We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Dream place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
En-suite bathrooms feature open showers, dual basins, and baths for a long soak.
Living rooms are open and airy, with enough comfortable seating for everyone
Exquisite woodwork adorns the villas throughout
The extensive gardens are a particular feature of Talaramba Reef
Spend your days doing nothing but relaxing
Work up an appetite with a stroll along the beach at sunset
Dusk is a particularly tranquil and special time
Dinner is taken on the terrace
Sri Lankan curries are a specialty of the house
Breakfast is fruit, eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee
Our friendly, attentive team, will take care of every need
Take afternoon tea enjoying the view over the Indian Ocean
Or just relax on the balcony, lulled by the rythm of the waves
Pool towels, bathroom towels, and crisp bed linen are all provided
You'll see the iconic stilt fishermen plying their trade right at the end of our garden
Stunning Mirissa beach is only 2 minutes by tuk tuk
Mirissa is one of Sri Lanka's best surfing spots
Getting here is half the fun. Come by road, train or seaplane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Sebastian...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream place”
Reviewed July 21, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Dream place, beautiful architecture, garden, ocean. Really great.
Deepani houskiper and all staff are great people. They served us excellent meals, coffe, fruits and generall everything.
No mosquitos at this time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bkuah
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvelous retreat from the maddening crowds”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Lovely property ... Impressive on first sight. Great for a group of friends and families. Well appointed with the sea right at your doorstep. Great pieces of art decorating the property from recycled metal. Cosy and comfortable w excellent food and friendly team of staff.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susannah...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Talaramba ticks every single box.”
Reviewed March 5, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
2
people found this review helpful

There’s a large part of me that is loath to write this review as I don’t really want anyone else to know about Talaramba. What an incredible place it is! It is almost impossible to fault. One lazy afternoon around the pool, we tried to come up with something we’d change about the place but drew a total blank. Someone eventually managed to come up with a rather paltry: “It’d be nice if there was a hammock,” while someone else suggested the addition of a watercooler so the house boys didn’t have the hassle of bringing out jugs of water. But that really was the best we could do. Deepani is utterly charming and hugely efficient. She organised absolutely everything we needed from transport to yoga to massages to meals with absolutely no fuss (despite us changing times and numbers rather too frequently). And her team of boys were fantastic too. They had massive smiles on their faces without fail and looked after us so well it was almost embarrassing. And we ate like absolute kings. There wasn’t a single thing we didn’t enjoy eating, kids included. Utterly delicious. I knew our holiday would be fun, but I never imagined that spending 10 days with 17 of us, including seven kids, would be quite so relaxing. It was a resounding success and comes extremely highly recommended. A huge thank you from us all to the whole team. We can’t wait to come back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier C
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Fantasitic Buddymoon !!”
Reviewed February 17, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

After my wife and I got married in Colombo we took a large group of friends to South Sri Lanka in order to relax and enjoy the beach. We had booked both villas at Talaramba and had some additional friends staying at another villa nearby.
Best of all is the staff. Deepani had organized a seafood bbq for the first night for all of our guests to enjoy (even the ones not staying at Talaramba). They had purchased all soft drinks and the food at market price and gave us an excellent service. Throughout the stay they gave us really good service (the butter cake with the afternoon tea was heavenly).
The rooms are fantastic and of excellent quality. The villa is very well located, their is beack access but the beach is mostly coral and makes it difficult to swim (but you have 2 pools at Talaramba). The villa cannot be accessed by a large bus but smaller vehicles can drive right up to the place.
Overall I really recommend staying there especially if you go with a large group of friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joanne201...
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“Fantastic Villas - Fabulous !!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We hired both Villas for my husbands 50th Birthday party !!!
The villas and the grounds are gorgeous'
The staff are delightful and met our every need. They ensured that everything ran smoothly and was of the highest standard. They prepared the most delicious meals, did all the shopping for us. We were a large group to co-ordinate but, it was no problem for the staff, they were flexible and accommodating. Deepani Thank you for looking after us so well - we had the most fantastic stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spuns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Talaramba Reef Heaven”
Reviewed September 10, 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We had a large group go to Talaramba Reef for a birthday celebration and we couldn't have chosen a better. The two houses are a mirror of each other and all the rooms are exactly the same making it a wonderful stay for everyone. The staff that work at the house are exceptional and the extra kilos I have come home with speaks to the amazing food! You are spoilt with two swimming pools, a beach at your doorstep and the surrounding area offers some of the best beaches, bars, restaurants etc in Sri Lanka

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: service on every level, the homes, pools, beach, location, food - it was perfect
Liked least: wi fi went on and off
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura W
1 review
“Ticked all the boxes”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Talaramba Reef for just over two weeks and loved every minute of it. Our children are young and there 4 of them between 10 months and 3 years and these Villas suited us perfectly. But they still managed to keep the grown ups happy too - a very important and surprisingly difficult balance to find! We'll back without a doubt. Thank you TReef!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The size, space and child friendliness
Liked least: No swimming beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing