We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tad pricey, but worth it in the end!”
Review of bills Omotesando

bills Omotesando
Ranked #3 of 249 Restaurants in Jingumae
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Shibuya, Harajuku, Ebisu
Description: Every Bill Granger’s restaurant reflects the spirit we like to think of as ‘Australian’: sunny, easy-going and generous. Bill opened his first restaurant in Sydney’s Darlinghurst in 1993. It soon became loved for its legendary breakfasts, served at the famous central communal table, where locals and travellers, families and friends, continue to be welcomed. Twenty years later, Bill’s relaxed, friendly and infectious joy in good, fresh food has become truly global, and is enjoyed at his restaurants in Sydney, Seoul, Tokyo, Honolulu and London.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were a little hesitant when we initially got to bills (given the numerous posey brunch experiences from back home), but were converted in the end. Nice ambience with great views from the 7th floor, good service but the food made it worthwhile. Lovely scrambled eggs and must-try ricotta pancakes!

Tips:
- Go early to minimise waiting time - we went at around 11:30am on a weekday and waited 15-30min, during peak periods I imagine it could be easily double that
- The most expensive (but decent) coffee we've had in Tokyo!
- Worth visiting the Omohara Forest on the 6th floor to get away from the crowds at ground level

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jkfliu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billsJapan, Customer Supporting Team at bills Omotesando, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Thank you so much for visiting bills Omotesando.
Thank you for your praise, we are very glad to hear that
you've had a wonderful time at our restaurant.
We will be waiting for you any time.
We would like you to try our other cuisines and enjoy our restaurant again!
Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (471)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 471 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2018 via mobile

Bills is clean, spacious and bright with a good view from the 7th floor. Service was lack lustre, although we were among the first customers at 8.30 the waitress tried to seat us at the back in the enclosed area without windows. Waiter was unable to comprehend my request on muffins or on the whereabouts of the toilet. Scrambled eggs were rich and tasted as if thickened with cream, avocado on toast generous but tasteless, we preferred the hotel breakfast. The music at Bills is deafening. If you want toast, vegemite or marmalade that are hard to find, this maybe worth a visit but otherwise don’t bother.

Thank joanna5463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billsJapan, Customer Supporting Team at bills Omotesando, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for visiting bills Omotesando.
Thank you for leaving us the message.
We deeply apologize about what you have told us in the comments.
We surely take this as an serious issue that has to be resolved immediately
for our customer's satisfaction.
We hope that you will come and join us again in the near future and by next time, your experience at bills will be much better than the last.
Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

I was looking forward to see how the Australian would fit into the Japanese when visiting this Australian outpost.

Famous for his scrambled eggs and pancakes back home in Australia, we were not disappointed.

We sat outside on the little balcony. A beautiful breeze made it all the more enjoyable.

The staff were friendly, welcoming and super efficient, though the Aussie friend I am staying with speaks good Japanese which was needed.

Well worth the wait but book if you can. Mmmmmm pancakes, made me feel I was back at Bill's in Australia.

Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 26, 2018 via mobile

Bright, fresh, buzzing brunch place, awesome pancakes and everything else is delicious as well and a real delight. Always nice to spend a long breakfast or brunch here. Reservation recommended if you don’t want to stand in line for up to 1hour in rush hours to get a table.

Thank Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billsJapan, Customer Supporting Team at bills Omotesando, responded to this reviewResponded 4 days ago

Thank you so much for visiting bills Omotesando.
Thank you so much for your praise, we are very glad to hear that
you've had a wonderful time at our restaurant.
We will be waiting for you any time.
Thank you again, we look forward to welcoming you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 6, 2018

This was an amazing place. We got the ricotta hotcakes and the scrambled eggs and it was all amazing. The pancakes were just the most outstanding pancakes I have ever had, I can't even describe it. The eggs were so light and fluffy. It is a really nice view in the restaurant as well. Really nice atmosphere and just a lovely place to come.
Highly recommend coming here when in Japan. Was one of my favourite dining experiences.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jasmin_foodblogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billsJapan, Customer Supporting Team at bills Omotesando, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2018

Thank you very much for all of your comments.
We are so glad you enjoyed your time with us at bills
Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed bills Omotesando also viewed

 
Nishishinjuku, Shinjuku
 

Been to bills Omotesando? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing