We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The awesomest vacation ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Petit St. Vincent Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 January 2010

Me and my family had a amazing time at P. S .V. It is a small relaxing island. my sister and parent's loved it and so did i great adventures and fun family time. i went there in December that is the time of the year when all the family's come. my sister and I made so many new friends. the service is great very friendly people.My father has been going to P. S. V. for 22 years and every year is the best. i would recommend going to P. S. V. there are a lot of nice relaxing spots on the island that are amazing. go to P. S. V. as soon as possible it is sososososososososososososososo
awsome bye have a great day.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dgl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (330)
There are newer reviews for Petit St. Vincent Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 330 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2009

We went on a day sail to PSV while staying on Carriacou. The sailing was great but we were sorely disappointed in PSV. We were seriously considering staying there for a week later this winter and were happy we had not yet booked it. The island looks lovely as you approach it with the expected clear turquoise water. Too bad that the smell of rotten seaweed greets you as you dock your boat. We had booked a lunch for that day, but at first they said they had no reservation for us and then when they finally found the reservation, it was for a different amount of people that we had. The service staff gave us a difficult time about being able to accept us, saying "next time, make sure you get your numbers straight". We were led to an empty eating area where a buffet was served. Go figure. The buffet consisted of tired baked chicken, an inedible Thai beef and some salads. Dessert was cupcakes that tasted like the came from a hostess wrapper. All this for $50.00 US per person. We also had booked a tour of the island with the resort. We were told that our tour guide was busy and he would meet us when he got around to it. When he finally did meet us after we waited for 30 minutes, he spent the whole tour telling us that he had more important things to do and was cutting the tour short. The resort itself is very spread out, with some accomodations as much as a 20 minute walk from the main area. The rooms themselves are average size. The bathrooms are updated and spacious. The beach is small and the coral outcrops begin almost immediately at the shoreline. So what they seem to offer is rude staff, bad overpriced food and smelly waterfront. We have stayed at many other resorts in the Carribean and have never experienced the rude service and bad food that we did on PSV. We're just happy that we didn't waste the money on a full week here. If you're interested in that part of the Grenadines, which is beatiful, we would recommend Palm Island as a better choice.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank pseudobiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2009

I am very late in writing this review but better late than never. PSV is more than their web site describes. We have never been happier with a resort in our lives. It is so very private, relaxed, friendly, and beautiful. Our cottage had it's own little private cove with a fantastic reef for snorkeling right at our footsteps. Speaking of foot steps, on most days ours were the only ones in this small cove. The staff we fantastic, Head Chef a charm and great cook....The bar-b-q lobster tails are unreal! The West end beach with private palapas and full lunch delivered to you was an incredible experience...this is luxury for sure. Climb the mountain...the views are stunning. Only thing we would change is to stay 8 days instead of 7 since it take one full day to get there. Or maybe next time we will get their sailboat to pick us up in St. Lucia and take 2 days to sail down and and anchor in the Tobago Cays for an overnight. Want to see more go to the Scuba Mom web site and you'll see a very in depth review.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank surferjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

We went to PSV for our honeymoon after getting married in Barbados.
The good:
+ Room service - the only way to do breakfast! We ate breakfast in the dinning room one morning and it took over an hour. I think most people do room service breakfast as it is SO good. The only other thing we had from room service was afternoon tea. I'm not a huge tea drinker, but the tea or coffee comes with wonderful cookies!
+ Beaches - very clean and private. Many days we didn't see anyone else on the beach with us. The only thing is at the west end beach huts, the sand fleas and other biting bugs are very bad. We enjoyed them for a couple of days, but then the bites got to be too much, so we did most of our sunbathing/swimming on the Atlantic beach. Make sure to bring or borrow water shoes. Much of the water has large sharp rocks and coral in it. We also saw lots of urchins while we were snorkeling.
+ Food - this is hands down the best part of the resort! Everything from breakfast to desserts was amazing! We have eaten at great restaurants in Chicago and the food at PSV is comparable to or even better than the 4 star restaurants here.
+ Staff - many have worked at PSV for over a decade and are full of fun and interesting stories. There is really nothing that they will not do to make your stay better. The managers and Lynn (the owner) were always asking about our stay and were very accomodating. Lynn even had a cocktail party at her home on the island one evening and all the guests were invited. It was a nice way to meet other guests and get to see her amazing home! Also, as we were leaving the resort packed us a sack lunch to take with us to the airport, very thoughtful!
+ Snorkeling - around the island the snorkeling was very good. It was best off of the Atlantic pier and on the beach around there. The snorkeling was great off of the little sand spit island that you can visit and have breakfast or lunch on.
+ Tabago Cay - this trip is a MUST do! We went out on the speed boat to visit the cays and had an amazing time. First, we were let off to snorkel with sea turtles. We spent about 45 minutes just watching them eat and surface for air. During that whole time we were the only other people in the water. Then we went to two different shallow coral reefs to see some of the most amazing fish I've ever seen and again we were the only ones there!
Other people had also gone out on the sailboat to the cays and said it was an amazing trip. I don't think you can go wrong either way.

The bad:
- Sand fleas, mosquitoes, other random crawly things. Even the staff is not immune to the bugs! We all shared stories of bug bites.
- No A/C anywhere. We were there in what we were told was a mild summer, but it was still very hot. While most nights there was a breeze in our room, we had to shut the windows so as not to be eaten alive by bugs. We survived by getting a box fan delivered to our room and taking lots of cold showers.
- No window screens, which allows all of the crawly things to join you as you try to sleep. All of these combined made for pretty miserable nights. Not very romanitc to be hot, covered in bug spray with mosquito coils smoking all around the room. I didn't want my new husband coming anywhere close to me at night! Not how I had imagined spending the nights on my honeymoon.

Although, the good does seem to outweigh the bad...the bad made us very miserable. We might go back for one or two days, but would never go for 10 days!

Please feel free to email me with any questions or if you'd like more pictures!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank MMKcms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2009

We went for the second part of our honeymoon (after Barbados) and we were so enthralled with the level of service, the friendly staff, and the beautiful island. Everything was top notch, including the wine and food. We thoroughly enjoyed and relaxed, and we hope to get back there as soon as humanly possible. While a bit pricey, you definitely get what you pay for. If you're looking for a top of the line vacation, PSV is your place.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank womf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2009

PSV would get four and a half stars from me (although I have had to round this down to 4).

Food standard is good – a varying daily dinner menu of 3 starters, 5 mains and 4 deserts and includes a vegetarian option. Lunch is on a buffet basis. There is flexibility on where you can take meals – at the restaurant, in your room or you can arrange private dining at a number of beachside locations around the island. There is a ‘home cooking’ feel about the food.

There is no technology in the rooms, so all service requests are via the filling of forms and placing these in your personal flagpole (having hoisted the yellow flag). This quirky system seems to work well for the most part – although when we requested a ‘private dinner’ by the beach, the arrangements somehow broke down, and we eventually abandoned our empty beachside table for the main restaurant.

The 22 cottages are variously placed around the island – some in high locations with views and others beachside. There are pros and cons of each and I would not make a particular recommendation. PSV say they will not guarantee to meet requests for a particular cottage (and indeed our prior request for a hillside cottage went unanswered and unmet). But we were happy enough with the beachside cottage allocated.

The cottages are quite roomy and (by design) lack any phones, TV, internet etc – but this enhances the feeling of ‘getting away from it all’. The standard of the daily room service could be better, particularly in respect of floor cleaning. Previous reporters have complained of ‘bugs’ etc in the rooms – but if a tiny small crab, lizard or bird does manage to get into your room they are harmless – and you can pretty much avoid this by properly configuring the patio doors/mesh screens so as to leave no gaps. There are some mosquitoes so take deet and calamine lotion – but for the most part the constant prevailing breeze minimises the chances of bites.

The island has an interesting history, the late Haze Richardson having acquired the island 40 years ago and developed it from scratch. His wife Lynne still lives on the island. You will occasionally see her four labradors on their daily walks round the island, fishing in the surf (fruitlessly) or collapsed on the floor of the office for their lunchtime siesta. A fifth Labrador (Miles) is owned by managers Charlie and Christie.

The excursion to a ‘deserted tropical island’ has been reported as a ‘scam’. This is a bit harsh but it is true that the island used is public so you cannot guarantee solitude. Going for breakfast is probably a better bet than lunch in this respect. This trip was included in our package so it is not as if there was a direct additional charge for this excursion.

Trips can be offered on a schooner called Jambalaya skippered by Jeff. This is recommended even if it is just the sunset cruise. Non-motorised watersports are available at no charge. Snorkelling from the beach is quite good.

So does PSV live up to its billing? Well overall, yes, I think it does. If you seek only the very best in terms of service, rooms and cuisine for your money, then you should possibly look elsewhere – in fact probably outside the Caribbean. But for a unique and charming escape from the real world, the romance of an island, and you are happy to mostly relax with few activities as diversions, then I would certainly recommend PSV.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NottinghamBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2009

My husband and I chose to go to PSV for a relaxing honeymoon. What we got was disappointment. First, in the plane ride over (That PSV organizes) they lost my bag. The hotel staff assured me I would have it by morning. I received my bag TWO DAYS later! Also, the "private" island is a scam. No one really owns the island, so anyone can land on it. As soon as we were dropped off, a boat of about a dozen people came and were still there after we left. We found snakes in our drain, crabs in the living room, and a whole family of lizards under our bed. Trust me, if you want relaxation, go to Hawaii.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank WelltraveledKansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Petit St.Vincent
20.0 km away
Tamarind Beach Hotel & Yacht Club
8.9 km away
David's Beach Hotel
David's Beach Hotel
#2 of 5 in Union Island
40 reviews
21.4 km away
The Pink Sands Club
The Pink Sands Club
#1 of 3 in Canouan
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Palm Island Resort & Spa
Palm Island Resort & Spa
#1 of 5 in Union Island
1,377 reviews
21.3 km away
Canouan Estate Villas & Residences
10.2 km away
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
The Mermaid Beach Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hillsborough
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Petit St. Vincent Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Petit St. Vincent Resort

Address: St Vincent and the Grenadines, Petit St.Vincent
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Vincent and the Grenadines > Petit St.Vincent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Petit St.Vincent
Price Range: $1,150 - $2,328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Petit St. Vincent Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Petit St Vincent is a luxurious private island paradise, tucked away in the Grenadine islands of the West Indies, a tropical barefoot hideaway offering guests the rare chance to unplug from the normal day to day urban technological clutch.Aside from offering opulent comforts, ultimate privacy and an understated yet attentive service, there exists a conspicuous and deliberate absence of connectivity to the outside world: no TV’s, phones or internet in the beach front villas and elevated bluff cottages, encouraging you to unwind, relax and enjoy each other’s company without any unwanted distractions. With 115 acres of natural tropical woodlands and just 22 guest cottages, seclusion is guaranteed. Each beautifully designed guest cottage is decorated in marine shades and tangled driftwood furnishings reflecting the island’s uncluttered vibe. This elegant but unpretentious boutique island resort is surrounded by clear turquoise waters, rich tropical reefs and 2 miles of stunning white-sand beaches. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity.ca and Cancelon so you can book your Petit St. Vincent Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Petit St. Vincent Hotel Petit St.Vincent
Petit Hotel St Vincent
Petit St. Vincent Resort St. Vincent And The Grenadines, Caribbean

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing