We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,682)
Filter reviews
2,682 results
Traveller rating
1,601
793
205
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,601
793
205
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxitouzan barconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managerken yokoyamatrattoria settea short taxi ridewet roomzen gardendeluxe roomguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
240 - 245 of 2,682 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2017

The Hyatt Regency doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's lovely as soon as you enter those sliding glass doors. The lobby has an incredible ceiling/wall installation, and the restaurants also feel chic and modern.

The service here is world class. We particularly loved one of the concierges, Jen. My husband and I were talking to her one morning about our agenda for the day, and I pulled a fresh water bottle out of my bag. Jen immediately offered to take the plastic wrap off of it for me! They do everything they can to make their guests comfortable.

The ipads in the room have very good information about Kyoto, places to see, hotel amenities, etc. You can also order dozens of complimentary items on the iPad to be delivered to your room (any normal toiletry, various chargers, hangers, nail polish remover, hair straighteners, etc, etc).

The thing that's keeping me from giving the hotel is the bedroom. They are perfectly comfortable, but they're on the smaller side and pretty straightforward. We were given a room on the first floor to start, and we asked to be moved because it was quite dark and cramped. The hotel was happy to move us to the 3rd floor and we enjoyed more natural light there, but it was still a small room.

The hotel also offered a complimentary taxi to the airport, and that was much appreciated too!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Modern clean and very comfortable hotel. Staff was helpful. Location is great, and food was very good. Would ask staff to make specific recommendations for dining as you need to avoid tourist traps. Great overall service.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank davidruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Incredible interior design, from a renowned Japanese firm, plus white glove service from every door. Much more inviting and attractive than its local neighbors, as well as having interior restaurants among the most attractive we have seen anywhere else in the world. Don't miss the temple right next door, nor the bar below.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MacDonald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

The service was excellent, especially in the casual restaurant on the lobby floor. The hotel does not have a regency club and feels more like a Park Hyatt. we did have an upgraded suite room with 1.5 baths, living room and bedroom which was lovely. For regency club amenities they allow one drink per room guest per night in the bar downstairs and there are no snacks available. The staff were helpful and all spoke English. At 6:15pm in the lobby they have a maiko dancer dressed in geisha outfit perform a few dances and then you can take pics with her. This was a nice touch. Across the street from the hotel is a museum and next store the beautiful buddhist temple Sanjūsangen-dō with 1000 buddhas - this was my favorite temple and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annham0324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 11, 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hotel all around. Service level is exceptional both at front desk and excellent concierge service who were very helpful in making recommendations and reservations for dinners as well as how to see the sites in the most efficient manner. Consistently high service level at all times from all the staff at the hotel. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Location is excellent as not far from train station and across from Kyoto museum and next to temple.

Stayed: July 2017
1  Thank jadon06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews