We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
ccandyy
Winnipeg, Canada

Good location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jan 1, 2013
Attached to the mall Canal City with Ramen stadium. Rooms are large and great bathrooms. Location is very good - walkable to the river and other shopping areas. Lots to do and see. Service is very good. Typical Grand Hyatt hotel. Free wifi in lobby
Date of stay: August 2012
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
C$271
  • Expedia.com
    C$275
  • Vio.com
    C$151
  • Trip.com
    C$239
0.7 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Pool
C$213
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$215
  • Agoda.com
    C$170
  • japanican.com
    C$222
0.3 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$126
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    C$126
0.6 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$214
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    C$215
  • Agoda.com
    C$111
  • Trip.com
    C$217
0.8 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$208
  • Expedia.com
    C$221
  • Vio.com
    C$191
  • StayForLong
    C$222
0.3 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
C$120
Fully refundable
  • japanican.com
    C$103
  • Expedia.com
    C$136
  • StayForLong
0.7 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
ホテル外観
C$96
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    C$89
  • Priceline
    C$69
  • StayForLong
    C$85
0.8 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Modern twin room 19㎡
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    C$86
  • Algotels
0.1 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Skyscanner.com
    C$157
  • Agoda.com
    C$147
  • Vio.com
    C$157
0.9 km from Grand Hyatt Fukuoka
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Hakata
Reviews (2,284)
Filter reviews
2,284 results
Traveller rating
1,175
700
226
85
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,175
700
226
85
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canal city the club lounge ramen stadium hakata station concierge service shopping centre within walking distance room facing hotel lobby location is excellent room size is japan gym tani fizz english yatai
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
573 - 578 of 2,284 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just checked out of the Grand Hyatt Fukuoka after five nights. Had a good stay but be prepared to be nickel and dimed.

The front desk staff was very nice and efficient. Check in went very smoothly. I had called several weeks in advance to confirm connecting rooms for us and the kids and was told that they did not have connecting rooms but would give us rooms close to one another. The hallways zigzag and, although the room numbers were within 10 of each other, the kids room was not within sight of our room, which was very disappointing. We did notice that other families were able to get rooms next to or across from one another though.

The rooms were decent sized as were the bathrooms. The toilets were equipped with bidets and heated seats. Every toiletry that one might need was provided. The beds were very hard and uncomfortable though. Although the room was equipped with its own temperature regulator, we could not adjust the heat of the room, no matter how many times we tried to decrease the temperature. The rooms were extremely hot and stuffy and we could not turn the temperature down nor open any windows. The hallways were also kept extremely hot. We found this to be very uncomfortable. There is NO wi-fi available in the room, even for a charge. There is a cable to connect to the internet but we only had Ipads with, not computers. The only way we could connect to the internet was to go to the Starbucks but, beware, you have to have on device that can hook up to an internet to set up an account at Starbucks. We paid for a free wi-fi spot for a day and then made arrangements for starbucks accounts on all devices.

Housekeeping was fantastic. Everything was refilled daily.

The front desk staff was very polite, friendly and helpful. The young lady who helped up arrange a tour to the Asaki factory was very friendly, helpful and thorough. The only problem we had was with regard to the bed and breakfast plan we had purchased. I, unfortunately did not read the small print under children's ages. At the Grand Hyatt, only 12 and under are considered children, not 17 and under. Children are not given meal tickets. Not sure how they are supposed to eat. Since we did not count either of our children (ages 13 and 17) as adults, they were not given meal tickets, despite being listed on the rooms. After some go around, we were finally given meal tickets for them after being scolded that this was a one-time exception they were granting. Incident left a bad taste initially. When I returned home I did look up the definition of children and did adjust the numbers to see if there really was a price change and, there was. So, moral of the story, make sure to determine first what age children are considered.

Also, if you want late check out, be prepared to pay. They only give an hour grace period. Anything more will cost you 50% of the room cost.

The location of the hotel was very good. It was connected to Canal City where we were able to do plenty of shopping and eating. We could easily walk to the Hakata station and Tenjin. Early in the week the area was quiet and pleasant. It got very crowded and loud the closer we got to the weekend.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eve G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

I believe this is the best hotel in Fukuoka. The location can't be beaten. 20 minutes from the airport and attached to Canal City Shopping Mall. 5 minutes by foot to the red light and entertainment district with plenty of food stall that Fukuoka is famous for nearby. Hakata waterfront is just 10 minutes away by taxi.

Rooms are well appointed and clean but the massage was a little dissapointing. Breakfast was good.

Overall a good stay and will be back.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank feibeesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The hotel is located with great location as the building is connected to The Canal City which is a huge shopping mall and entertainment center, Staffs were nice and helpful but the internet connection wasn't good and also the hotel lobby just seem busy and noisy all the time at least during my stay, So I think this is perfect for shopaholic people but still it's not so worth for tourists who want to spend for five stars perfect hotel.

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillRika
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Good location -walking distance to the main station, close to a big shopping mall and entertainment center - the Canal City Hakata. Actually, the hotel and the Canal City are in a building complex. Room is not spacious, but acceptable. Staffs are well-trained, friendly and helpful. Canal City comprises a great variety of leisure facilities including a shopping mall, game centers, cinemas, two hotels (including the Grand Hyatt) and many restaurants.
IPeople can reach the Canal City from (or by passing) the lobby of this hotel. It is very convenient for a tourist. Unfortunately, due to the same situation, the lobby of the hotel is very busy and noisy, especially in the evening. .

Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liucy752
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Perfect place to stay in Fukuoka. Been there for 3 nights still was not enough for shopping! Front desk & concierge were helpful with fluent English. Rooms were great , esp the restroom. One point that decrease my rating was breakfast which was over crowded & expensive. Better find some fresh bakery & coffee at the Canal City Plaza.

Date of stay: October 2012
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank PLtara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews