We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic week at Stella Beach House”

Review of Stella Beach Villa

View of the pool from the terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach Master Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
59 reviews
View of the pool from the terrace
Your own private beach
Master Bedroom
The twin room (with en-suite)
Master bedroom
Second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for second master bedroom
En suite for first master bedroom
Double bedroom
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for double bedroom (partially outdoors)
En suite for twin bedroom (partially outdoors)
Outdoor living area (outside second master bedroom)
View from the master bedroom
20-metre pool
Spacious garden views
Robby's bar on the beach
A place to relax..
View of pool with sun loungers
View of the swimming pool.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
ceri r
Sant Antoni de Portmany, Spain
1 review
“Fantastic week at Stella Beach House”
Reviewed 11 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We had a great week at Stella Beach, we were travelling with a 2 year old and the set up was perfect, he was running around the huge lawn and in and out of the pool all day.
The staff were lovely and really attentive with us all, we didnt lift a finger. We would definitely return and would recommend it to any young families!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brendan B
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed with our teenagers for a week. Everything about the vila is fantastic. We didn't eat out in the evenings as the food was exceptional. Gayan, the villa manager, is one of the nicest and most efficient people I have ever encountered on a holiday. Everything he suggested we do during the day was thoroughly enjoyable, and if we wanted to laze by the pool, the staff were always on hand with food and drinks. The snorkellling at Polhuna Beach and the tea plantation visit are a must. We did visit Galle but were perfectly happy around and about Mirissa.

The villa has a huge garden, well maintained, and a long length pool. The rooms are all spacious and immaculately kept. The beach outside the villa is fine for kids to play on and walk, but we enjoyed surfing and bodyboarding at Weligama and Mirissa.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Definitely returning to Sri Lanka.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan P
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect holiday!!”
Reviewed 19 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stella Beach Villa is the perfect holiday!! There's not one thing to fault about it. The property location is incredible, the Villa itself is luxurious but by far the best part is the beautiful staff. Gayan manages an amazing team of chefs, housekeepers & groundskeepers that cater for your every need. They are all so kind, friendly and made us feel very welcome at all times.
I also want to make a special mention about the food... It was to die for!! Always fresh, well presented & very tasty - from tropical fruit + eggs on toast in the morning to amazing seafood and curries with roti in the evenings. I cant recommend this Villa enough!! We'll see you again soon.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katherine...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Stella Beach House - an unforgettable stay.”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If you're a group of couples/friends holidaying together why would you choose a hotel over a villa/house? you wouldn't, and why would you choose another villa over Stella Beach you wouldn't because it offers everything you need for an unforgettable stay.

The basics: 3 doubles and 1 twin each with its own huge bathroom (all indoors - stella beach house is slightly different from the beach villa though they share the same grounds) and a huge pool are the basics. Its the rest that makes it special.

The best thing about the house are the staff, 6 people run the house and each person (cleaner, kitchen staff, night security and Guyan who organises everything you could possibly need) is wonderful. They are friendly (happy to play cricket with/against you on the lawn) professional and a pleasure to be around. Breakfast (fruit/eggs/tea) is included in the rate and additionally they will cook you amazing evening meals (you just pay for the ingredients). An 8 night stay dining on lobster, prawns, curry, salads and enough booze to sink a ship cost £100pp.

The location is also perfect. Based on the waters edge intermediate surfers can walk straight in to catch the most perfectly consistent waves. Beginners can take a tuk tuk (10 mins) to the best beginners break the world has to offer. Want to swim with wild turtles and tropical fish? that's a 10 min walk away. Want to see Blue Whales? That's a 10 min drive away. Gayan will organise all of this for you (he even organised fireworks for my husbands birthday).

7 of us came on this trip, we've travelled to most places and we all voted this our best holiday ever.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location / service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daniconne...
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave - paradise found”
Reviewed 28 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Just back at my desk with massive holiday blues so the only way to deal with the pain is to look to see what availability Stella Beach has next year so we can return again.

Gayan and his team were incredible, the food and service was outstanding, the guys are all so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Organising tuk tuks, cakes, snacks and beers from the supermarkets, special dishes for those in the group who had particular preferences and serving breakfast to those who arrived silly early - all with a huge smile.

We were a group of 13 friends from Dubai who needed a venue to celebrate a 30th birthday (plus 2 other birthday also that weekend) and we stuck gold with Stella Beach. We stayed for 3 nights and could have stayed for 3 years - we were all very sad to leave. We hired both Stella Beach Villa and Stella Beach House which are neighbours.

The food was epic - we had a BBQ feast on the birthday night and sri lankan curry night on the last night. The first night we ventured out to Mirissa (12 min tuk tuk away) and ate at a beach bar.

Lazy days by the pool or in a hammock in the garden watching the surfers after a fantastic brekkie every morning - Gayan and team managed to cater for our pork cravings and served us bacon and sausage every morning which went down a treat, especially soothing for a few of the teams hangovers.

The rooms are all great lovely and kept well but the grounds/setting are the main event. You can't really use the beach as it is too rocky, but it is nice to have the view out to the ocean especially around sun set time. Magical.

Value for money on the accommodation and food - paying only the super market bill for what you consume. Maybe we are blinded by Dubai prices, but all in all we were all pleasantly surprised by how much a long weekend in paradise cost.

Thanks also to Dynamic villas team for all their prep before arrival and for being so accommodating and helpful with transfers and answering 101 questions.

The worst part of it - having to get on the bus to come home .. sob sob

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Amazing setting
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie...
Toppesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little gem on the edge of the Indian Ocean....”
Reviewed 11 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A really lovely house with everything we needed for a relaxed week with pool, beach, lovely food and handy for Merissa Beach and some rather exciting body boarding (Dad/kids) and cocktails (Mum). Service really was very, very good and we really did feel rather spoilt with Gayan, the chefs, Anuma and everyone else discreetly looking after us. Breakfast was THE BEST! Fresh fruit, smoothies, pancakes and french toast, superb! My daughter had a special birthday supper with torches, cakes and delicious barbecue and balloons. There is a two page spread of thank yous in the guest book from us - a testament to how perfect everything was... hope we can come back!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CatBuchan...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“INCREDIBLE TROPICAL PARADISE PERFECT FOR FAMILIES”
Reviewed 5 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just recently returned from the absolutely stunning Stella Beach Villa. I mean, where do you start?? The absolutely incredible staff that work tirelessly to ensure you have the best of everything, the incredible setting over looking the Indian Ocean, the mass of land that the kids have to play on, the gorgeous rooms, the huge swimming pool, the outside dining area or the gorgeous Villa dog that made our children's week?! If you are contemplating booking this villa then mull it over no further, just book it! You won't regret it!

We went as two families with 2 children aged 2. We took the Villa which is kind of like two bungalows each with 2 bedrooms. If you do have young children and you are taking the villa, I would suggest taking a video monitor just to ease your mind as our child was in his own bedroom with it's own door. But in all honesty, the windows locked as well as the door so they were safe a sound.

Our kids ran themselves ragged playing with the cricket station, the swing set or spending hours in the pool. When they went to bed, we were able to relax on the day bed, sun loungers or hammock and enjoy the absolutely stunning setting.

A very short walk away is a little beach bar but there isn't too much around which in all honestly adds to its glory. If you want to get out, the one and only legend that is Gayan will arrange it! Even the near impossible can be arranged :-) we went to the turtle hatchery, Galle and over to see the elephants.

UTTER UTTER BLISS! Totally planning on going back! Thank you team Stella.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$701
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing