We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,679)
Filter reviews
2,679 results
Traveller rating
1,599
792
205
56
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,599
792
205
56
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssanjusangendo templenational museumcomplimentary taxijapanese restaurantmk taxitouzan barconcierge deskbeautiful hoteltrain stationthe general managerken yokoyamatrattoria settea short taxi ridewet roomzen gardendeluxe roomguest rooms
Filter
Updating list...
235 - 240 of 2,679 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2017

First room we were given was the size of a shoe box even though we were supposed to have been upgraded. After complaining, we were moved across the hall to a beautiful suite with a view of a garden and pond. Although the hotel was a little removed from everything, overall it was quiet and we enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was also fantastic and my husband really enjoyed the traditional Japanese breakfast (this needs to be ordered the day before otherwise you have to wait).

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lisa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 15, 2017

A hotel that met every expectation and more! Rise early and get free Nespresso and Muffins in the Lobby! Don't miss the elegant Geisha dancing in the lobby 6pm nightly. She socializes with the guests afterwards. So authentic! Spacious rooms. The rain shower transformed my body. Comfy beds that melt away the aches and pain. Hearty food and ravishing reds to satisfy your palette. Kyoto kindness is genuine and endearing at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 14, 2017

The Hyatt Regency doesn't look like much from the outside, but it's lovely as soon as you enter those sliding glass doors. The lobby has an incredible ceiling/wall installation, and the restaurants also feel chic and modern.

The service here is world class. We particularly loved one of the concierges, Jen. My husband and I were talking to her one morning about our agenda for the day, and I pulled a fresh water bottle out of my bag. Jen immediately offered to take the plastic wrap off of it for me! They do everything they can to make their guests comfortable.

The ipads in the room have very good information about Kyoto, places to see, hotel amenities, etc. You can also order dozens of complimentary items on the iPad to be delivered to your room (any normal toiletry, various chargers, hangers, nail polish remover, hair straighteners, etc, etc).

The thing that's keeping me from giving the hotel is the bedroom. They are perfectly comfortable, but they're on the smaller side and pretty straightforward. We were given a room on the first floor to start, and we asked to be moved because it was quite dark and cramped. The hotel was happy to move us to the 3rd floor and we enjoyed more natural light there, but it was still a small room.

The hotel also offered a complimentary taxi to the airport, and that was much appreciated too!

Room Tip: Ask to be on the 2nd or 3rd floor
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKH1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 13, 2017

Modern clean and very comfortable hotel. Staff was helpful. Location is great, and food was very good. Would ask staff to make specific recommendations for dining as you need to avoid tourist traps. Great overall service.

Stayed: July 2017
Thank davidruben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 12, 2017

Incredible interior design, from a renowned Japanese firm, plus white glove service from every door. Much more inviting and attractive than its local neighbors, as well as having interior restaurants among the most attractive we have seen anywhere else in the world. Don't miss the temple right next door, nor the bar below.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MacDonald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews