location and the lovely huts are OK. But some things can get better.
The biggest disappointment for us, was that the pool was totally empty! Travelling with 3 teens, this was very disappointing for all. The owners knew we were coming, and we would have loved a fresh jump into the pool.........
Another point is the lack of electricity. No electricity means no light in the evening, no airconditioning, no hot water. And no wifi of course.
In this modern time this is one the attention-points that could be improved.

However, we did have a great time watching the birds. The children played with their pocket computers or read books. They also played with the dogs on the campground which are very friendly.
Adama prepared a very delicious lunch and dinner for us. And we talked with her husband Joop for a long time. He's dutch too, and we had a real nice conversation.
This is just a paradise for birdlovers, but also people like us can have a great time here (especially if the pool is filled!). You can make nice walks in the area, and you won't get bored. Joop and Adama are excellent host, and this rivercamp can only get better by the years.
Recommended!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boschvertrekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 3, 2011

I was here with a birdwatching group for just a few hours, but would have liked to stay longer. From the roof-top viewing area you can spot a wide variety of birds and wildlife in an idyllic setting, and at ground level there is another viewing area where there are feeders to attract more birds. Lunch was delicious - possibly the best meal we had in The Gambia. Altogether I thought this place was lovely and would recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Worldtravellerxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2011

A holiday away from the coastal resorts, superb hosts, friendly and knowledgeable, and keen bird watchers. The gardens are full of bird feeders, so a lot of bird life is encouraged into the grounds. The surroundings are beautiful, a real get away from it all place.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClaireMountford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Service with a smile. This is where heaven meets the earth.
The bird life is amazing.
Rooms clean and comfortable. Mosi nets shower and loo.
Wonderful tranquil location - just bird song and the singing of the village women as they tend their crops.
Good food - great prices .
This is what Gambia is really about - you don't need a bird guide - just your field guide book - try doing it yourself - you do at home!!
We lost count of the number of species we spotted at Marakissa. Well in excess of 100 in four days.
Remember to bring enough charged camera batteries and a head torch as there is no electricity. You'll need them there's so much to see.
Take a trip up the river in a canoe and then relax on the roof with a beer or wait downstairs in the bar for a glimpse of the shikra in the bird bath!!
Your hosts will make you more than welcome. The only downside is going home.



.
.



-AT HOME!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anntik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews