We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (72)
Filter reviews
72 results
Traveller rating
23
18
11
9
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
18
11
9
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 72 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We booked and paid this hotel online to enjoy a 3 day weekend in Sri Lanka to do some whale watching and to visit Turtle Hatcheries. This hotel was terrible. We booked 2 suites with AC and private bath with breakfast. One of the suites was fine the other had no AC and a bathroom down the hall. Breakfast wasn't available either day - he told us he doesn't make breakfast before 7:30 AM. The sign near the entrance said restaurant open but it wasn't open at all during our stay. When we went to check out, there was absolutely nobody to be found, so we just left our key. In fact, we only saw the owner (or anyone) for a minute or two here or there. The fan in my room, was a bit noisy and I wasn't all that comfortable with the locks. He seemed more interested in showing us his new turtle tattoo than giving us what we paid for.

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbscram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 17, 2013

I booked a double room only to be given a room with three single beds. The lock was also clearly faulty on the door and after highlighting this with the staff they proceeded to replace it with a new one. At night time I also discovered cockroaches in the bathroom and bedroom.

The staff were helpful at times but their hospitality upon arrival notably dipped as soon as I told them I did not want them to arrange any sightseeing tours or whale watching.

On the whole an unsatisfactory and unprofessional experience.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravelleruk1_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

After being in Marissa one night already we were looking for a bargain...we payed 6000 rupees for 2 nights including breakfast. Considering breakfast is 4-500 rupees pp in Marissa I thought it was very good value! Room was ok, a little mouldy, but not uncomfortable like other people have whined about! With the fan spinning and the window open, no big problem. You can cut through the hotel opposite, paradise Marissa which will get you straight to the beach! Nice food!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jonathanandkatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Turned up here late in the evening and bartered a very good price at 1600rps for a double (£4 each), including a breakfast. We ended up staying longer than anticipated as it was so lovely. Only 1-2 minute walk to the beautiful beach, which also has some superb restaurants serving up fresh pick-your-own fish ($5-ish) and close to the road for cheap curries and samosas. The rooms were everything you could need and clean along with a brilliant breakfast. Pudji is such a lovely owner/manager, very happy and welcoming, also provides some good advice. Overall a really great lodge. Perhaps the reason for mixed reviews is expectations of standards. I believe it is more of a lodge than hotel, so bear this in mind according to your desires.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allardyced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Despite us reserving this hotel through Agoda and paying up front almost 3 months in advance, the owner double booked our room which meant that we had to find alternative accomodation ourselves.

A very long story short, don't book this hotel, it is definitely nothing special and not worth the risk of being double booked and having to subsequently find alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumblebee262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews