We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Paradise” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Petit St. Vincent Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2012

I visited Petit St. Vincent during my stay in the West Indies. It is a magical place indeed. From the staff meeting you at the dock and driving you in the mini moke to your beautifuilly appointed villa, to the wonderful beach bar-b-que to the amazing massage in their Balanisian spa.. it was bliss. The beaches are amazing, I could have just stayed infront of my villa on the beach forever. The only suggestion is to stay at least a week to soak up all the beauty!

The menu is inventive and well prepared, wonderful drinks from the bar, I especially love the bar in the clubhouse. Great place to unwind!

Room Tip: I was in Villa 11 - the picture is a view outside my door!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheDrifter7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    33
    16
    8
    6
See reviews for
35
190
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgetown
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2012

I have just returned from five nights, six days in Petit St. Vincent. I feel as if I have left behind a little piece of me. Memories of the old Caribbean flood through my head....being able to sleep with windows and doors open to the beach, the sounds of the sea and that wonderful breeze that we know so well - all invigorating and delightful. Staff with friendly smiles. Love the yellow and red flags - red do not disturb, yellow pick me up or take my order for room service. And then there is the food....lobster and more lobster drizzled with a touch of fresh daily fish straight from the fishermen to your plate. Love the fact that the Chefs keep an eye on their herb and vegetable garden with chickens and eggs being "home grown" too. And then there is the Beach Bar...and nutzy Chef Sean with his delightful but crazy Caribbean inventions...ask him for a special surprise....and he whips it up in no time!! May this little resort never change....it is just right....it is enough...it is warming and delicious and it is indeed paradise. It takes a while to get there (thank God there is no airport!) but hey! it is worth every minute of the discomfort of travelling these days...and in any case that is so worldwide...the only problem with Petit St. Vincent is: you just do not want to leave or even begin to see why you have to!!!

Room Tip: Seems to me that all the rooms have their own 'fabulousness'.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Rosemary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bloomfield, ct
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012


We have been here perhaps eight or nine times since the late 80's with our last visit being in the winter of 2008. Each visit was a magical experience: a perfect blend of remoteness, exclusivity, luxury, excellent food, impeccable and friendly service, all in a beautiful Caribbean setting with great beaches, snorkeling and water sports (for those who must have these activities).In short, PSV was our special place when we wanted to shut out the world and be together.

Now the place had been sold. Haze and Lynne Richardson were the owners and managers since the very beginning. Sadly, Haze died several years ago and Lynne, after managing PSV by herself for a few years had decided to sell.

So the question for us was whether the new owners were able to put their own stamp on PSV while continuing its tradition as a top level Carribean resort. After all, it is a trek to get here (fly to Barbados then fly to Union island then take a 20 minute boat ride to PSV), the cost is high and the Richardsons would be a tough act to follow. Better to remember PSV as it was than to see it when it became second rate.

We needn't have worried. We were pleasantly surprised even delighted with the improvements made by the new owners and the care that was taken to preserve what was best about the resort.

First, the cottages-22 in total- have been completely repainted and refurbished. The dark mahogany decor
has been changed to a more contemporary grey, twin double beds have been replaced with kings with new bedding, bathrooms have been upgraded and there is now a small refrigerator stocked with wine, champaign and soft drinks. All soft drinks and bottled water in the cottages are on the house. There is also a Bose IPod station and -wonder of wonders- air conditioning!

Built on the hillside overlooking the boat anchorage is a full service spa which offers a wide variety of treatments.

Also new is an informal beach restaurant built near the site of the old barbecue area and which serves both PSV guests as well as the yachting clientele for lunch and dinner. The main dining room is open for dinner only and offers three course dinners: salad/ appetizer, entree, and desert. The entrees are meat(or chicken), fish, and vegetarian. Gone is the wonderful lunch buffet.

But it's important to dwell on the things about PSV that have not changed: the wonderful sense of seclusion In the luxurious cottages, the pristine beaches, the beautiful surroundings and the thoughtful and impeccable service. We had breakfast delivered to our cottage every morning. The eggs are fresh- PSV raises its own chickens. Afternoon tea was a must. We had dinner served in our cottage one night. The staff was great as always and seemed even more cheerful than we remembered and this was a positive sign.

So...To us PSV has been improved greatly under the new ownership and may be worth a return visit by and by. I say this because, while many positive changes have been made to keep this resort in the top rank, the food sadly is not up to par with the quality and excusivity this resort wants to achieve. To begin, the menu at the beachside restaurant got boring after several days. While it may be fine for the transient yacht people, it became monotonous for those of us who were staying here for a week or longer and had no other recourse for lunch. Bring back the salad bar!

But it was the main dining room- supposedly the resort's centerpiece- where reality fell short of expectations. The dinners here were boring, uninspired and occasionally peculiar. The fish offering one night was lobster fettuccine which came to our table with just a few tidbits of lobster mixed in with a large quantity of pasta. This was surprising considering that lobster tails were offered every day for lunch and dinner at the beach side restaurant. On our last night, we were looking forward to enjoying a bottle of quality red wine with a nice meat dish, perhaps beef tenderloin or rack of lamb. The meat choice that evening? Grilled liver.

For a resort that aspires to be top notch, the food did not measure up.

Which brings up another issue: we know wines and their pricing and we thought PSV's wine list was expensive to the point just bordering on price gauging. Why do resorts do this? It only makes their guests feel like captive victims. I suppose management's stock answer would be the high cost of transportation. To which we would respond "fewer French and more labels from Chile and Argentina."

One puzzle about PSV that several other guests brought up was that we never saw the managers around this small island. Manager Matt met us dockside when we arrived but we never ran into him after that nor Executive Assistant Manager Anie the entire week we were there.

Hopefully, they we're out looking for a new chef.

Bottom line: Still outstanding although the food is disappointing. And yet the positives are so compelling. We will be watching reviews from other guests in the future to learn if there has been improvement.


  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
20 Thank starcrst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

The weather in the Grenadines is the very best in the Caribean. Combined with the beautiful sea, we spent a perfect week at PSV in January.

Rooms - well furnished, well designed, pretty views

Food - some of the best in the Caribean. Love the new beach bar and restaurant!

Beaches - plenty of surf and large spans of sand

Service - everyone kind, eager to please.

Sailing - great boats and water sports staff

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MWSWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Paradise is the only way to describe PSV! We had the most amazing and special week with our children, one of whom is late teens and the other early 20s. The island offers something for everyone and a total and well needed change from hectic London life. Its beauty and unspoilt natural charm is breathtaking. We all loved the fact that we could potter around and hardly bump into anyone – or be more sociable if we chose at the beach bar – a great family favourite where the rum punches extinguished any vestige of stress! The newly refurbished cottages have been done beautifully and the use of natural materials from the island gives them a local feel rather than that bland feel you often get in international hotels. Even the beach bar is constructed from drift wood and feels as though it has always been there. Dotted around the island are secluded cabanas where you can sit undisturbed by the waters edge and happily while away the hours.
There were plenty of water sports on offer for those who wanted to be more active and walking around the island and climbing to the hilltop are perfect ways to gently work off the delicious food. The beach barbecue is a must – excellent conch fritters, fresh fish and crab cakes. Service was friendly and efficient without being overbearing or sycophantic – just how we like it. Technology is there if you want it but not in your face – so for the first holiday in a long time we relished the peace and tranquillity of it all and totally forgot about work. I cannot recommend PSV highly enough and we will most definitely be returning.

Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank markwell11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Returned to PSV after 12 years absence. Wonderful, wonderful.
Upgrades to cottage are terrific. AC great, especially for nite so no aliens can come in. Brighter decor. Better amemnities (auto expresso coffee makers). New King sized beds.
We stayed in #4 with sweeping views of the Atlantic.
Flag system still in effect and works well. Have WiFi and computers to use in reception, not in rooms. Rooms with 120v electricity so can charge ok. Used cell phone (with international plan) and it worked well. No TV (good) etc but do have an IPod dock for music.
New beach bar restaurant great. Had grilled lobster many times. Same menu but lots of options. Salads, sandwiches, pasta, grilled items (steak, lobster, burgers, etc). Great appetizers. All inclusive so entire menu an option. Open for breakfast lunch and dinner. Dining room "upstairs" still in use for dinner. Very good food. Different menu every day. In 2 weeks did not repeat. Chef uses local items. Salads and veggies enhanced cause they have their own garden.
Service outstanding. Staff stay on island so you see them everyday and get to know them. After awhile, they knew to bring us Ice tea when we sat down, without asking.
Routine of early am coffee pot delivery to cottage, breakfast on our terrace, off to West End beaches for morning, beach bar for lunch. Afternoon at cottage, napping, reading and "whatever"....
Shower, dinner.
Next day repeat.
Getting there made easier by their staff who meets you in Barbados to assist with transfer to SVG air plane. Maurice meets you at Union Island airport and escorts to boat. We overnighted in Barbados so we would not have to get up at 3am to get a 6am flight to make it in one day (from Boston).
Did a sail trip to Tobago Cays. Beautiful blue water sail.
They have a beach BBQ on Sat nite with steel drum band playing mood music, not loud reggae.

Room Tip: 2 types of units: beach units and bluff units. We chose bluff unit for view and breezes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank prospecthill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

We first visited the private Island of Petit Saint Vincent in April 2010; at that time we had never seen such an unspoiled, naturally beautiful island, and we immediately fell in love with the place; the kindness of the staff and the charm of the cottages did the rest. When my husband, our two children and I returned this past Christmas following the refurbishment, however, we had our best holiday ever! It was perfect: the new beach bar and restaurant became the new beating heart of the island, integrates very smoothly into the landscape and provides a delicious menu with grilled lobster, crab backs, excellent Italian-style pizzas, and PSV’s classic cocktails at any hour of the day! Listening to the steel band, savoring a fabulous cocktail while looking at the sunset became a daily routine!
During the day, our children went sailing with the boathouse crew, snorkeled endless hours in search of a rare fish or shell, played tennis, painted watercolors, read, ran around with other guests’ children, participated in a scavenger hunt, and went body-boarding, to name just a few of their activities. They were happy as clams and the island is so safe that it was never a problem to let them do their own thing while we enjoyed our time off. The new spa was a great addition, and I had several excellent massages there! Our days would start with a nice morning walk through the beautiful gardens listening to the birds, which would lead us to the morning breakfast in the main restaurant, where Beckway, Rolland or another friendly, big, smile would welcome us and remember our preferences, the names of our children, and make sure I got my coffee right away! We would then head to the west end of the island where our family has its favorite hide away “private” beach and palapas for a swim, a lot of reading, and maybe a snooze. In the afternoons we would wind surf, go kayaking, play tennis or simply relax on the beach around our cottage. And every night the exceptional view of the stars…no light pollution there, the sky is yours! We had an exceptional day of sailing on the sailboat Beauty, with Captain Jeff taking us to Tobago Cays and where we snorkeled with Manta rays, Eagle spotted rays and marine turtles…it is unforgettable!

The refurbishment of the cottages has been done with taste and returning guests like us will appreciate the difference: a little air-conditioning when needed (but the big great fans are still there), new beds which are very comfortable, and the tap water even tastes excellent. PSV is one of the rare places in the world where you can actually enjoy a quality family time and live for once in the present moment, completely connected to nature and without a watch. We will go back again and again. Thank you to all the staff for contributing to making PSV so special!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Marianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit St.Vincent
8.9 km away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
19.7 km away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
7.7 km away
Kings Landing Hotel
Kings Landing Hotel
#1 of 2 in Clifton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Firefly Hotel Mustique
Firefly Hotel Mustique
#2 of 2 in Mustique
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 km away
Firefly Plantation Hotel Bequia
6.0 km away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit St. Vincent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit St. Vincent Resort

Property: Petit St. Vincent Resort
Address: St Vincent and the Grenadines, Petit St.Vincent
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Petit St.Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petit St.Vincent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Petit St. Vincent Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit St Vincent is a luxurious private island paradise, tucked away in the Grenadine islands of the West Indies, a tropical barefoot hideaway offering guests the rare chance to unplug from the normal day to day urban technological clutch.Aside from offering opulent comforts, ultimate privacy and an understated yet attentive service, there exists a conspicuous and deliberate absence of connectivity to the outside world: no TV’s, phones or internet in the beach front villas and elevated bluff cottages, encouraging you to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company without any unwanted distractions. With 115 acres of natural tropical woodlands and just 22 guest cottages, seclusion is guaranteed. Each beautifully designed guest cottage is decorated in marine shades and tangled driftwood furnishings reflecting the island’s uncluttered vibe. This elegant but unpretentious boutique island resort is surrounded by clear turquoise waters, rich tropical reefs and 2 miles of stunning white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Petit St. Vincent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit St. Vincent Hotel Petit St.Vincent
Petit Hotel St Vincent
Petit St. Vincent Resort St. Vincent And The Grenadines, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing