We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FAB FAB FAB”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Balcony View from room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
Balcony
View from room
Room
View deck / patio
General View
On the beach
Beach Front
Dinner
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Mirissa, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nicholas...
Phuket, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“FAB FAB FAB”
Reviewed 31 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

what a treasure - beautifully situated - most amazing food complemented by a sublime staff. The food was fresh and well cooked - would go back in a heartbeat

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
littlemis...
Istanbul
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Cheated”
Reviewed 22 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We didn't stay at the shack but we had dinner here.
We were happy to pay a premium for a nice seafood dinner in a romantic setting.
The food was nice, however we waited a long time for the meal to arrive.
The fish (red snapper) was well cooked and the crab was tasty. However we chose three and 2.5 came back once cooked.
The worst part was when we paid the owner did a 4 year old money trick and placed a smaller note on the table, put the large in his pocket and told us we gave the wrong amount.
He is also selling his room for 150usd from the door not the 320usd price that is advertised online.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meetcha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing staff, beautifully located”
Reviewed 17 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Shack for 3 nights and had an amazing time. Located right at the beach, with hammocks and breakfast/lunch table overlooking the beautiful beach and palmtree covered bay. Staff is amazing (especially the manager), breakfast is very tasty and the rooms are simplistic but stylish. Only downside is the noise from the very close street, which prevents from sleeping long in the morning (but which shouldn't be done in the dark room but on the beach anyways)

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle...
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beaut little possie!!”
Reviewed 29 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
2
people found this review helpful

I had the pleasure of staying at The Shack Mirissa Beach on a recent trip to South Sri Lanka and it ended up being an absolute highlight of my trip.
Lawson the owner and his team which includes Driver/Manager/local expert Thurshara Anada, an endearing chef named happily 'uncle' and the gardener/room attendant also fondly named 'uncle #2' took up most care to ensure our stay was perfect. The resident house pets Charles and Sheila are really sweet too.
The location is incredible, it truelly is your own private little oasis in an idyllic setting.
We will be back here this time next year for certain!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing