We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$164
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ryokan 
Tamahan(Higashiyama)
US$326
US$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Sunline Kyoto Gion Shijo(Higashiyama)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 37% below average rates

The price you found is 37% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$101/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ryokan 
Gion Yoshi-ima(Higashiyama)
US$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$324/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto(Higashiyama)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Ryozen(Higashiyama)
US$149
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
    Savings alert! 11% below average rates

    The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$107/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Amenity Hotel Kyoto(Higashiyama)
    US$41
    US$37
    TripAdvisor
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Ryokan 
    Ryugin(Higashiyama)
    US$559
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Reviews (2,655)
    Filter reviews
    2,655 results
    Traveller rating
    1,580
    790
    203
    56
    26
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    1,580
    790
    203
    56
    26
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxibeautiful hoteltrain stationconcierge desktouzan barthe general managera short taxi rideken yokoyamawet roomtrattoria settezen gardendeluxe roomguest rooms
    Filter
    Updating list...
    945 - 950 of 2,655 reviews
    Reviewed March 30, 2015

    After a bustling visit to Tokyo, this was a respite! The service is A+++ from the Hyatt staff. Our generous room overlooked a beautiful courtyard, extremely comfortable bed, the bathroom is enviable. Welcoming lobby - particularly at night - a good place to hang out. At first we thought the location was a bit off from our ideal of Gion, but it turned out to be spot on. Near everything we wanted to see. Downtown is a quick cab ride---and while that's fun, we were happy to not be in the hustle. The meals at the Grill were just so-so and at hotel prices, but made for an easy start to the day.

    Room Tip: Main floor (was very quiet) and overlooks the courtyard with large windows. Upper floors have much smaller windows.
    • Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    Thank erininportland
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 30, 2015

    Good points:
    - central location
    - good design
    - good value for money
    - very clean
    - all staff speak english perfectly
    - nice small garden

    Bad points:
    - some public spaces and rooms are needed renovation
    - very poor breakfast

    • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank anton s
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 28, 2015 via mobile

    - :
    Location: not really central so you need to get a taxi, a bike or buses for every major temple or garden located further north
    Room: to be honest it's quite large. If you get a standard room you will get a view on either the parking, the entrance of the hotel or the very noisy street.
    Curtains are not good enough to avoid morning lights at all, so get a sleeping mask.
    The room's cleanness is OK. Although you can see stains in the carpet and on the sinks and marble area in the bathroom.
    Noise: Like I said you will hear some noise from outside the hotel because of the street but also from the inside. It means that from your room you can hear the person upstairs flushing the toilets, so get ear plugs
    Staff is helpful although sometimes very cold. I don't know if this is how they are asked to behave but they have nothing to do with the very nice and warm Japanese people you will meet during your trip in Japan, and this is the reason why we were so surprised. It feels like Hyatt has trained their staffs like an American one and not taking into account the Japanese hospitality standards.
    Breakfast: at 9.30 which is peak hour for breakfast, be ready to wait about 15 minutes to get a table(!!)

    + :
    Decoration is nice and tidy especially in the lobby which is quite impressive
    The bar is beautiful.
    Italian restaurant is pretty good although being a tiny bit expensive to me.

    It's a pretty good hotel but the details I mention above are really disappointing versus its cost and its standards.
    Not the best hotel in Kyoto: I have done better.

    Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    Thank Ju0503
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 27, 2015

    We just spent 2 nights at this pleasant Hyatt Regency, well situated in Kyoto, opposite the National Museum and adjacent to the outstanding Sanjusangendo temple. The concierge and staff generally were extremely helpful. A very good grill restaurant on the ground floor, which also served an excellent breakfast buffet. The room was a little basic, although a superb shower. A Nespresso machine (now a feature of many good hotels) would be a good investment, also a thicker quilt on the bed! The spa was terrific. Overall, strongly recommended but I’d encourage the hotel management just to add a few more luxury touches to the room for the tariff charged.

    Room Tip: Avoid smoking room
    • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Rooms
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank stephend355
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed March 27, 2015

    Stayed two nights just now and can highly recommend this hotel. We stayed in the Hotel Granvia Kyoto on our last trip and this was a mile ahead in terms of the room, the facilities, service and ambience. We stayed two nights and found the positives to be the hotel itself, it feels new and mid-luxury, the staff are friendly and helpful and the breakfast in the morning is fantastic - a lot of choice and nice surroundings. The best bit was the bed and the bathroom. Two fantastic nights sleep (which has been rare this trip as often the beds are like rocks and the duvet is thin) but we both slept soundly. The bathroom is also spacious, luxurious, fantastic large bath for 2 and power shower and for once, plenty of towels and bathrobes. If you do laundry, the prices are reasonable compared to some other hotels. The three downsides for us were (a) the room service - we ordered two hamburgers to break up two weeks of Japanese food and for an American hotel it was awful. A burger overcooked and lacking any taste, accompanied by 3 potato wedges, dry. An utter waste of money (£60 incl two Asahi beers) and revolting to boot. Also the maid service left a lot to be desired, instead of clearing away old cups with old teabags in them from breakfast he/she merely covered them with a tissue! He/She also left the empty beer bottles and other things obviously rubbish left over from the night before. (c) Wifi - slower than a tortoise unless you pay the premium. A good hotel, worth the money, but avoid eating in the hotel and explore Gion for dinner!

    • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Elizabeth L
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews