We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,681)
Filter reviews
2,681 results
Traveller rating
1,600
793
205
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,600
793
205
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxitouzan barconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managerken yokoyamatrattoria settea short taxi ridewet roomzen gardendeluxe roomguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
1,433 - 1,438 of 2,681 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed in Japan for 10 days and stayed in Tokyo, Kyoto and Osaka This hotel was by far the most expensive hotel I booked and the least luxurious and most disappointing too. The bathroom area was the only thing close to luxury but it was still very tiny with almost no counter space. The rest of the room was filled with very old fixtures and the bed sheets were also not comfortable. There is no view from any part of this hotel but I didn't care about that very much anyway but just mentioning it in case other readers do.

What was the straw that broke the camel's back was the horrible concierge. First, they led us to a tourist trap when we asked where to eat Kobe steak. I'm positive they get some kind of kick back there. Do not eat at Itoh! At first we thought our expectations were too high and maybe $550 USD was the right amount to pay for a small portion of diced and stir fried Kobe meat until we tried 3 other places.

Also the concierge failed to tell us about the daily bus pass you can purchase for 500 yen when we asked about lines to take to see the Golden Pavilion and other temples and sights around town when one time one the bus is 210 yen. You would easily save money with the pass if you are headed to 2 spots of interest.

I paid 2/3 of the price in Tokyo where my room was very modern and spacious. I was surprised because of the great reviews here.

I paid less than half the price in Osaka where the bedroom area was the same size and smaller bathroom but much more modern and in a great down town area, Namba at the Swissotel which even offered free wireless in room.

Our stay at the Hyatt was definitely the lowest point of our trip and probably our only regret. If I had paid less, I would not have been as disappointed or expected much in the room.

The two things we did appreciate was the 2 bottles of water a day and free taxi to the hotel but you're on your own on the way back. It's not too far from the station however so you'll only be paying about $10 US by taxi.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank uclachristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2012

The hotel is ten minutes by cab from the central kyoto train station and has a subway down the block and bus stops right in front. They offer a complimentary taxi for guest, to the hotel, from across the street from the station. (If you don't use it they will offer it on the return to the station when you check out. The hotel itself has a really nice lobby, with a decor describes as "kimono prints." The staff is really nice and helpful and ready to take your bags upon arrival. The check in process was smooth and quick. The room is nice, however it is definitely smaller than the other Hyatt's I have visited on this trip. The room was on the 3rd floor and it has a queen size bed. While the bed is comfortable, the pillows were not and can definitely affect your sleep if your particular. The problem is that they are neither over stuffed nor firm, they seem soggy or too soft. It was also the only hotel where the bathroom and toilet were separated. The concierge desk was helpful, offering bus passes for sale and maps for guest. The view from our room is not that great it does look out onto the Japanese garden.There are many sites/shrines/museums to visit in the area. Finally, the hotel has a great bar in the basement, even though the drinks are a bit pricy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nathan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Very satisfactory two-night stay here after Tokyo. Quite a difference in style from Peninsula Tokyo where we'd been, but very nice. Touzan Japanese restaurant downstairs very good (with lovely waitress speaking perfdect colloquial English - turns out she went to university in Bournemouth). Breakfast excellent, Western buffet-style, which was very welcome after formal breakfast served at Peninsula. We were a little disappointed at first by first views of Kyoto - the Hyatt is right out on the edge of what seems at first like a very provincial city. Don't be put off. Make sure you go into town. We did the Ghibli Museum of course, tea ceremony and the bamboo forest and heritage park. All lovely.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Nice hotel, modern and clean, but VERY expensive. Some rooms at almost $500 per night are basically in the basement with no view, no closet, and you can barely fit in the bathroom. If you opt for a suite or upper floor that looks over the beautiful garden it might seem a little more worth it, but even the outstanding breakfast buffet (one of the best we have experienced) doesn't make up for the price. You can also only get WiFi in the lobby- so it is ALWAYS packed with people on computers and iPads - good luck finding a seat. At 11 pm I was sitting on the floor of the lobby just to check my email.
The one upside is location- close to some exquisite temples and sites- and very quiet neighborhood compared to downtown.

Room Tip: Don't stay on a lower floor if you are claustrophobic .
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marvlatitall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed three nights in Kyoto at the Hyatt Regency, and although it was a twenty minute walk from the train station (five minutes by taxi), it was really close to some major sightseeing spots and it was such a lovely treat! We could not fault the wonderful staff, the immaculate room and the breakfast which was included with our room rate. The room was really superb and we slept very well indeed. After a busy day sightseeing and walking and bike riding (Kyoto Bike Project) it was brilliant to be able to come back and recharge in such a comfortable and relaxing environment (often with some of the lovely sushi and cakes from the local shops). Definitely would recommend staying at this hotel for the location and as a special indulgence.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank putmeontheplane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews