We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing, unique place, fantasic room, amazing views, delicious food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge Les Liards

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Auberge Les Liards
St Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, unique place, fantasic room, amazing views, delicious food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at the Auberge des Liards for two nights following four days at Disneyland Paris and en route to the Med. coast. We loved it, a perfect place to recharge after four days of Mickey Our room (Nepal) was airy and spacious, and our two children loved sleeping up in the loft mezzanine and peeping out of the tiny window. Breakfast was absolutely delicious; homemade bread, homemade jams, milk fresh from the cow, as were the evening meals, taken in the dining room at one long table with other guests; delicious homemade soup, meat and vegetarian dishes, and the lightest fruit crumble... We welcomed the chance to chat to other guests, the children tried and liked some new foods and loved wandering with the dogs, chickens and rabbits, and there were a few tears from our 8 year old daughter when it was time to leave. We visited the nearby village of Usson, and also the Chateau d'Hauterive in Issoire; blissfully quiet and sleepy, with a huge and incredible vegetable garden, and highly recommended.
The Auberge was a real respite, tucked away, and with an atmosphere and ethos we really liked and have never experienced anywhere else. Looking forward to seeing future developments with the rest of the farm and further rooms, although we wouldn't want too many people to hear about it : )

Room Tip: Depends on whether you want outside space or a bigger room, and the website has plenty of informatio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    8
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
16
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vernoil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2008

At first we were echanted with this auberge ecological. But after three days my wife had poisening of food. We suspected a restaurant we were the day early. But later I was in the kitchen of Auberge de Liards. I was very chocked. Many dirty plates of one week. Greasy coocker. [--] of the peacocks on the floor. The cat was in the kitchen licking food in a fresh casserole. And many many flies before the window. I have never seen so much flies in my life. This auberge thinks ecological is the same as dirty. I will never go here again.

  • Liked — landscape
  • Disliked — Very dirty kitchen
  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank juliencappet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liards, proprietaire, gérante at Auberge Les Liards, responded to this review, 2 April 2009
When I received an email in December 2008 about this issue, I thought it was a bad joke. The description about the kitchen was so absolutely not according to reality. But then I saw the same complaints in ‘tripadvisor’. So I take these complaints serious and want to respond to them one by one here-under :
1. « Dishes not being washed for a week ». This is just not possible. In high season, we do the dishes twice a day. I guess one can easily underestimate the amount of dishes to be washed in a restaurant, even in a small one as ours. We do not have an employee doing the dishes (we’re too small) and so, the dishes accumulate during the service since we are washing them afterwards.
2. « The peacocks were in the kitchen » This is a situation that we try to avoid by all means. But peacocks are not stupid, they know where food is to be found. We try and keep the doors closed, but this is not a 100% safe thing. It’s seldom, but the peacocks do enter the kitchen sometimes. This means a lot of cleaning. The only solution we can see to this problem is to put the peacocks in a big cage. We do not like to do it, free wandering peacocks are one of our attractions. So we accept the situation as it is, with four to five times a summer the peacocks in the kitchen.
3. « The cats licking the plates ». It’s extremely rare that the cats enter the kitchen, they know very well they’re not allowed. But in the restaurant, when the people have left their table… The cats learn the habit with our clients. We ask people not to feed the cats. But what to do about cats that are fed daily by the clients ? During summer 2008, we had a small cat kept hidden for months, so that she would not learn the bad habit. Again, the solution would be to confine them, but we did not do it up to now. Instead, we have made signs asking clients not to feed the animals.
4. « Flies ». We are in the countryside and there are flies during summer. Nothing to do about it. Of course, we have those machines with blue light to attract and kill the flies, but that isn’t sufficient enough. So we use other methods as well, including these glue things that one hangs down. We put them at the entrances of the kitchen, where flies enter. These are very efficient. We change them regularly. I agree with the complainer that it’s not a nice view. But for us, it’s important that it keeps most flies out of the kitchen.

We work only with fresh products, that’s our proud. Since we know how many people eat with us in the evening, we can buy just what is needed, there are no rests. Every night, the kitchen is totally cleaned. I can assure everybody that the quality and the freshness of our products are beyond any doubt, and that for us, ecology corresponds with cleanness, and even more in the kitchen. I invite everybody to come and see for themselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Egliseneuve-des-Liards
7.4 km away
Auberge de Chabanettes
Auberge de Chabanettes
#1 of 1 in Auzelles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
4.9 km away
Hotel de l'Abbaye
Hotel de l'Abbaye
#1 of 1 in Sauxillanges
4.5 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
32.3 km away
Le Fournia
Le Fournia
#1 of 1 in Grandrif
5.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 km away
Le Jardin Des Pierres Brunes
Le Jardin Des Pierres Brunes
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-des-Ollieres
5.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Les Liards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Les Liards

Property: Auberge Les Liards
Address: Lieu Dit les Liards, 63490 Egliseneuve-des-Liards, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Puy-de-Dome > Egliseneuve-des-Liards
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Egliseneuve-des-Liards
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guesthouse Liards is situated on a volcano, with a spectacular view over the volcanoes of the Auvergne. Around the guesthouse: nothing but nature and calmness. We have four comfortable rooms; one can opt for bed, B&B or half board. The guesthouse is run in an ecological way. The area is ideal for hiking, cycling (we have electrical bikes for rent - nice for the not-so-sportive because of slopes) and mountainbiking. Horseriding possible nearby. Perfectly situated in the centre of the Auvergne, one can visit the whole region. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing