We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of Rikyu Hakataten

Rikyu Hakataten
Ranked #9 of 1,088 Restaurants in Hakata
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese
Restaurant details
Reviewed December 20, 2016 via mobile

We were walking with kids in side the JR mall at Hakata Station.
We randomly chooser Rikyu.
It was amazing! I've never eat such delicious beef tongue.
Service was cordially and helpful.
I wish to come back here again!

Date of visit: December 2016
Thank Dario D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 73 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2016 via mobile

Came here on my first night in Hakata. Very easy to find since it's part of the stations. The meal was about 1800 yen for beef tongue, salad, small appetizer, soup and rice. The beef tongue was delicious and I guess I would go back given the opportunity

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank Choco_robba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 7, 2016

I cook a vietnamese style at home, my friend's Nicaraguan grandmother makes one for me with baby corn over rice often, I've had it in numerous countries, in soups, stews, on sandwiches, as a main course, side dish....you get the point, I'm a big fan of beef tongue. My travel companion, never had it and was less than enthusiastic about the thought of dining at a place that pretty much only serves and specializes in tongue. After some convincing he reluctantly agreed. I assured him tongue tasted like steak and didn't have even the slightest bit of organ like flavor. He was NOT disappointed! Riyku is located on the 9th floor of the Hakata Train Station. The station includes 3 floors devoted food only including a branch of the now internationally famous ramen joint Ippudo. With so many restaurants in the building Riyku immediately sets itself apart with something none of the other restaurants have.....a set of ropes to handle the often large line waiting to get in. I waited patiently and my friend nervously, the line moves pretty fast. We were lucky enough to be sat at the grill so we could watch all the action. We ordered raw tongue sashimi and an order of the grilled beef tongue. Both were sublime. The tongue was devoid of all the usual fatty, grisly parts and stripped down to it's bare meatiness. The sashimi was firm but tender and melted in your mouth like butter. The grilled version was lightly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Our only complaint was that we did not stay in Fukuoka long enough to make a return visit. Their menus do include English translations and service is typical Japanese.....over the top friendly.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank SHFT54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 27, 2015 via mobile

I was a bit hesitant to eat gyutan at the beginning but I'm glad I went and ordered think-cut gyutan! It was really delicious! I love the right amount of salt with beef tongue, barley rice, and the soup. Highly recommend this restaurant. I went around 5pm and waited for 30 mins and it was worth my time to wait.:)

Date of visit: December 2015
1  Thank ruby81174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: December 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rikyu Hakataten also viewed

Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 
Fukuoka, Fukuoka Prefecture
 

Been to Rikyu Hakataten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing