We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our favorite place to stay on the south coast of...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Talaramba Reef

Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
48 reviews
Talaramba Reef is a place to unwind and reconnect with the simpler pleasures in life
Each villa has it's own swimming pool
All bedrooms are air conditioned, although often the fan is enough to keep you cool
Mosquito nets are there if you choose to sleep with the doors open and the sea breeze cooling you
Work by local Sri Lankan artists is featured throughout Talaramba Reef
En-suite bathrooms feature open showers, dual basins, and baths for a long soak.
Living rooms are open and airy, with enough comfortable seating for everyone
Exquisite woodwork adorns the villas throughout
The extensive gardens are a particular feature of Talaramba Reef
Spend your days doing nothing but relaxing
Work up an appetite with a stroll along the beach at sunset
Dusk is a particularly tranquil and special time
Dinner is taken on the terrace
Sri Lankan curries are a specialty of the house
Breakfast is fruit, eggs, toast, juice, tea or coffee
Our friendly, attentive team, will take care of every need
Take afternoon tea enjoying the view over the Indian Ocean
Or just relax on the balcony, lulled by the rythm of the waves
Pool towels, bathroom towels, and crisp bed linen are all provided
You'll see the iconic stilt fishermen plying their trade right at the end of our garden
Stunning Mirissa beach is only 2 minutes by tuk tuk
Mirissa is one of Sri Lanka's best surfing spots
Getting here is half the fun. Come by road, train or seaplane
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 10 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 48 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
LJtravels...
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite place to stay on the south coast of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed March 1, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed at Talaramba Reef several times...for a reason! We absolutely love the property and the staff. The villas are equipped to handle large groups...in our case, 8 families at a time with upwards of 16-20 children included. The property is safe for the kids to just take over...playing and exploring, while the parents relax. There are two pools and plenty of quiet places for everyone to spread out. The rooms are huge with large comfortable beds and enough room for the entire family (we are a family of 4) to stay together. The reef in front of the villa is fun to explore with daily sea turtle sightings and fun rock/coral formations to wade it. Not to mention the hundreds of resident hermit crabs.

We love the staff! They understand our needs and go out of their way to accommodate us in regards to the menu, meal times, and room set up. This past trip we spent Valentines day at the villa and one of our guests had a birthday. The staff helped us decorate the villa and even surprised us with fresh flowers and a beautiful table. I cannot say enough about Talaramba Reef!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ragy_R_R
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing stay with amazing service”
Reviewed February 22, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have spent 4 amazing nights in this nice boutique hotel. The hotel consists of 2 buildings or 2 villas, each has 4 bedrooms, 1 in the ground floor and 3 in the first floor. Each building has a nice comfy indoor seating area, and a nice outdoor dinning area. The staff was beyond amazing, they were very helpful, and used to stay awake with us till late at night to make sure that are satisfied and that we have everything available.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff attitude and service
Liked least: We had to walk in between few poor house were few dogs are there, kids were afraid of them
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark S
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed February 15, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Talaramba Reef for 6 nights and had a fantastic time. The house is amazing, Deepani and the staff attended to our every need and the kids had a blast. We ate very well thanks to Deepani's great cooking and she really was a pleasure to deal with. The rooms are big, the bathrooms were kept clean and the pool was huge. Thanks also to the recommendations in your information booklet. We swam at Mirissa Beach, bought gems from Ibrahims in Galle, did the whale watching with Mirissa Water Sports and also visited the tea plantation nearby, all were well worth it and fantastic experiences. We will be recommending Sri Lanka and also Talaramba Reef to all our friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
clessinny
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Reminds me of Bali 10 years ago!”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Had an American Thanksgiving in Sri Lanka with a large group and had a blast. The staff helped us cook the real thing. (We brought our own turkeys.) However, everything they cooked was awesome which domes them up in one word. The threw my 92 year old grand mother a mini B-Day party and she loved it.

We had children that were 4, 5, 8, 9, 10 in our group and they all loved it. Mirisa Beach is a 2 minute tuk-tuk ride away or a 12 minute walk. The beach is great and the bars are fun. $2.50 for a bomber beer.....How can you go wrong!

The rooms are all identical so there is no fighting over "Who get's the master!"

My only complaint....the TV's are too small. I know, why comment I am supposed to be outside. It was Thanksgiving and I had to watch football. It was tough on a 32" screen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meredi73
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful in every way”
Reviewed December 6, 2015 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most relaxing stay at Talaramba Reef. The property is stunning! The staff are so friendly and attentive. The meals were simply delicious and beautifully presented. Our children enjoyed swimming in the gorgeous, huge swimming pool. They also loved encountering endless wildlife around the villa (peacock, lizard, frogs, monkeys, dogs, chipmunks, crabs). Outside of the villa ... we washed, fed and rode an elephant, saw baby turtles at a nearby hatchery and came extremely close to a massive blue whale on our boat ride. It was a truly magical, family holiday. We can't wait to return soon with extended family or friends. Thank you to all of the staff at Talaramba Reef!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pär S
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“just amazing. staff, food, property and area:)”
Reviewed November 15, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

we were a travelling Company of 3 families. age between 6-45yrs. overall we had a fantastic stay in Sri Lanka. but this Place with our type of travelling was just bulls-eye when it comes to relax and enjoy for such Group. Depana and staff just made such Amazing food. and the whole Place was just cool

after leaving. the whole Group wanted to go back

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: cooking
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venu M
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent stay, Amazing hospitality”
Reviewed October 6, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

My 3rd visit to SL and the first time to Mirissa. We'd booked the entire villa for 2 days. The architecture is inspired by Geoffrey Bawa and the whole place is laid out amazingly well. The Villas are comfortable and overlook the colossal Indian Ocean. There are 2 beautiful swimming pools in the property.

The best bit about Talaramba reef are the hosts. Deepani & Co. are the sweetest bunch of people. The hospitality is top notch.

The beach that can be accessed from Talaramba is quiet rocky and not the best place to swim. It took us roughly 4 hours to reach the place from Colombo Airport.

Thanks for the wonderful generosity. We had an amazing time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Hospitality, Food
Liked least: Should have more activities to do
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing